We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Our recent 4 night stay was perfect! It is located just outside the townsite, so it is peaceful and quiet, away from all of the buzz. The condo was exactly what we needed, little kitchen and communal BBQ's to allow us to make our own meals and an awesome communal hot tub to soak our tired muscles at the end of the day just steps away looking over the mountains/town site. The staff was awesome, giving us kindling right off the start to make our fires in our wood burning fireplace to burn off the evening chill and even gave us weiner sticks and marshmallows! Our room was made up daily which was always nice to come back to. Overall, if you are looking for a quiet get away this is the place to do it...not exactly walking distance to the town but people did, we had a car rental so it was a matter of a 5 min drive to the heart of Banff. Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDGRYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

KDGRYM, thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We are so happy to read you enjoyed all the facilities and services we provide for our guests. Preparing your own meals in your suite can definitely add to the value of your stay and save you money from having to eat at restaurants for every meal. Our slightly isolated location does provide a quiet atmosphere to enjoy away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Banff. I've walked to and from the resort to town many times in about 20 minutes, we also offer complimentary passes for the local transit for those that don't want to drive to town. We're so happy to see that you will stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Staff were awesome, the view was beautiful. Only complaints are the shower faucet was damaged, and the bus was a pain to take. Other than that I have no complaints.

We stayed in the King Jacuzzi suite. Although it was pretty pricey, I would definitely recommend this suite to other couples wanting a romantic getaway in Banff.

Room Tip: Private hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Nick D, Our King Jacuzzi suites are a great room type to enjoy for a romantic getaway in Banff. Our isolated location from downtown Banff offer our guests a quiet atmosphere with beautiful scenery you wouldn't get from a downtown hotel. We're happy you've described the staff as awesome, everyone tries hard to ensure all of our guests have the best stay possible. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I will never understand how this place has 4 stars on Tripadvisor. My husband and two teen aged boys stayed here for a week on Spring Break. Our first room was a one bedroom loft - it was so small and only had one full bathroom. The staff was able to upgrade us to a 2 bedroom with "loft" but it was not much better. This place is just SMALL. My biggest complaint with the accomodations was the "den". It featured a small two seater (and very uncomfortable) sofa and that's it. So my family was not able to gather around at night and watch TV. Essentially, this place is like a hotel with a mini kitchen. The lobby of the resort is not welcoming - although the staff was very nice, it is basically a room overlooking the hot tubs with a fireplace that was never lit. The coffee pot was always empty. Speaking of the hot tubs - my boys were very excited about enjoying them but never did because they were packed to the rim with people all day and all night. The property is bordered by a RV park and a hostel and we suspect that those travelers were enjoying the hot tub as well. One of the biggest problems - do your research when staying in Banff - we were not aware that Hidden Ridge is not on the bus route to the snow mountains - so you have to take 2 buses - one from the resort to Banff, then catch another bus to the mountain. We spent a lot of our time lugging our ski gear from bus to bus. On a positive note - the setting was beautiful from the back of the property - as all places are in Banff. And as I said the front staff was very nice. This property was less expensive than other places in Banff - but we have learned our lesson and next time will pay more to stay in town in a nicer resort.

Room Tip: Rooms are small so size up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Heather A, I'm sorry to read you found your suite small for your needs. We have a number of different room layouts to accommodate parties ranging in size from 1 through to 10. Our front desk, whenever possible, will suggest room types that may be more comfortable for each party size. We provide coffee, tea, hot chocolate and water in the lobby 24 hours a day. We brew our coffee as it empties as it only takes a few minutes to brew and ensures we are providing fresh coffee. I'm sorry to read the pots were always empty during your stay, that certainly isn't the norm for this amenity. Our hot tubs are a favourite relaxation amenity that our guest enjoy and at times they can get a bit busy, especially after many people return from the ski hills. The neighbouring hotel guests, campground guests, and hostel guests do not have access to our hot pools and we are quite good at ensuring only our guests have access to our hot pools. We provide complimentary passes for the local transit bus system to aid our guests going to, and returning from, downtown Banff free of charge. The bus stop is located right at the resort so our guests do not have to travel to access the transit system. The local ski hill buses do not stop at the resort but the local transit system stops right by the ski hill bus stops. Our secluded location just outside the downtown core of Banff provides our guests with a quiet atmosphere and beautiful scenery you wouldn't get from a downtown hotel. I'm happy to read the staff was very nice and I hope you have a better stay the next time you are in the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My husband and I headed to Banff for an anniversary celebration. I have to say we were very disappointed with our choice at Hidden Ridge. At just over $250 a night we expected more. List of problems:
- patio doors were not secure and would not lock properly
- tap in kitchen did not work properly
- queen bed in the bedroom had a mattress cover placed over the mattress to cover up a bad mattress, it kept sliding off the bed
- walks and stairs were covered in snow and ice, even after telling management nothing was done
- my husband fell on the ice going down the stairs from out room, mentioned and e-mailed manager, no acknowledgment
- no DVD player in our room, was told maintenance would bring one by, they never showed up
- On the positive side when we mentioned our concerns the receptionist removed 15% from our bill.
- However, this was done before my husband fell. He had told the front desk the dangers and sure enough as I said before he fell. When I phoned the front desk to tell them they said they were really sorry that happened. When we e-mailed management about our experience, especially falling, we were clear we were not looking for anything but wanted to inform them of our experience. We did not get a response or even acknowledgment of the e-mail.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zaboo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

zaboo2017, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. All of our suites have our mountain luxury mattress pad on every bed. These are in place to make your sleep as comfortable as possible, not to cover up bad mattresses. We receive many compliments about the comfort of our beds through comment cards and emails. We reply to all of our guest email inquiries, whether they are questions for upcoming reservations or comments on previous stays. I'm really sorry that no one has replied to the email you sent but I've discovered, since reading your comments, that no one here has received an email stating the concerns you mention. Being able to see and read them now I sincerely apologize that your husband slipped and fell and I'm happy he wasn't injured. I have reviewed your concerns with all the departments involved and assure you we have taken them seriously. Despite not looking for anything in your email, I'm happy the front desk was able to assist at check out with addressing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We stayed at the Hidden Ridge for 5 nights... in a total of 3 different rooms. The first room had a heating issue-- as in they could not turn it down or off. The second room had a plumbing issue with an odd toilet flushing situation-- but ultimately it was the downdraft from the upstairs room that filled our room with smoke and moved us to room #3. Had we seen room #3 earlier-- it would have been a much better experience.

Some tips: Do not book a standard 2 queen room. These are like basement apartments with no views or privacy. Ours were not clean and beds were not comfortable. The 3 floor, 3 bedroom unit we had on our last night was lovely. Fantastic views-- main floor living with a master suite loft and 2 bedrooms and a full bath on the lower level. Great views in this unit and much more comfortable beds.

Some of the staff was very helpful. The maintenance guys were great (we did get pretty well acquainted with them due to the number of mishaps). The front desk staff was helpful-- but the manager scores low in my book. With the issue seen at the start of our trip-- offer to move us to a nicer room if you have to move us. Not the same kind. We would have paid more for a better overall experience.

So-- if you chose their best room-- it's quite nice. Even the 2 bedroom loft units were OK-- but not great with access from behind the building and no real views. Parking is a huge issue, as is the amount of debris in the parking areas. Good luck!

Room Tip: Only stay here if you choose the 3 bedroom stand alone unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kzc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

kzc27, we're sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort; to see that I scored low in your book is surprising. We tried numerous resolutions to the issues you raised while you were here, I even contacted your reservation company to resolve your reservation. We're happy you enjoyed the Premier 2 Bedroom & Loft condo on your last night. We have a number of different room layouts to accommodate all needs and expectations; none are better than others. The melting snow always brings surprises that winter hides away. We have staff constantly circulating the resort to pick up these surprises and I'm sorry you didn't feel they were quick enough. We certainly try our best, and do everything we can, to ensure our guests' have the most enjoyable stay as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We have skied all over the US and have been to Whistler BC many times. We had phenomenal skiing at Lake Louise and Sunshine exceeded expectations. The lodging at Hidden Ridge was OK but the pictures looked better than it was. We had a 1 bedroom loft for my wife, 19 year old son and I. Very old and tired interior and very little storage (closets dressers necessary when skiing) and the living area has only one small couch and no other comfortable chairs. Not real great for three adults lounging after skiing. Having said that, we still enjoyed our stay very much because of the location and the beauty of the area. I was glad that I was aware of the parking situation and was ready for no parking as we showed up and it was snowing and nowhere to park. But we found one last spot in the underground garage. On the bright side we did find parking most days mid week right in front of our unit which was very convenient when leaving each day to ski. Shelby at the front desk was awesome; friendly, cheerful and helpful. Most of the others were disinterested. Also know that the bigger units are newer and the unit we stayed in was the oldest so I suspect the newer units are nicer. All in all we would probably stay at Hidden Ridge again. The room itself was 2.5 to a 3. But the overall experience was 4. Banff and the skiing at Lake Louise was a 5!

Stayed: March 2017
Thank GG1HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

GG1HI, we're happy to read you enjoyed your stay very much. The skiing can be really good in the area and finding storage for your equipment can be a task in itself at most hotels in Banff. We have a number of different room layouts to accommodate parties ranging in size from 1 through to 10. Our front desk staff try to recommend layouts to guests at check in to ensure they are in a suite that is suitable for the size of the party. We're happy Shelby was a great help to you while you stayed with us. We appreciate that you didn't have any parking issues and appreciate the comment regarding that. We're glad you had a really good overall stay and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Rooms with a kitchenette and nice outdoor BBQs like they have at Hidden Ridge add value due to being able to make your own meals. Have stayed here once before. The hot tub view is amazing and the only other comparable hot tub view is the Banff Springs, and as we all know that comes with a higher cost. Really like the 2 different temperature hot tubs. Most of the staff were friendly. Thanks for the late checkout. The only minor thing was some of the firewood was in really big chunks-without bringing an axe it was tough to get a fire going, even with the provided fire bundle. Very Clean rooms-and dishes were clean considering the amount of use.

Room Tip: Ask for room with Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesnJess29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

JamesnJess29, we're so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy you enjoyed the facilities and services we provide for our guests. We certainly hope we can welcome you back when you're in the Bow Valley again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,004 reviews
0.6 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $130 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing