We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, will definitely return!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay, will definitely return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Banff - Hidden Ridge Resort and we are completely blown away by the town and the hotel. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful and were able to accomodate our early check in and late check out request. We stayed in a one bedroom condo unit - the room is just the right size for a couple, but if you are looking for more space the one bedroom plus loft is also a nice option. We did stay in the older building which we were completely satisfied with. The rooms are not modern but are very clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities. If you are missing anything in the kitchen or require a few extra pots and pans a quick phone call to the front desk and you are given what you need without any complaints or hesitation.
We also really loved the location of this resort - with it being just outside the main downtown it is quiet and peaceful and we were lucky enough to see the family of deer outside our unit every morning and afternoon. The local bus stops right outside the hotel and is just a quick 7 minute ride into downtown or you can take a nice walk into downtown which is about 20 minutes but well worth the trip. The bus runs every 40 minutes and is great option to get around town. We did not feel like we needed a car at all.
This is a very busy resort with all age groups and the weekends are definitely very busy. If you are looking for more peace and quiet then the weekdays are your best option.
Overall, my husband and I loved our week at Hidden Ridge and all that Banff has to offer, including all the wonderful skiing. We are looking forward to returning next year and will recommend this resort to all our family and friends.

Room Tip: The one bedroom units are on the ground level with the one bedroom plus loft condos up above. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    601
    232
    105
    45
See reviews for
827
619
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My family and I have stayed in over a dozen properties in Banff over the years, ranging from romantic hotels to family hotels with our daughter, high end price (think Fairmont) to basic hotel. This time around we opted for a condo since we wanted to be able to have more room and cook breakfast. We have stayed on tunnel mountain a couple times and since we wanted a condo there are only a few choices. I researched and liked the way Hidden Ridge looked, so I booked a one bdr condo with pullout sofa for our daughter. The I read more reviews and became concerned about the comfort and noise factor I read about these lower units. I emailed the GM there and Peter was very accommodating in replying to my many emails.
Upon checking in there were 3 different units for me to see, and after seeing them we opted to upgrade for a very reasonable rate to an upper 2 bdr condo with jacuzzi in the main bdr.
It was great, we had our own bdr upstairs and our daughter had her own room which she loved.
We used the fireplace a lot, usually twice a day, and we faced the woods and saw deer right below our balcony a couple times. We loved the condo feel and doubt we will ever book a hotel again.
There were a few maintenance issues when we checked in, for example our balcony did not close or lock, a couple burners on the stove did to work and we needed dish soap. I called and we went to the hottubs, came back, and all was good:)
The hot tubs are a big selling point of this property, and we used these twice a day as well. It did get a bit busier before the evening but nothing unbearable. Everyone when we were there were all very well behaved. Yes we did see people drinking beer in plastic cups, but that did not bother us at all. I think if people were rowdy that may be an issue. The sauna too was very enjoyable, always lots of towels. They did close the hot tub one day at around 5 in the evening, because of some issue. But they handed out free passes to the hot springs if you wanted to go there and even though we did not use ours, the gesture was much appreciated.
Overall, we loved it here, and would return in a heart beat. All the staff we encountered were friendly and more than happy to help us out to ensure we had a great day.
We have to give a shout out to Peter the GM and Barry the front desk manager for keeping their promise to us because they told us we would enjoy our stay and we most certainly did.
Also, the free roam bus pass is great and we used it whenever we went downtown, easy and free, no worries.
The mountains are beautiful, and even though like I mentioned we have been to Banff a lot we probably enjoyed this stay the most out of all of them.
We are planning to go back sooner than later.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a second floor unit for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed in a deluxe loft 1 bedroom 3 queen beds and a sofa bed. The beds were super comfy and the place was clean, there were some stains on the sofa and carpet but no that bad. I have loud kids and we got no complaints so that was good. There was a family beside us also with little kids and I did not hear any crying either so that is a bonus.
Firewood was free and they even clean it the next day for you.
The kitchen was great had everything you need to cook a basic meal. The washrooms were nice with lots of room and it was very clean, I think the floors were heated as well. They provided shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soap from the rocky mountain soap ( lavender scented it was great!).
The pools were nice and heated, we went there early to avoid the crowd of people who came around 5pm ish. Your not suppose to drink in the pool but people came there with Gatorade bottles filled with beer( ya very discret) that was a downside as I had little kids with me,
Other then that great place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a loft style, it is better then a one bedroom dungeon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april22reeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

You might wonder why I'd add another positive review to a place that's already rated #1 in the area: the answer is quite simply that they deserve it. Upon arrival we were offered a reasonably-priced upgrade from the "1-Bedroom Queen" to the "King Loft with Jacuzzi" and it was well worth it. A Million-Dollar view from every window: you can see the entire Banff-Sunshine corridor without leaving the suite. There were towel-swans and chocolates on our bed on arrival. Sitting warm and cozy in the jacuzzi while the night lights of Banff twinkled down below was a highlight of our visit. We loved the wood-burning fireplace and enjoyed having a full kitchen at our disposal, including microwave and dishwasher. Everything was immaculately clean & well-maintained, and although the units on both sides of us were occupied, we were never disturbed by noise from other guests. The only caution I would offer about the loft units would be to families with young children, or those especially sensitive to morning light for an early wake up: there are no blinds on the top-level windows (remember the M$ view!) and although they face west, the units quickly become light after sunrise. For my part, I would never trade waking up to a dazzling mountain view for dreary curtains! I would recommend this property to anyone planning a visit to Banff, winter or summer.

Room Tip: Ask about a room upgrade at check-in: it's often less expensive than booking it directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindaslair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We really enjoyed our time at Hidden Ridge. Staff was amazing and the views and hot pools were wonderful. I was surprised they call themselves a resort because there were no real resort activities. Overall we had a good time and good accomodation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 294kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Enjoyed the 2 bedroom with loft with 4 kids and 2 adults. Nicer than the condos down the road and we've stayed at the other two.

Nice beds. Nice hot pools. The only problem is the party central crowd that takes over the hot pools in the evening. While there is clear signage that alcohol, bottles, cans are not allowed, it is clearly permitted. This attracts and excites the twenty somethings but repels and intimidates the families. Management really needs to enforce this rule or quit trying to pretend there is one. The only disappointment with the stay but a particularly annoying one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenRidge, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for the review and I am happy that based on your experience, that you found the quality of our property to be superior to the other local resorts on Tunnel Mountain. I would agree that we are nicer than the 'condos down the road' as you mention!

I'd like to make note of the review March 13th, 2012 "Not the cheapest but a comfortable stay", in which the writer suggests that there were too many families in the hot pool while they were using it. Only a small but crucial example of how the age demographic of the hot pool and how opinions about who uses it can differ and change regularly. I have reminded the front desk agents and supervisors directly to ensure that their presence in that area is high during high volume usage times, namely Friday and Saturday nights. They have assured me that they are making regular efforts out there. Ski season in Banff can attract a mixed crowd and we strive to manage our client base to ensure everyone is able to enjoy their time at the Resort and in the hot pools. On any given weekend, we are just as likely to have equal numbers of families/children/mature adults in the earlier evening hours and often until closing. Sorry to have let you down here.

As a note to future travellers, the hot pools are a guest area that can be used at anytime between 9am and 10pm over the course of a stay. They are virtually empty 90% of the week. Alcohol, bottles and cans are not permitted in the area and we certainly do walk around the area regularly to ensure that guest's are not visibly disrespecting this rule. We committed to the promotion of a family friendly hot tub environment at all times and we ask our readers and future guests to have patience with us if regular hotel operations are preventing our team from removing glass, bottles, cans or alcohol in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent accommodation for our family which included 3 generations. Really enjoyed the hot tub. Easy to get to but it is out of the way on Tunnel Mountain but we found this to be a good thing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.3 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing