We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The perfect white Christmas at the Castle in the Rockies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Banff Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“The perfect white Christmas at the Castle in the Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What you see in the glossy brochures is exactly what you get at Fairmont Banff Springs... it really is a magical castle in the Rockies!
We spent the perfect white Christmas at the hotel, and loved everything about it.
The rooms are a little small - bathrooms are tiny - but the the ambience that surrounds you during your stay more than makes up for it.
Dining options are superb, service friendly. Highly recommend Castello Italian Restaurant and Rundle Lounge.
The icing on the cake is the Willow Stream Spa - if you go after 7pm you can use the thermal pools and outdoor hot tub at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear NikolaGuy,

It sounds like you were able to experience so many wonderful things here at the Castle and we are thrilled that you had a white and snowy Christmas here - there really is nothing better! Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review, we are thrilled that you were able to live the postcard fairy tale here and that you were able to check out the Willow Stream Spa - one of the best places to relax in the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we hope to see you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,818
    1,185
    487
    279
    160
See reviews for
1,373
2,691
133
831
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,400)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's 2017. Expected an amazing luxurious hotel but were ultimately disappointed.
When we checked in, the desk associate asked if we wanted to upgrade for $60 extra per night which we declined. She pressed us saying we would get "significantly more room" if we upgraded however we declined since we would be skiing most of the day anyway.

When we arrived to our room we understood what the desk associate was trying to tell us -- the room was way too small for two adults. We barely had anywhere to put our two suitcases and our ski bags. The room seemed like 1/2 of what a normal hotel room would be. By that time we decided to stay since we had lugged our bags roughly 1/4 mile to our room from check in. Not exaggerating here - we must have been as far as humanly possible from check in. The best part was we had to conquer three different sets of stairs on our journey to our room -- really fun with luggage or wearing ski boots. I guess the desk forgot to mention that even though we asked if there were stairs on the way to our room.

The second morning we woke up to put our valuables in the safe and stepped in a pool of water outside of the closet. Apparently the ceiling had been leaking all night. We called maintenance who never fixed the issue even though they serviced our room at least twice. When we checked out we told reception that the issue was never resolved and the desk agent did credit our dinner from the evening before. She was helpful and empathetic and admitted it was disgusting to have a room with a perpetually wet carpet.

Despite the small rooms, leaky ceiling and a mix up with our room keys deactivating - the staff working in the hotel was exceedingly friendly and accommodating. I would say we experienced too many issues for the price we paid however the staff did bend over backwards to make up for the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Do not take the standard room -- VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Tina S,

First we would like to extend our sincerest apologies regarding the inconveniences and problems that you experience during your stay with us. We have passed this review on to our leadership team who will review and contact you directly looking for more details. Once again, we are so sorry that this was your experience at our hotel and we would like thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards,

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

There's a lot to love about this hotel: the location is beautiful, the views are breathtaking, and customer service was always on point. My husband and I visited at the end of September, which is towards the end of fall weather for the area. The weather was basically perfect when were there: clear, crisp, beautiful. We booked a room on the Gold Level, which I think really made the hotel for us--we also booked a double queen room because it was the only room available with a view and that extra money was 100% worth it. It was gorgeous. There are several reviews mentioning the smaller bathrooms, but the Gold Level concierge (yes, there is a separate concierge *and* check-in) mentioned that the Gold Level rooms have slightly bigger bathrooms. Everything about our room was perfect. It was clean, turn down service was always great, room service/maintenance was always great. The beds were on the softer side, which didn't help my back, but the hotel offered several different types of pillows *for free*, which my husband and I found helpful. We stayed on the 4th floor Gold Level, but the 5th floor had the concierge/check-in desk and a separate Gold Level lounge. Everyone on the 5th floor was kind, respectable, and super helpful. The lounge is beautiful, clean, and the food was always top notch, but keep in mind that it's usually packed for breakfast (because it's delicious).

Everything about this hotel was convenient: it's a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Banff, there are several beautiful trails and walks to take just right off the property, and you can book a bus to the Gondola, Lake Louise, and the Alberta airport that pick up right outside the hotel.

The only slight downside to the hotel is the food and the spa. Grapes Wine Bar has an enjoyable intimate bar vibe; Waldhaus is generally overpriced, but a good spot for a nice dinner out; and Bow Valley Grill was poor--just very basic, passable food at inflated hotel prices. The only good thing about Bow Valley was the view. Go for the view, but just have a snack or a drink--skip the meals. The spa is nice but will need a facelift ASAP to justify how expensive it is.

Regardless, none of the aforementioned negatives take away from how amazing our stay at Fairmont Banff Springs was. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The extra money you spend to get a Gold Level room and a room with a view will make your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Madeleine K,

We are so thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Castle and on the Gold Floor! Autumn is such a magical time to visit Banff National Park and we are glad that the weather was able to cooperate and make your trip that much more memorable. It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of all the wonderful services and amenities we have here on property and that you found our colleagues to be kind and respectful - this is something they will be thrilled to hear.

Thank you for the comments and for the feedback, we will sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams for review as well, as we are always looking for ways that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we hope to welcome you back to the Castle again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our second visit in late September/early October to the hotel. Amazing views - my wife swears it's better views than Lucerne!360 degree mountains. Staff was great. Grapes Wine Bar has a charcuterie board that's one of the best I have ever had. Planning another trip about the same time in '17.

Stayed October 2016
Helpful?
Thank ehop098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ehop098,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review! The views and the Castle are something we are in awe of everyday and we are always here to welcome you back to experience it again! We will also be sure to pass along your compliments to our team at Grapes Wine Bar.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First class service in a breathtakingly beautiful hotel proudly sat in the stunning Bow Valley. From the moment you arrive, you know this hotel is special, internal architecture is magical, particularly at Christmas. Grand halls, ambling walkways, impressive halls and well appointed rooms.
Our room view was beyond beautiful, simply looked like a painting.
We ate at the Chop House which was fabulous and the grill which provides a well stocked buffet.
The very interesting and 'haunting' history of this fine hotel provided an interesting backdrop to the endless walks through the hotel. Grapes Wine bar is utterly charming and a favourite with us for the excellent wines and equally perfect cured meats and aged cheese.
We really did not make the most of this incredible hotel, as were hitting the slopes of Lake Louise during the day, maybe next time we will as most definitely returning! If you are looking for a romantic, historic, child friendly, charming venue with fabulous service and food choices, you must stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carlottiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Carlottiee,

While you mentioned that you felt as if you really didn't make the most of your time here, it sounds like you were able to experience some of the wonderful things that we have here! 1888 Chop House and Grapes are both superb dining experiences and we are thrilled that we could share those experiences with you! The history of the Castle is something we are really proud of and are glad that you were able to explore it and see for yourself!

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel and the service, making sure you enjoy your experience at Fairmont Banff Springs is something we take very seriously and are glad to know that you are planning a return trip back.

We hope you had a great time skiing and we can't wait to welcome you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room to spend New Years Eve in Banff. Upon checking in, some infromation was not transfered to the room we requested and we did not have enough space for all of us. Upon comfirming our request, we were supplied an additional room for our son. When checking out, Skye asked how our stay was. I mentioned that I missed the ice sculpture of the new year as I always took a family picture around it. Skye offered an apology for this and said she would forward it to management.
We have stayed at the fairmont for New Years at least ten times over the years and are always happy with the level of service provided. Thank you the management and staff for the wonderful experence, as always a 10+.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronkraemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear ronkraemer,

We are delighted that you were able to ring in the New Year with us and that you and your family had a wonderful experience at the Castle, we truly appreciate being part of such amazing celebrations!

Thank you for the review and for taking the time to post it, we will be sure to pass along your comments to our colleagues and management team, as they will be glad to know that you had a great time here!

Happy New Year and we hope to see you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Honestly, I never wanted to leave. This place is absolutely amazing. Besides the fact that the exterior commands your attention and draws you in, the inside is breathtaking. It's not a cold castle, instead, it's an exquisite palace! Every single staff member that I encountered was top-notch. They were gracious and went over and beyond to make sure we were well-cared for...it really was a dream. And as if that was not enough...the views...oh the views...like I said I never wanted to leave.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank onaglobaljourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear onaglobaljourney,

If it makes you feel any better, we didn't want you to leave and hope you will come visit us again soon! Thank for the kind review and for your comments, we are thrilled that you got to enjoy the views from the Castle and the hotel itself - it is quite magical if we do say so ourselves! We would also like to thank you for the kind comments regarding our colleagues, they are passionate about Banff and the hotel and would be glad to know that they were able to make your stay that much more memorable!

We hope you had a safe journey home, come see us again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.9 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.9 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
2.2 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
2.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Property: Fairmont Banff Springs
Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Banff Hotel
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont
Fairmont Banff Springs Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing