We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the mountains from the outdoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed in this resort last summer and loved the rustic appeal plus the outdoor pool area which has breathtaking view and a hot tub.The rooms were little outdated but because of the view I'll give this resort four stars and it's very close to Banff downtown that I always love no matter how many times I visit it.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bemisaal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Bemisaal6, we appreciate the time you took to review your stay with us at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're so happy to read that you enjoy your time with us that you've become a repeat guest. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 2,101 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016

Very friendly service and a fantastic pool area with a large hot tub and a pool. Great in good and bad weather.
The apartment we lived in were spacious and the kitchen well equipped. All in all fine but not new.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Ravnkilde, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We are happy to read that you fully enjoyed the outdoor pool facilities and the friendly service you received. We hope we are able to welcome you back on your future visits to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We just got back from the Rockies (a must do for everyone!) and stayed at the Hidden Ridge for 3 nights. We were looking for a pet friendly place and the Hidden Ridge was one of few places we could choose from.

We stayed in one of their most basic rooms (Deluxe Queen) and the moment we walked through the door we felt like going to complain. The stench of stale smoke smacks you right in the face. For a minute I thought people had been smoking in the room, then I remembered the suite has a wood fireplace. I can't really complain as I did book the room and it's not something they hide, but boy it smelled a lot. You do get used to it over time though, but it resembled a musky gentleman's club rather than a modern resort.

The rooms themselves are okay, nothing special but they could be worse. We had a bottom floor, almost basement like room, so it was a bit dark and people could see into the room, even the bedroom, quite easily, so you needed to close the blinds too, which didn't help.

The location isn't the best, you have to drive anywhere really (but then again, Banff town center is way too busy for our liking, so perhaps that's good). They do offer free bus shuttle services but we never tried them out.

Overall, for $325 a night I was hoping for more, but this is Banff in peak season and you don't get a lot for your money. I couldn't say with confidence we would get better anywhere else.

The pool was nice, free use of BBQs was great and the service overall was good. Wifi worked well which was a change from some other hotels we stayed at. Parking was easy and there was always free spots from what we saw.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Andrew K, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. All of our suites have wood burning fireplaces and we have the technology to remove the smell if it's overpowering; many of our guests find it adds to the ambiance of our suites. We constantly monitor our rates to ensure we are competitive in the Town of Banff and offer the best rates for our guests. The summer season is certainly a time of higher rates throughout the Bow Valley. We're happy you were able to enjoy the facilities offered throughout the resort. We appreciate your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back on your future visits to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

For this price ($477 a night) we were expecting a lot more. Room smelt of smoke, flyscreen was broken and rooms very tired. Parking was also difficult - too many rooms not enough car parks. Had a view of Mt Norquay but was mostly obscured by trees and overlooked industrial area. The only good point was the pool. Recommend try elsewhere for that price.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vizy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Vizy2013, we constantly monitor our rates to ensure we remain competitive within the Town of Banff. Our front desk staff are quite adept at helping people find parking spaces on those occasions when the parking areas are busy. The underground parkade is always an option. Our resort is a short distance from the downtown core which allows our guests some peace and quiet away from the busy town. There are a number of trees along the side of the resort that include Douglas Fir trees; a tree that, continentally, is only found on the Western side. We are located above the Town of Banff on Tunnel Mountain, you can look down the mountain and see parts of the Town including the industrial compound; you can also look up towards Cascade, Rundle and Norquay Mountains. We're happy you were able to enjoy the pool facilities with the view of the Sundance Mountain Range.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

A great location, fully equipped condo and easy access to town.
Check in wasn't until 4pm, but after that is was seamless. The condo had everything you needed, with access to the communal bbq if you wished.

The pool areas looked clean and tidy, although we didn't try they out. The views were amazing, with some lovely walks just outside the door.

I think it would benefit from a bar/snack area for families to come together and socialise, however this did not detract from our mini break here. The free Roam bus passes were an added bonus that we partook in.

Would recommend for families or couples.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ssbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

ssbz, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit here and all the amenities we provide around the resort and in the suites. We appreciate your recommendation for families or couples and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We are a family of 5 that stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and one sofa-sleeper in the living room. The bathroom was TINY. Not even enough space to put anything on the counter. The ceiling was badly cracked and peeling. The beds were lumpy with mattress pads that were too small for the beds and shifted out of place while sleeping. The entire room smelled like cigarette smoke. Parking is definitely an issue, especially in a large car. Yes, there's underground parking if there are no spaces available, but navigating through the garage in a Ford Flex was a nightmare! I can only imagine the number of accidents that happen down there.

The only reason I gave it 3 stars instead of two is that the exterior surroundings of the resort are beautiful. The pool and hot tub area has a gorgeous view, and we liked that the resort was not right in the middle of the busy Banff traffic.

Most likely will not book a repeat visit here.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 325jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

325jen, I'm sorry your stay was not what you expected. We appreciate your feedback. Our front desk staff are quite adept at helping people find parking spaces on those occasions when the parking areas are busy. The underground parkade is always an option and we see many larger vehicles in the parkade; we haven't had any accidents reported. We're happy you enjoyed the pool facilities and the views from the resort. Our location is a short distance from the downtown core which allows our guests some peace and quiet away from the busy town. We also offer complimentary bus passes to help our guests get to and from town without having to worry about finding parking downtown. Guests can also use the bus passes as an opportunity to park their vehicle after checking in and not have to get in it again until check out time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Very nice staff and rooms. We stayed in a one bedroom for two nights in a downstairs unit. There were a lot of kids around while we were there using the pool as one might expect. It's not quite within quick walking distance to downtown but you do get a bus pass. We had a car so we had no issues. Very beautiful grounds with great views. Had a couple mule deer pass thru in the early morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank greengrl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

greengrl18, thank you for your review of your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy to read you were able to catch a glimpse of our wildlife visitors during your stay. They like to come on site to feed and provide a great photo opportunity for those lucky enough to see them. We do offer complimentary bus passes to help eliminate the hassle of finding a parking spot downtown Banff during this busy season. We're very happy to read that you'll return to visit us again; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
1.7 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
0.6 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $141 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing