We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for skiing and exploring Banff National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Ridge Resort
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We're loving our two week stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. The views are lovely, staff very friendly and helpful land great hot tubs overlooking the Banff township, tunnel mountain, and Rockies beyond. Just gorgeous! Fireplace in our room so we make s'mores every evening. The front desk has the necessary supplies!

We booked a 2 x queen bed room which had a kitchenette and lounge area but was a bit smaller than the loft style condo we were expecting. A quick chat to reception and we upgraded to a loft style apartment with plenty of space.

The location is a little out of town. We've hired a car from Calgary, so it's not a problem, and the resort offers complimentary passes for the regular local bus service which many guests use. It's about a 20-25 min walk down the hill to downtown and similar back.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay which I am very happy to recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank OscarMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

The Hidden Ridge Resort has a great layout and very friendly staff who are extremely accommodating! Chances are very good you will see tons of wildlife including deer throughout the resort!
Check in is quick and easy! The front desk staff were accommodating to ensure we had chalets in the same area. We enjoyed the Two bedroom Jacuzzi Condo (which was pet friendly :) ) but our room did not have mountain views, which was fine for us as we could see them everywhere else. The rooms had a great layout, furniture is dated and showing its age, wood burning fireplace, kitchenette so you are able to eat in if you choose.
The resort itself is located on Tunnel Mountain, which is a quick drive down the mountain to the main shopping district.
The only downfall of our stay was the cleanliness of the condos, yes housekeeping does a "deep clean" every three days while you're staying and obviously after checkout, however in 2 of our 3 condos we had issues from wine stains on the counters and carpet, to dog poop from previous tenants in the living room and dog food throughout on the carpet. Both easy fixes, yet there should be more attention to detail while being cleaned.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, hot tub and sauna was always relaxing after a busy day on the hills or sightseeing!

Room Tip: Front desk is often able to give you better rates than found online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanseeker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

oceanseeker2017, thank you for reviewing your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. I apologize for the dog food in your one suite; I have discussed this with our housekeeping staff. Our slight isolated area outside the downtown core of Banff allows a peaceful atmosphere to rest and relax in. It is a good spot to see some wildlife as they feed around the outskirts of the resort. We're happy to see everyone enjoyed the facilities provided for our guests and we hope to welcome you all back on your next Banff getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This hotel was wonderful. We originally planned on camping for 3 days then getting a hotel, but due to a snowstorm, we decided to check-in a day early and the hotel was extremely accommodating! We staying in a lovely little apartment style room with a bedroom, fully kitchen, and living area. It was nothing fancy, but it was perfect to come home to after a long day of hiking and site seeing! Oh and the hot tubs/ warm springs area were absolutely beautiful and offered a gorgeous view of the entire town of Banff and the mountains!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Nathan S, thank you for taking time to review your honeymoon stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're so happy to read you enjoyed the facilities and services we provide for our guests. The hot pools are a great place to relax after a full day of exploring the Bow Valley and Banff. We're thrilled to have been a part of your celebratory getaway and we hope we can welcome you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Love love loved this resort!! So worth spending the extra $$. Make sure you jump in the hot tub at sunset as it's the best view of the mountains! Would have been great if we were aloud to take a drink to the hot tub but they were VERY strict about no alcohol which is fair enough. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was available in the reception which was lovely. Free bus service into the Banff town which was frequent and on time making it really easy to get into town with our snowboard gear. Staff were lovely and really helpful. The room was what you'd expect from a snow lodge, very quaint but cute. Comfy bed and the full kitchen came in handy. We even saw a deer outside our back door. Would have been great to have a restaurant but we were able to order takeaway from a local restaurant which was great on our first night when we arrived late.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower level, you might see a deer :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Kate M, we're so happy to read you enjoyed your stay. Our outdoor hot pools are a popular amenity amongst our guests. In order for everyone to enjoy them, we don't permit alcohol consumption in or around the pool area, which you've mentioned you understand. We're happy you enjoyed the comfortable beds and the suite you stayed in. We hope we are able to welcome you back on your next visit to the Banff area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Booked a condo-type, semi detached house split over 3 floors with 3 bedrooms, an open lounge, kitchen/diner and 2 bathrooms.
Excellent value, clean, adequately serviced daily.
The resort has basic and necessary amenities, all kept to a good standard. Parking is underground or adjacent buildings.
Staff were friendly, international and pretty quick if anything was necessary.
All in all, a very good stay, which we'd happily repeat.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anaesthete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Anaesthete, thank you for your review of your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. We're happy to read you enjoyed your stay and the facilities we provide for our guests. I'm happy to see you had excellent value for your clean and adequately serviced suite. We're happy to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Our hot tub cover was just ruined. The door knob to the balcony was about to fall off. For the price of this room I expect the best. When we complained there was nothing done about it. I have stayed there twice now and my first stay in the condo was better. I would never recommend this as a choice to stay based on the service and loyalty to the customer. Very disappointed.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brettg372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

brettg372, thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I will bring your concerns to the department managers to improve upon the services we provide. As you mention, your first experience was better than this one so we hope we can see you back again. I know we can do better than we did this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We had stayed at this resort numerous times throughout the years and had great memories. When we decided to try it again, we were excited. But upon arrival we realized the big beautiful hot tub surrounded by looming pines that once sat as a center piece had been replaced with multiple story accommodation units crammed together like factory animals. The hot tub had been downsized considerably and was located off of the main office, together with a sauna and a fire pit. It was crowded and noisy, far from relaxing. The unit itself was ok, some damaged screens, fireplace glass and misc other things. There were 2 sets of long stairs running from the main entrance and up to the bedroom loft. Our biggest complaint was the party going on across from us that kept us awake until 1:30 am. We were given a $100.00 discount for the noise. We will search for something else the next time we visit Banff. For the $500.00 nightly fee, this resort is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art G, General Manager at Hidden Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Tkona62, thank you for the review of your stay at Hidden Ridge Resort. In order to improve upon the services we provide our guests, we renovated the property a number of years ago. We did eliminate the centre hot tub and created two outdoor heated pools that overlook the town, valley and mountain ranges. It's a popular spot our guests use to relax after a long day of touring and exploring the surrounding area. I'm sorry to read there was noise disturbance during your stay. Our staff do numerous rounds throughout the night to ensure any noise is addressed as quickly as possible. Despite all efforts, there is the odd time when noise is inside the suites and not evident from the exterior. We appreciate your continued business over the years. We hope you are able to return for another visit to experience the advantages our hot pools offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.8 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.9 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
2.9 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,004 reviews
0.6 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Ridge Resort

Address: 901 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $130 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Ridge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on Tunnel Mountain, Hidden Ridge Resort is quiet and secluded with some of the most spectacular views in Banff and the Canadian Rockies. The modern condos feature wood burning fireplaces, full kitchens and patios or balconies. Take a stroll along one of the many hiking trails around Tunnel Mountain that start outside your door. The tranquil and secluded setting makes it one of Banff's best-kept secrets. Only a mile from downtown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hidden Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Ridge Hotel Banff
Hidden Ridge Resort Banff, Alberta
Hidden Ridge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing