We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly Recomended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hidden Ridge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Painswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

Delightful few days at the Hidden Ridge - our loft condo was perfect for our family of five. Clean bright and very well fitted out. The staff were very helpful and customer service was excellent. The outside hot tub is a bonus with a fantastic view of the mountains. Shops and restaurants are close by if you want to walk or Banff town is just three minutes drive. Recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Felicity B, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're so happy to read that your condo (suite) was perfect for your family. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    596
    229
    104
    44
See reviews for
822
612
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
493 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

Stayed here with a group of 6 friends in a two bedroom suite for 3 nights in July. Nice place to stay and worked well for our group. Can't give it 5 stars for a few reasons, all pretty minor but notable:
-no a/c. I knew this going in but there was only one fan and it was pretty stuffy when we arrived (all windows closed, no fans running). It really didn't really air out that first night. We requested an extra fan every night, but they were never available. In the peak of summer you really need a fan per bed area (each bedroom and loft.) We did turn on the internal venting system which helped, but wasn't enough.
-shower door downstairs didn't close, not the worst but things just weren't in perfect condition throughout the suite
-kitchen had exactly the number of plates etc for the number of people, which left no extras. an extra set or two would've helped
-crowds/noise, clearly the place was full which was fine. Our neighbor unit was great and didn't disturb us at all. But I could see if you had noisy neighbors it could be tough. There were a lot of people around in general. We grilled two out of three of our nights here and both nights we had to wait for a grill to free up (out of the four near our unit, maybe there are more elsewhere)
-couch-bed--not usable for an adult. We had two couples and two singles. The couples took the rooms downstairs and the singles wanted their own beds. The couchbed was terrible and they ended up sharing the loft which was fine, but be aware if you're planning to use it.
-construction, something was being constructed right across from our unit. They didn't start super early but they were working there throughout the day. Just didn't know it would be there.

Overall it was great. Some of the positives:
-good service. When they could help us they did, quickly. Including extra towels coming our way on request.
-fireplace. It was warm but we wanted to give it a try so on our last night we roasted marshmallows which was great fun.
-view, especially from the pool area is great. Our side had some construction but it was minor.
-comfy regular beds, spacious unit in general
-proximity to town. Not right on top of the town, but very close. Super short drive or 15-20 minute walk. Perfect! The bus is also available, but we chose to walk since it was o nice out.
-clean, tidy
-hot water always available and good water pressure

Would stay again, but there's certainly some room for improvement. The negatives really weren't terrible, but I always feel better when I'm fully aware of what I'm coming into.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
hdempsey, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We appreciate the feedback, both constructive and complementary. We do have additional fans on hand for those that wish to have an extra fan. I will review the procedure with the front desk staff to ensure they are all aware of it. As you mentioned, the staff provided good service and helped you quickly when they could, which is why I'm surprised you didn't receive an additional fan. All of our suites do have fully equipped kitchens and provide cutlery, dishes, cups, and kitchen utensils. As with the fans, we could have provided you with a few more plates upon request. We have supplies for those guests that wish to make smores in their suite fireplaces. Like you mentioned, people love to roast marshmallows over an open fire. We certainly hope to welcome you back to the resort on your next trip to the Banff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We are staying here for a conference. The two bedroom with a loft is more than enough space and we would have gotten something smaller but it was all that was available. The last two evenings we have been out and the way people are flying around the parking lot and up the drive to pull in here is ridiculous. Please think about putting a speed bump on your property as we were almost hit tonight. We are paying 500.00 a night it would be nice to be able to park in front of our condo. There are 3 spots in front of our condo but other people have taken the spot. You should have parking passes for each condo.

Stayed August 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amy Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2016
Amy Lyn M, thank you for reviewing your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We offer surface parking near our suites and two underground parking garages that have a number of spaces in each. If we were to assign parking spots to the suites, we would inevitably have to assign some parking in the underground garages meaning those guests couldn't park near their suites; for this theory to be fair to everyone, it could only be applicable on less busy nights, when parking is plentiful. For this reason, the theory couldn't work in practice. I have noticed some people drive a bit fast along the Town road leading to the resort, and there is pathway alongside it so people don't have to walk on the road. I walk around the resort daily and I haven't found people drive excessively around the driveways. We are happy to read that you found your suite to have more than enough space during your conference in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Very well set around the side of a hill, the hot tub and pool have amazing views as do most rooms. The hotel give you a free travel card for the local bus service, which has a stop a few minutes away, as well as giving free tea and coffee in the lobby. The suites are well sized and the kitchen is very useful too. If you want to walk to town it takes 20-30 mins and you can hire bikes on site too and travel that way. Plenty to do locally.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennyfer_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2016
jennyfer_85, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Beings slightly isolated from town offers great views from around the resort and in the outdoor heated pools. It also offers a quiet atmosphere away from the busy downtown core. We're happy you got to use the complimentary bus passes and enjoyed the coffee and tea in the lobby. We certainly hope we can welcome you back on your future stay in the Banff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2016

This hotel is located five minutes drive away from town and has everything needed for cooking. The swimming pool and hot tub area has a very nice view of the mountains. Front desk people are nice and accommodating.
The carpet might need to be replaced though. I have a crawling 11 month old. His knees and feet got almost dark after five minutes checked in to the room. We also found someone else's t shirt in the drawer.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kati2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2016
kati2006, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the resort, the surrounding views and the friendly service provided at the front desk. I have discussed your comments with our housekeeping manager to ensure no one has to find anything from previous guests in their suite. I certainly hope you consider us for your accommodation needs on your next visit to the Banff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We initially reserved a 2 bedroom premium suite but they had a maintenance problem and had to move us to a different unit. We had a one bedroom king deluxe suite with a hot tub on the balcony and beautiful views of the mountains. Unit was very nice but a bit small. Has a small scantily equipped kitchen. Only complaint is they it lacked little things such as dressers for your clothes, ample space for your toiletries, paper towels and dish liquid and additional towels to be able to use the hot tub without having to use your bath towel. These little amenities would make the stay a little more convenient. They did provide coffee in the lobby which was helpful.

View from the bedroom loft had beautiful views of the mountains which was a nice view to wake up to.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MS07869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2016
MS07869, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort.
There was an unexpected maintenance concern with the room you had booked. After our discussion on the phone, we ultimately settled on the Premier King Jacuzzi Suite (our highest category of room type). The room is designed for 2 people comfortably but will fit 3 in a pinch. Thank you for mentioning the extra towels for the hot tub on the balcony; that is something I will look into. I hope you are able to contact me directly to arrange any further trips you may have to the Banff area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights with the family in a Deluxe One Bedroom Condo. Room was equipped with everything you need. Our room needed some renovation but was clean. The resort is very nice and located a little outside of Banff. Staff is very friendly.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Si Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this review, 16 August 2016
Si Z, we appreciate the time you spent to review your stay with us at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy to read you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your future stays in Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#10 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
1.1 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.3 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Property: Hidden Ridge Resort
Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing