We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Magical vacation touch of the past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new iberia, la
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Magical vacation touch of the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hote was spectacular, we stayed in the tower and the rooms were renovated recently and was first class. The hotel had nice restaurants and was walking distance from the middle of town.
We went in late march and it was beautiful, I can only imagine what it would be like in summer with the golf course behind the hotel. I have no doubt one day I will return to play the course.
Sking was 10 and 35 minutes away. At the hotel we were treated like royalty. Unless there are old rooms that are not renovated I can't see why anyone would give this place a bad review. They were in the halls cleaning this place constantly..
Thank you fairmont

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your Trip Advisor post. We are happy to hear that you are anticipating playing golf on our world-renown course! We open the Stanley Thompson May 11 - please do return!

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,878
    1,196
    490
    279
    160
See reviews for
1,392
2,724
135
840
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Fairmont Banff Springs is one of the most beautiful and accommodating hotels that I have ever stayed at. We stayed on the Gold floor this past weekend and from start to finish the trip was perfect. They scheduled a driver to pick us up at the airport, the private check-in was effortless, and the lounge was such a nice extra feature to have. It had appetizer's, breakfast, cocktails, anything you could want. We enjoyed some appetizer's and cocktails at the Rundle Lounge, I would recommend the Moscow Mule, it was delicious. Make reservations at the Waldhaus for dinner, the service was great and make sure to order the swiss cheese fondue, just be ready to be extremely full afterwards! The grounds of the hotel are amazing, rooms were spacious and each one having a different, but impeccable view. I would DEFINITELY recommend the Fairmont Banff Springs and I plan to come back, but for longer this time (a weekend was not enough).

We also went snowboarding/skiing at Sunshine Village and bought our tickets and bus passes right at the hotel which was easy and a good idea to do beforehand.

The location to downtown was also very good, 10-15 minute walk depending on what shoes you're wearing. Didn't have time to try the spa, but it seemed like a lot of people were getting services done there.

Room Tip: 5th Floor, Gold Level. Any room will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This weekend me and my dad stayed in the banff springs hotel! This was the time of my life! Do not believe all the other reviews and them saying it was bad. I was treated like a prince there I got every thing I wanted with friendly service. The meals were delicius. We stayed on the gold floor. It was easter evening so we were treated to various treats and activities throughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austinb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your very positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the Gold floor and your experience.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Really enjoyed this hotel - classic, timeless old fashioned hotel. We stayed on the Gold Floor and really enjoyed the free breakfast, coffee, fireplace and the great customer service! Bathroom was very small, but that is to be expected in a classic hotel like this one to keep the hotels original ambiance in place. Great setting and view! We also visited Fairmont Lake Louise and it had spectacular views too!

Room Tip: Would recommend Fairmont Gold room, because of service, free breakfast and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Fairmont Gold Experience. We are pleased to know you really enjoyed it and will share your comments appropriately.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Husband and I were traveling with a large group, (over 500) the week of 03/24/2012!! From the moment we checked in at the Fairmont Banff Springs until the moment we checked out we experienced such hospitality and warmth from every individual there!! We immediately felt at home!! There is just as much elegance inside the hotel as there is outside!! We felt like Royalty, truly!!! Clare in the 'Fairmont Store' in the Hotel was more than accomodating, she was so delightful and eager to help!!!! That is definitely the best place in the hotel to buy souveniers and keepsake trinkets!!! They also have a great selection of clothes, jewelry and purses!!! The friendliness and hospitality did not apply just to the Fairmont, but also to all the wonderful Patrons downtown Banff!! We have traveled Internationally many times and typically encounter individuals at some point, that seem annoyed by tourists!! I can honestly say we did not have 1 negative encounter!!! I also loved the fact we could walk to town which was only a few minutes away!! We bought sunglasses and a few other items in Abominable Sports and the folks there were awesome!! I really could go on and on about all of our great experiences!!!! We also went on an Excursion to Paradise Mountain for snow mobiling with Toby Creek Adventures!! It was an all day Excursion that included lunch!! We had the best time, and these folks are lots of fun!!! We had a guide with us the entire time that taught us safety first, but also let us have lots of "play time"!!! The Lake Louise sleigh ride is a MUST!!!!!! Sit back and relax under a blanket and enjoy one of the best photo opportunities you will have while visiting!!!! I would highly recommend Fairmont Banff Springs as well as the awesome vacation experience in Banff to anyone!!!!!!! We will most certainly be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review and for attending a conference held here. You most certainly enjoyed many of our area's most popular activities! We appreciate your comments and will ensure they are shared with our colleagues.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at the Springs with a friend just to get out of the city and relax for an evening. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We upgraded our room to the Gold floor which has some really great perks and ensures a quiet and well enjoyed stay. The service all over this property is second to none. I do and will recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. It is an experience that should be had by all at least once.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Fairmont Gold. We read every review and appreciate the comments our guests share with us as it is the best measure of our success and our opportunities. We hope you will return.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I am very happy to report that Crystal at reservations was the most courteous of any hotel staff I have encountered in a long time. She went above and beyond the call of duty and assisted me with my travel plans. I am very excited to be spending my anniversary with my husband in Banff!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsytjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our colleague. We will be sure to share this with her, so she knows you appreciated her efforts.

The Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.9 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
2.2 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.9 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont
Fairmont Banff Springs Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing