We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a disney castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Banff Springs
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I didn't stay at the hotel, but visited for drinks. The hotel is immaculate. It is romantic in every sense of the word. It is truly like being in a castle. I was a bit disappointed when I saw a bride there on her cell phone, texting or whatever, because this hotel is deserving of a princess bride. Get off your phone and enjoy this beautiful view and grand hotel lol.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tx_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear tx_sara,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review we are so thrilled to learn that you came to visit us! We really appreciate the kind words about the hotel and are glad that you were able to enjoy the Castle!

We hope you had a great time in Banff National Park and we hope you will come visit us again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 6,918 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017

We go to Banff every year and have stayed at the Fairmont the last four years. Because of the unbeatable location we have overlooked many of the hotel's shortcomings and are willing to pay the exorbitant price for the rooms on the concierge level. This year, we had a different experience.
We checked in to the concierge level and were put in their "signature" room. Once again, we decided to overlook the sad condition of the room, the almost unusable small bathroom, and the heat that didn't work that well.
One of the things we enjoyed was relaxing by the fire in the concierge lounge, but this year, no fire, just some candles on the hearth.
Another thing we enjoyed was the Waldhaus pub before or after ice skating, but this year, we found the Waldhaus closed. No problem, we'll go ice skating, except this year it was -25, there was no fire by the ice rink and not even any firewood.
So we trudged back up to the hotel for another lunch option. Note, because of the Fairmont's location, there are no walking distance restaurants. When we returned to the hotel the main grill restaurant was closed, the only option was the lounge (we had already tried room service and it was inedible so not an option.) Because this was the only restaurant open for lunch, there was a wait of more than 30 people milling about. We spoke to a waitress who said it was first come first serve and that if we wanted to eat we would have to wait until a table cleared... and I guess fight it out with everyone else waiting. We were told we could go to the coffee shop for pastries, or to the tea mezzanine and see if they would serve us. So off we went to the mezzanine to be handed a cocktail menu and nothing else. A waitress said she would get us a food menu but never returned.
Given no other choice, we retrieved our car from the valet (20 minute wait) and drove into Banff for lunch. After speaking with the concierge we were told there would be no change, and the best the hotel could do for us during our week stay was to make reservations in town for meals. Meaning, on vacation if we wanted to eat, we would have to get our car, drive to banff, and eat in town, then drive on the icy roads back to the hotel.
We decided to speak to a manager on the concierge floor to see what could be done, she was very nice, but couldn't help, so we decided to check out. The hotel was very accommodating with our request to check out, but then their manager David [--] arrived and it went from bad to worse.
He scolded us for wanting a fire in the concierge level, his words "unfortunately a piece of tempered glass broke before Christmas and you can't expect me to have another piece cut over the holidays" (it was January 3rd BTW and the glass broke before Christmas)
For the restaurants he told us, you could always go to the Waldhaus, I don't know why it's not open." (you don't know why and you're the manager?)
His words again "when we're at fifty percent capacity, you I'm not going to have all of the restaurants open, so when 800 people want to have lunch at the same time, what do you want me to do?" Um, maybe have another option open? As a hotel manager you probably can expect and plan for your guests to have lunch around mid day, that's when it happens... similarly breakfast in the morning and dinner at night, you may want to plan for that.
After a few more antagonistic statements by him we ended the conversation. We didn't ask to speak with him, and certainly did not want a list of excuses and admonishments from the VP. A simple, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and is there anything we can do for you would have been appropriate.
We checked out and went to the Moose. 1/4 the price, next to restaurants, and a new clean comfortable room. Fairmont, we can do without you in the future.

Room Tip: Concierge level has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont_Banff_Mgmt, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are sorry to hear of your great disappointment both with your experience and our response. It is never our intent to upset our customers and we have requested that formal contact be made with you from our head office.

The Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

What you see in the glossy brochures is exactly what you get at Fairmont Banff Springs... it really is a magical castle in the Rockies!
We spent the perfect white Christmas at the hotel, and loved everything about it.
The rooms are a little small - bathrooms are tiny - but the the ambience that surrounds you during your stay more than makes up for it.
Dining options are superb, service friendly. Highly recommend Castello Italian Restaurant and Rundle Lounge.
The icing on the cake is the Willow Stream Spa - if you go after 7pm you can use the thermal pools and outdoor hot tub at a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear NikolaGuy,

It sounds like you were able to experience so many wonderful things here at the Castle and we are thrilled that you had a white and snowy Christmas here - there really is nothing better! Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review, we are thrilled that you were able to live the postcard fairy tale here and that you were able to check out the Willow Stream Spa - one of the best places to relax in the Canadian Rocky Mountains.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we hope to see you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year's 2017. Expected an amazing luxurious hotel but were ultimately disappointed.
When we checked in, the desk associate asked if we wanted to upgrade for $60 extra per night which we declined. She pressed us saying we would get "significantly more room" if we upgraded however we declined since we would be skiing most of the day anyway.

When we arrived to our room we understood what the desk associate was trying to tell us -- the room was way too small for two adults. We barely had anywhere to put our two suitcases and our ski bags. The room seemed like 1/2 of what a normal hotel room would be. By that time we decided to stay since we had lugged our bags roughly 1/4 mile to our room from check in. Not exaggerating here - we must have been as far as humanly possible from check in. The best part was we had to conquer three different sets of stairs on our journey to our room -- really fun with luggage or wearing ski boots. I guess the desk forgot to mention that even though we asked if there were stairs on the way to our room.

The second morning we woke up to put our valuables in the safe and stepped in a pool of water outside of the closet. Apparently the ceiling had been leaking all night. We called maintenance who never fixed the issue even though they serviced our room at least twice. When we checked out we told reception that the issue was never resolved and the desk agent did credit our dinner from the evening before. She was helpful and empathetic and admitted it was disgusting to have a room with a perpetually wet carpet.

Despite the small rooms, leaky ceiling and a mix up with our room keys deactivating - the staff working in the hotel was exceedingly friendly and accommodating. I would say we experienced too many issues for the price we paid however the staff did bend over backwards to make up for the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Do not take the standard room -- VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Tina S,

First we would like to extend our sincerest apologies regarding the inconveniences and problems that you experience during your stay with us. We have passed this review on to our leadership team who will review and contact you directly looking for more details. Once again, we are so sorry that this was your experience at our hotel and we would like thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards,

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

There's a lot to love about this hotel: the location is beautiful, the views are breathtaking, and customer service was always on point. My husband and I visited at the end of September, which is towards the end of fall weather for the area. The weather was basically perfect when were there: clear, crisp, beautiful. We booked a room on the Gold Level, which I think really made the hotel for us--we also booked a double queen room because it was the only room available with a view and that extra money was 100% worth it. It was gorgeous. There are several reviews mentioning the smaller bathrooms, but the Gold Level concierge (yes, there is a separate concierge *and* check-in) mentioned that the Gold Level rooms have slightly bigger bathrooms. Everything about our room was perfect. It was clean, turn down service was always great, room service/maintenance was always great. The beds were on the softer side, which didn't help my back, but the hotel offered several different types of pillows *for free*, which my husband and I found helpful. We stayed on the 4th floor Gold Level, but the 5th floor had the concierge/check-in desk and a separate Gold Level lounge. Everyone on the 5th floor was kind, respectable, and super helpful. The lounge is beautiful, clean, and the food was always top notch, but keep in mind that it's usually packed for breakfast (because it's delicious).

Everything about this hotel was convenient: it's a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Banff, there are several beautiful trails and walks to take just right off the property, and you can book a bus to the Gondola, Lake Louise, and the Alberta airport that pick up right outside the hotel.

The only slight downside to the hotel is the food and the spa. Grapes Wine Bar has an enjoyable intimate bar vibe; Waldhaus is generally overpriced, but a good spot for a nice dinner out; and Bow Valley Grill was poor--just very basic, passable food at inflated hotel prices. The only good thing about Bow Valley was the view. Go for the view, but just have a snack or a drink--skip the meals. The spa is nice but will need a facelift ASAP to justify how expensive it is.

Regardless, none of the aforementioned negatives take away from how amazing our stay at Fairmont Banff Springs was. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The extra money you spend to get a Gold Level room and a room with a view will make your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madeleine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Madeleine K,

We are so thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time at the Castle and on the Gold Floor! Autumn is such a magical time to visit Banff National Park and we are glad that the weather was able to cooperate and make your trip that much more memorable. It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of all the wonderful services and amenities we have here on property and that you found our colleagues to be kind and respectful - this is something they will be thrilled to hear.

Thank you for the comments and for the feedback, we will sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams for review as well, as we are always looking for ways that we can improve our guests experience.

We hope you had a safe journey home and we hope to welcome you back to the Castle again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Our second visit in late September/early October to the hotel. Amazing views - my wife swears it's better views than Lucerne!360 degree mountains. Staff was great. Grapes Wine Bar has a charcuterie board that's one of the best I have ever had. Planning another trip about the same time in '17.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank ehop098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear ehop098,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review! The views and the Castle are something we are in awe of everyday and we are always here to welcome you back to experience it again! We will also be sure to pass along your compliments to our team at Grapes Wine Bar.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

First class service in a breathtakingly beautiful hotel proudly sat in the stunning Bow Valley. From the moment you arrive, you know this hotel is special, internal architecture is magical, particularly at Christmas. Grand halls, ambling walkways, impressive halls and well appointed rooms.
Our room view was beyond beautiful, simply looked like a painting.
We ate at the Chop House which was fabulous and the grill which provides a well stocked buffet.
The very interesting and 'haunting' history of this fine hotel provided an interesting backdrop to the endless walks through the hotel. Grapes Wine bar is utterly charming and a favourite with us for the excellent wines and equally perfect cured meats and aged cheese.
We really did not make the most of this incredible hotel, as were hitting the slopes of Lake Louise during the day, maybe next time we will as most definitely returning! If you are looking for a romantic, historic, child friendly, charming venue with fabulous service and food choices, you must stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carlottiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banffmanagement2016, Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Carlottiee,

While you mentioned that you felt as if you really didn't make the most of your time here, it sounds like you were able to experience some of the wonderful things that we have here! 1888 Chop House and Grapes are both superb dining experiences and we are thrilled that we could share those experiences with you! The history of the Castle is something we are really proud of and are glad that you were able to explore it and see for yourself!

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel and the service, making sure you enjoy your experience at Fairmont Banff Springs is something we take very seriously and are glad to know that you are planning a return trip back.

We hope you had a great time skiing and we can't wait to welcome you again soon!

-Fairmont Banff Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.9 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
2.8 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
2.1 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Banff Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Banff Springs

Address: 405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banff
#1 Green Hotel in Banff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Spa Hotel in Banff
#2 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $478 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Banff Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 770
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning European-style spa, the Willow Steam Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Banff Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel Banff
Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel
Fairmont Banff Hotel
The Fairmont Banff Springs Banff
Fairmont Hotel Banff
Banff Fairmont
Fairmont Banff Springs Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing