We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in all respects”
Review of Banff Gondola

Banff Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
US$96.31*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Soar to the top of Sulphur Mountain to experience a stunning bird's-eye view of six incredible mountain ranges. With breathtaking vistas in every direction, your adventure begins with an eight-minute journey to the summit of Sulphur Mountain in a modern, fully enclosed four-passenger gondola cabin. Glide up over the treetops to the crest of a steep-sided Rocky Mountain peak and step out into a jaw-dropping mountaintop experience at an elevation of 2,281 metres (7,486 feet). Stroll along the ridgetop boardwalk where the views get better with every step. Then warm up in our newly transformed, state-of-the-art summit facility. With new restaurants, interactive interpretive exhibits, a multi-sensory theatre and a breathtaking 360-degree rooftop observation deck, the new Banff Gondola summit heightens every sense.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb in all respects”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Having done the Lake Louise Gondola 2 days ago, I was luke warm about spending the $35 on this ride. Woah!... am I ever glad I went! This gondola ride was worth every cent and then some. Be sure to allow 2 hours or more if you have the time, and take the excellent boardwalk all the way over to the cosmic ray house. Be prepared with warm clothing and windbreaker or else you might not enjoy it. Interpretive signs were excellent: beautifully done and very informative. A 10/10!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IMPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,534
    1,551
    360
    78
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must in Banff”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Beautiful views, advice choose a clear day to go up now snow or rain or all you will see is clouds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful but definetely overpriced”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Everytime i have family visiting, the gondola trip is a must. The view from the top is AMAZING. I know the views and the experience itself is priceless, but to pay more than 30CAD per person is way TOO much. Especially when you get there and the facilities are "eh".. Of course, the main thing here is the view, but why the high price tag? Clearly i can see that they dont keep the boardwalk towards Samson's peak free of snow, on the opposite, they close some areas because the snow is too deep, and if you go in spring you have to walk really careful because of the ice. So, comparing to the Peak to Peak gondola in Whistler that cost around 46CAD for a daypass and you get not only one but 5 different rides and the facilities are way much better, Banff gondola makes me wonder why do they charge too much. A few years ago you were able to hike Sulphur Mountain all the way up and then catch a free ride down with the gondola, but not anymore, and you have to pay full ticket, so this makes me think this is total greedy.
But, like i said, if you are a visitor, this ride is a must, the views are breathtaking!
It is important to check for the weather or check the webcam from Explore Rockies before heading there so you really have a nice clear view.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ale_ND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Great way to have a panoramic view of the mountains and a scenic view of downtown Banff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaosAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We went here in May 2012, cost us 36$ (Can) each to travel to the top, once there we walked to the (redundant) weather station on the board walk. Everthing was covered in snow/ice (even parts of the walk) but the views were fantastic. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banff Gondola also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing