We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway in the mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Staying here for 4 nights from Ireland.
Beautiful quiet resort in Tunnel Mountain. Free bus pass into Banff so you can park the car and truly relax.

Staff on reception are very friendly and the open fire is a lovely touch.

Very clean and full kitchen facilities provided. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Cathy K, we are thrilled to read your 4 day stay with us beautiful and relaxing. We appreciate your recommendation and we're happy to be a part of your fond memories of Banff and the Rocky Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017

We have brought friends and family to stay here and it's the perfect place for a lovely get away in the Rockies. Warm and cozy, just 5 mins fm main Banff avenue but quietly tucked away. The setting is picturesque.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lzcwchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Izcwchua, thank you for the kind words. We're so happy to read you found the perfect place for a lovely getaway. We hope we can welcome you back to our picturesque resort when you visit Banff again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

For years we enjoyed a very special rate through the manager at the time, Peter. We would be more than pleased to return to Hidden Ridge during the mid-week if we could again enjoy that special rate. We always enjoy our visits to Hidden Ridge. Free firewood and heated parking are certainly a bonus.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kdenbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

kdenbury, we're happy to read you enjoy your visits to Hidden Ridge Resorts. I am not aware of any special rates arranged through previous management but, to offer all of our guests fair and affordable prices, our rates are set competitively with all other hotels in the area. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Banff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Just spent a weekend with staff in a couple of condos for our delayed Christmas party. Hidden Ridge is in a beautiful area and with the complimentary bus passes provided is very accessible to downtown. The hot pool is definitely the highlight of this resort.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The negative to this resort is that it was lacking in cleanliness and maintenance.
As we arrived all the pathways and steps to the condos were covered with thick ice and snow and not from any recent snowfall. We had to call for attention to this as we had a very pregnant girl with us and feared that she would fall. They did arrive with ice picks and shovels almost immediately but this should have been taken care of perhaps from a few weeks prior.
Upon entry to the condo we found that the carpets and floors were not cleaned properly with dry dirt or sand throughout the condo. The next morning we asked if they could run a vacuum through the condo and although they said that it wasn't vacuuming day for them they showed up at 5 PM to vacuum. Well this was a joke as two of them showed up and only one went on her hands and knees to vacuum with just a hose!! No wonder the floors were so dirty if they vacuum with just a hose and no power nozzle!!
There was also dried mud on the legs of the coffee tables that was clear to see even if they only do a vague cleaning job.
We did have a great weekend away and the condos were comfortable and accommodating but they would be definetly more inviting if more care was taken with the housekeeping and maintenance.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GigZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

GigZim, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy to read you enjoyed many of the facilities here at the resort and got to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. I'm sorry to read you had issues with the housekeeping of your suite. I have reviewed the concerns with the housekeeping team as a training refresher for cleaning suites properly and to our standards. Despite this negative experience we're happy to read you had a great weekend and found the suites to be comfortable and accommodating. We certainly hope we can welcome you back when you return to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Easy shuttle to the busses that access ski areas or down town central. Condo was clean and well equipped to cook with table service, toaster, coffee maker, microwave and full refrigerator. Had a lower condo and the sound proofing from the above condo was not good, especially when the children upstairs put on ski boots so make sure you have ear plugs if you have early risers above. Staff was friendly and responsive. Quite a few people there used the communal hot tub, although we did not. Had an elk sleep within 5 yards of the patio.

Room Tip: Go for a upper condo for more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moveinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

moveinon, thank you for the review of your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Hidden Ridge is a very compact, chalet style resort with a variety of condo choices. We stayed in the one bedroom loft which had a queen on first floor with full bathroom and two queens in loft with bathroom only, no shower. The beds were very comfortable, with lovely duvets. Living area is not huge but can seat 6 at table but there are not enough soft chairs. Only one couch. Kitchen area is compact and has 6 of everything in dishes, glasses etc. What was amiss was a baking tray , roast pan and maybe a casserole dish. There were plenty of fry pans. The fireplace is nice but smaller logs are needed to really get it going. Kindling is provided . We had a view of Mt Norquay from our deck and also allowed us to see Mule Deer grazing around the unit. The resort is close to skiing at Sunshine and Norquay and about 40 mins from Lake Louise so this is why we chose it. The town of Banff is not far either , just down the hill. Very well situated for touring as the Tunnel Mtn Drive has a lot of viewpoints The campsite for Tunnel Mtn is adjacent to resort . Hot pools were lovely with fantastic vistas The units need a bit of updating and maintenance on the window / patio door openers as they were almost impossible to open. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Our unit had six steps to the door so be sure you have the right unit if accessibility is needed. Close to nature and the air and scenery were breathtaking .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Hilary B, thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. Our slight isolation from the town of Banff allows our guests to be away from the hubbub of downtown and to enjoy beautiful views you wouldn't get from a downtown hotel. The wildlife come and go up here which gives our guests a perfect photo op of them. Just last week there was a large herd of elk feeding on the outside of the fence around the outdoor pools. We're happy to read you enjoyed the mountain luxury beds in the suite, I find them to be incredibly comfortable too. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Great rooms, excellent outdoor hot spa pools, friendly staff, and short bus or walk to town centre. Bus stop at the front door.
We stayed for 2 weeks, cooked in most nights, skied for 12 days, loved it. Hot spa most nights. Walked to town a few times, caught the bus out the front in full ski gear to town to get the shuttle bus to snow fields, 20 minutes to Sunshine (our favourite) 40 minutes to Lake Louise (close second favourite) and 10 minutes to Norquay ( 3 favourite) worth a one day visit but not as interesting as the other two and the snow isn't as good.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank AndrewJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

AndrewJanice, we're so happy you had a great ski vacation and we're happy we could be a part of your fond memories. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,004 reviews
0.6 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $130 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing