We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The Caribou Lodge is situated right outside of town. We stayed during a VERY cold time so we were not able to walk the 15-20 minutes to the center Banff, but i imagine during the summer it would be a nice walk. The bed was very comfortable and we were able to adjust the thermostat to our desired temperature. The hot tub and sauna was a nice plus to end the day. During our stay the TV wasn't working and after i alerted the staff in the morning it was fixed before we arrived back in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PoppyPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

We are pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay, even though the weather wasn't cooperating. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the downtown area of Banff. Rooms are spacious and clean, though too warm at night for my liking. Adjusting the thermostat did not seem to help. Free wifi is a bit spotty. One of the lamps did not work so one corner of the room was quite dark. The floor layout is a bit confusing so I always felt it was an adventure to find my room. Underground parking is a treat. The Keg is located within the hotel so you do not need to leave the building to find an excellent restaurant. I did not use the free bus or spa but they are available. Overall, more positives than negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 123Intrepidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you for your positive review, and please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with the room temperature and WiFi, we have noted your comments and will look into making some improvements.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful.

We were there for a ski trip on Jan 1-3.

We stayed in a deluxe room with 2 queen beds, it was decent just minor things wrong in my opinion, such as, no fan for the bathroom or a microwave in the room. Other than that the bed was super comfortable.

We absolutely loved the hot pool! Soo nice after a long day on the ski hills!




Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Denisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge, and please allow me to apologize if we did not meet your expectation. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Had a amazing stay! Enjoyed opening my hotel room door to smell the fire from the lobby. Good parking, clean rooms. Hot tub was large to accommodate all guests. Great location. Would most defiantly stay again. Comfy beds, rooms average size.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Alexander F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel, good location, about a ten minute walk to the centre of Banff, the reception has free bus tokens, so you take a card and can get the bus into the centre or up to the springs too! Nice spa area with a huge hot tub and steam room.
The room was a good size. There was ample underground parking. Ski lockers with padlocks available from reception.
The ski bus (the bus to sunshine village and lake Louise) stops right outside the hotel! And it's one of the first stops so always space!
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fimckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you for such a positive review, and your tips for any future travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

The room was depressing . Perhaps we just got a very small and dark room, but I was very dissatisfied! The hotel could do with some updates! The hot pool is okay, and having the Keg restaurant is convenient! I would not go back to this hotel! You get what you pay for!

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank LoveMaui57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribouFOM, Front Office Manager at Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Thank you for your review, and we apologize for your disappointments throughout your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We stayed 9 nights in December and enjoyed every one of them. The hotel has a very nice feel to it with open fires in the foyer and bar with a lot of woodwork. Our room was spacious enough for the three of us to live in and quite comfortable. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, and supplied us complimentary bus cards that we could use on the local bus that takes you in and out of town, even up to Tunnel Mountain, and the Fairmont. Would not hesitate to stay here on our next trip to Banff, thank you everyone at Caribou Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
1.1 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $118 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing