We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place tad pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place tad pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Enjoyed the 2 bedroom with loft with 4 kids and 2 adults. Nicer than the condos down the road and we've stayed at the other two.

Nice beds. Nice hot pools. The only problem is the party central crowd that takes over the hot pools in the evening. While there is clear signage that alcohol, bottles, cans are not allowed, it is clearly permitted. This attracts and excites the twenty somethings but repels and intimidates the families. Management really needs to enforce this rule or quit trying to pretend there is one. The only disappointment with the stay but a particularly annoying one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for the review and I am happy that based on your experience, that you found the quality of our property to be superior to the other local resorts on Tunnel Mountain. I would agree that we are nicer than the 'condos down the road' as you mention!

I'd like to make note of the review March 13th, 2012 "Not the cheapest but a comfortable stay", in which the writer suggests that there were too many families in the hot pool while they were using it. Only a small but crucial example of how the age demographic of the hot pool and how opinions about who uses it can differ and change regularly. I have reminded the front desk agents and supervisors directly to ensure that their presence in that area is high during high volume usage times, namely Friday and Saturday nights. They have assured me that they are making regular efforts out there. Ski season in Banff can attract a mixed crowd and we strive to manage our client base to ensure everyone is able to enjoy their time at the Resort and in the hot pools. On any given weekend, we are just as likely to have equal numbers of families/children/mature adults in the earlier evening hours and often until closing. Sorry to have let you down here.

As a note to future travellers, the hot pools are a guest area that can be used at anytime between 9am and 10pm over the course of a stay. They are virtually empty 90% of the week. Alcohol, bottles and cans are not permitted in the area and we certainly do walk around the area regularly to ensure that guest's are not visibly disrespecting this rule. We committed to the promotion of a family friendly hot tub environment at all times and we ask our readers and future guests to have patience with us if regular hotel operations are preventing our team from removing glass, bottles, cans or alcohol in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    596
    229
    104
    44
See reviews for
822
612
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent accommodation for our family which included 3 generations. Really enjoyed the hot tub. Easy to get to but it is out of the way on Tunnel Mountain but we found this to be a good thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had family from overseas visiting us and were showing them around and decided to stay at the Hidden Ridge Resort. We were not disappointed. Although the rates were rather high, the condo we stayed in had two bedrooms and a loft, was comfortable and had a wood burning fireplace and balcony. There is an outside communal BBQ area within easy walking distance and the hot springs was the highlight for the time of year i.e. October. The kitchen was lacking some day to day utensils which made it a bit frustrating cooking indoors but overall we managed.
The only complaint was at night when all the grown ups went to the hot springs for some relaxing time, there was a family there with 5 children that were jumping in the pools and making it unpleasant for the grown ups who were relaxing. The parents, two fathers, did nothing to address the situation and the clerk on duty at the front desk did not bring this to their attention either even when someone complained. This was at 9pm.
I do feel that at that hour the grown ups should also be given some time to enjoy the hot springs as the children use it mostly during the day. The staff at the resort should be held responsible, ensuring that the matter is addressed when guests are unhappy, and the situation be brought under control i.e. either the children settle down or the parents remove them from the springs. The saddest was that none of the children were under 8 years of age and should have had some sense of respect. As it is there is a notice that informs guests that no jumping into the springs is permitted. Some people just don't care.
This was the biggest disappointment of our stay of 3 nights, as it was what attracted us to staying at the Hidden Ridge Resort.
The highlight though was having a deer visit us early in the morning while we were all still in our pj's.

Room Tip: Not much difference in staying in a two bedroomed unit as opposed to a unit with 2 bedrooms and a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyViews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at the Hidden Ridge Resort with family members, in a 2 bedroom + loft suite. When we checked in there were 5 deer which came right up to our balcony! I think we just got lucky but this resort is truly right int he heart of Banff's natural surroundings. Our suite had a well equipped kitchen, wood burning fireplace and 2 full bathrooms. The suite is cozy and offers comfortable furnishings. It's very sk-vacation friendly with a large tiled entry way for wet ski clothes and ample hooks and shelves for boots and ski/board wear. The furniture is not 'deluxe' but comfortable enough and really feels like home. The suite was in very good condition, no wear and tear and very clean. The bedrooms and bathrooms and even the kitchen were spotless and well appointed. There is a great outdoor pool and spa facility which is large and very central to the condo village. It's also very clean and well maintained and well landscaped. The only complaint here is they were out ouf towels every day. The firewood is free and when they had run out one evening, with one call they were over to our suite in minutes delivering a large bin of firewood. The staff are so pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Overall I really enjoyed the upscale feeling of this private condo like resort and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthonytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is our second stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. The condo was very nice and well equipped. We were in one of the newer buildings last time so we will request it next stay. The parking is not convenient as it is unassigned and first come first served. We experienced the noise of the party goers coming home late at night. That is no fault of the resort though, just the inconsiderate loud guests.

They supply fire wood, kindling and paper to start your fire. They actually deliver the wood to your door upon request. The resort provides a free bus pass for the local transit service. The bus stops at the resort and is a better option than trying to find parking downtown.

We will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zachmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our room was well maintained and in a good condition. Parking was brutal. We were there for the family day weekend, and the parking was extremely congested. Also, the place was fully booked by 20 year old party guys. 3:00 a.m. drinking games right over our heads. Wouldn't recommend the place on this long weekend. Mandatory 4 day stay requirement and our unit was very noisy. On a positive note though the hot tub is lovely. Probably just want to stay away on spring break/family day unless you want to join in on the party which is fine. We have young kids though so getting a good nights sleep is a priority. The beds are really comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doubledaisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for the review. We are fully aware of how a few noisy rooms can impact the entire property. We had more families on site than '20 year old party guys' last weekend though it did not appear to be so in your perspective. This perspective is certainly not one we want anyone to leave the property with. We are a family orented property but we cater to all guests, from all walks of life. We screen guests, when possible, and we have turned away business that we believe to be detrimental to the property's reputation. For those that we miss, many of whom who book through third party websites, we assess with scrutiny at check in. We did proceed with an eviction over the long weekend and would do so again immediately whenever the comfort and happiness of any of our guests is compromised. We take noise complaints seriously and we have security on site on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hidden Ridge. We found the condo to be pleasant enough and had a great time. It's not a fancy place and pretty bare bones but serves the purpose for sure. The beds were comfy and it was relatively quiet. We enjoyed the location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff and the views were awesome. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The resort does allow pets which is a bonus. The biggest downfall is the parking. It appears there is one stall per condo as well as some underground parking. However, when you have groups of people renting one condo and everyone has their own vehicle there......it quickly becomes overcrowded. If you drive a bigger vehicle and can't fit in the underground very well then your choices are limited. At least they did allow us to park along the main drive by they lobby when there wasn't any parking anywhere else. Overall it was a great trip and I would probably return to the resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FortMacLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.1 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.3 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing