We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Banff
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Excellent value. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facility had all the needed amenities and was close enough to downtown Banff to access but far enough away to enjoy the quiet.
Lots of extras included!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cmclean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

cmclean49

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of our amenities.

I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed with our daughter, her husband and our toddler grandson in a loft for just 1 night. It was very well appointed and equipped with a great little kitchen, coffee provided and lots of towels which is just what you need with a toddler! We found the room very comfortable and cozy and the fireplace was a wonderful addition on a chilly fall evening. The beds were very comfortable and it was really nice to have 1.5 baths so no one felt rushed or crowded. We did take advantage of the sauna and it was clean and working well. The resort seemed quite booked but was quiet and restful. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Best view would be on the north side overlooking the ravine although it is hard to criticize any vie...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank periodontaltherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Periodontaltherapy

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of our amenities. Our goal is always in to insure a memorable and relaxing stay and I am glad we were able to achieve this during your short visit with us.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed in a condo style room, which was very spacious. Unfortunately, it was missing some very basic utensils from the kitchen (no strainer for pasta) etc. None of the window covering blinds worked and most everything other than the bed sheets and towels was seriously in need of a deep cleaning. This was not acceptable given the room rate was equal to the five star hotels within Banff.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Donna B

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. Most of our kitchens should have the basic amenities provided however you can request additional items by contacting the front desk, we don’t like to pack our cupboards with items in case you want to use them for storage. I have passed your comments onto out housekeeping department to insure the issues you had do not repeat themselves.

Thank you again for you feedback and I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Our group of 6 adults enjoyed this property. You do need a car. Kitchen, two bedrooms and double sofa bed in the
Lounge room. We enjoyed the fact we had a small balcony where we could sit and enjoy the evening before the late sunset. Indoor pool we didn't use, but families seemed to love it. Out of town , but in a lovely mountain location.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Sue R

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our complementary amenities.

I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

My husband and I have booked on a couple different of hotel discount websites 15 or so times. This time we had come across "Tunnel Mountain Resort"; it pictured very nicely. Therefore, we had high expectations for the property.

Arrival/check in was fast. No complaints.

The rooms are very dirty and need a deep cleaning or a reno!! The bathroom had hairs all over the bath tub/shower and even on the towels. Some of the towels even had yellow staining on them!! YUCK!

Kitchen utentisel did not seem clean the spouge they provide to clean was very old! The cloth chair covers were very badly stained and need to be replaced. The metal on the chairs were so gross the dog wanted to lick them!!!

The Sofa couch does not come with bedding.

Upstairs in the loft was two old double beds. The top cover smelled of pee. There was no side tables. Stairs are very steep.

This hotel should be rated as a two star and the room was definitely not worth $300!

The location of our unit was nice at the corner of the property near the walking path. So that was a plus.

Did not spend much time in the room given the location which is really too bad because we came out to celebrate our 8 year wedding anniversary. Would not recommend nor return. Next time we will be checking out Hidden Ridge Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Nicolie6

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing and stress free stay and it seems we did fall short in this instance.

I have spoken with both our housekeeping and maintenance manager regarding the issues you had and we are striving to insure the issues you had do not happen again. Given the issues you had I would encourage you to contact me at tmr-gm@bestofbanff.com so we can get more details.

Thank you again for your feedback I do look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice area. Far enough out of city to enjoy the scenery and still close ro city. There was a fridge and complimentary nooks and cds available to borrow. Clean comfortable room. Nice Friendly welcome at front desk. All in all a nice stay

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TREK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

TREK39

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort and were able to make use of some of our amenities.

I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed for 3 nights close to down just down the hill by bus or car. About a 15-20min walk but hotel issues local bus pass so its easy to get up & down to town. Nice rooms, clean, cosy, fully stocked kitchen to use, great view from patio as well as just walking out the front door. Clean pool & spa, well worth the visit if you want to be just up the hill from town. Well recommend the stay for family groups and those just touring around.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room as it has a lot of space and small outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArjunBanff, General Manager at Tunnel Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

sean484

Welcome home and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Tunnel Mountain Resort. It is always our goal to insure a relaxing and care free experience and am glad we were able to accomplish this during your stay with us.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
1.4 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.6 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.7 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Resort

Address: 502 Tunnel Mountain Road | Corner of Tunnel Mountain Road and Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Banff
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $105 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tunnel Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tunnel Mountain Resort has everything you need for a perfect Banff vacation. Come get swept away in the majestic beauty of our Canadian Rockies resort. Our 96 unit resort in Banff National park has a wide variety of accommodations to suit every taste. The Tunnel Mountain Condos, Chalets, Cabins and Suites are perfect for the family or a getaway with friends or co-workers. The Executive Suites are ideal for the business traveler and perfect for couples looking for a luxurious, romantic Canadian Rockies getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tunnel Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunnel Mountain Hotel Banff
Banff Tunnel Mountain Resort
Banff Tunnel Mountain Chalet Hotel
Tunnel Mountain Chalet
Tunnel Mountain Banff
Tunnel Mountain Resort Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing