We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, and facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 7 January 2017

We spent Christmas and New Year 2016 at the Caribou Lodge, the already beautiful and charming rustic hotel, was decorated very well for Christmas, and made our stay very festive and special with roaring log fires in the lobby and restaurant.
The attached restaurant, The Keg Steakhouse, was very good, with huge portions for meals and snacks, and the buffet breakfast is extensive and great value.
The spa is very nice, and just what you need to defrost after a days snowboarding or skiing.
An ideal location, being close by to other restaurants, and a short 10 minute walk into the town centre for even more places to eat, bars, and shopping.
Our room was well decorated, and spacious, with 2 Queen beds, large bathroom, and beautiful views of the Mountains from our window. We even had 7 very large Elk in the front gardens one night at 10.30pm, eating the plants, amazing view to have from your hotel room window.
The free underground parking garage is heated, and great as your car is not frozen every morning, and they even provide ski lockers for your use at no charge also.
I would recommend this hotel, and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Our visit to the Caribou started very well. The receptionist was welcoming and immediately noticed we had been mis-quoted on price and reduced it substantially! Our car was parked in the heated car park which was a great bonus. We had a suite similar to one we had stayed in some years ago. There was a Christmas tree and a Christmas swag over the fire. All very nice. However, even these extras could not brighten the gloom of the room. The Christmas lights could barely penetrate the drabness of the dingy green and brown decor throughout all rooms in the suite. We eventually noticed that even the Christmas tree had previously had a different set of lights which clearly had ceased to work. Rather than removing them they had simply been disconnected and another set put on the tree. There was one large picture on the large walls of the lounge which was a gloomy black and white picture of a man standing in his boat on a lake with a hint of mountains behind him. Perhaps he was considering jumping for whoever designed the decor in the suite had clearly listened to too many Leonard Cohen songs or did they just get a good deal on dingy green and brown paint that no other hotel in Banff wanted! Upstairs there was a bedroom, a whirlpool bath (room) and a shower room. All decorated in the same 'gloom' colour. The brightest room in the suite was the downstairs toilet.
The rather old mattress on the king size bed had been topped with a topper which made the mattress so big and heavy that the housekeepers clearly found them difficult to make. The sheets didn't fit and the topper 'walked'. The bed was in fact very comfortable and cosy apart from the pillows! In fact there was nothing actually wrong with the pillows but they were squashed into cases that were far too small for them. It resulted in them being tubular, lumpy, very uncomfortable and bursting out the end of the case (see photo). I reported this to reception and even showed her photos on my iPad of the before and after effects of the pillowcase. She made a note but clearly thought I was bonkers and thereafter treated me with surly indifference and nothing was done about the pillows. We managed by taking the cases off the pillows and laying them on the top.
During our first night we were wakened twice at midnight and 4am by the whirlpool bath kicking into operation. The display indicated it was 'drying'. We hadn't used it! We reported this and a maintenance man came that morning and he said he would isolate it during the night which he did. The following day it came on again in the afternoon, again we had still not used it. Another maintenance person came and looked and it was agreed that it would be isolated for the nights. We were told that the problem was due to us using it and leaving wet towels in and around it. We only ever used it the once on about day three of our eleven night stay and wet towels were never left in the bath. The problem was never dealt with to our satisfaction so we asked them to isolate it permanently. When we checked out we reminded them of the problem and of our inability to make use of this facility. We received no apology just a vague suggestion that they would look into it.
The fire was a lovely addition to our lounge in the suite and made it much cosier. However, it kept switching itself off and struggled to light again. We did not report this as we felt by this time there was no point!
As the Suites are built out over the corridors there is not enough sound insulation. The Hotel say they have a policy of quiet before 8am and after 11pm. However, this did not always happen and sometimes other people's 'parties' felt like they were happening in our bedroom.
The reception staff range from very helpful and friendly to disinterested and unhelpful. This rather puts you off raising an issue with them for fear of being treated with total indifference.
Breakfast in The Keg was good. The waiters/waitresses were friendly and helpful especially with dietary needs.
Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Banff it would have been so much better if these issues could have been dealt with in a more responsive and helpful manner.
Sadly, we would not choose to stay at The Caribou again.

Thank Ruth452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now. The desk staff is mixed, some good, some members beyond apathetic. The cleaning/ room people need alot of work and need to know how to make a bed properly.
Having the Keg downstairs is a big plus but one could say the same about their staff.
The room was clean, not neat but clean.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Stayed here for a weekend with my soon to be fiancé at the time. Room was excellent. Got a room with a loft and Jacuzzi tub. Clean, comfortable, was quite the treat to stay there. Parking at the hotel was good. Easy walk to downtown Banff. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mxzxops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed at the Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa for three nights. The girls at the front desk were wonderful! I believe Rachel was whom I dealt with the most. She helped us with our Roam bus pass, getting around and what to see! It was my first time and I really enjoyed it! Everyone was wonderful! The hotel always smelled like a cozy fire in the fireplace! I would stay there again for sure! The little walk was great to downtown, maybe 10 mins or a little more! My son and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms were always clean and accommodated us for a late checkout! Sure enough the two fellas we bought coffee for on one of the colder days working downtown turned out to be the caretakers of the hotel as well! Kinda neat to run in to them again. They were helpful as well in sharing what Banff has to offer. Great trip for us both!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Totally forgot I'd not reviewed this fantastic hotel until we went to rebook for 2017. We visited in March 2014 for a week whilst skiing at Sunshine and Lake Louise. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. The overnight ski/board servicing was excellent and very handy. The attached restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner - although there are also several good options in Banff that you are spoilt for choice! The spa was very relaxing and just what was needed after a day on the slopes. The room (bottom tier) had 2 huge beds and a lovely bathroom. Carparking (underground) was free but often busy. The hotel is a little way out of the centre (15 min walk) but taxis were fairly cheap if it got too cold/you got too lazy! Looking forward to going back in March 2017.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annalou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The location is great! The room is very clean and nicely maintained. The parking garage is under ground, free and spacious. Our stay was short but full of pleasant memories. This is a hotel I will definitely come back to.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Xiaonan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.7 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.1 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,425 reviews
1.1 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,098 reviews
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa

Address: 521 Banff Avenue | Box 1070, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Banff
#7 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#11 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $119 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banff Caribou Lodge is centrally located on Banff Avenue, Banff's main street. It offers the Keg Restaurant, Red Earth Spa (a full service spa), free underground parking, free wifi, fitness room, hot pool and steam room. This lodge type accommodation has a large and inviting lobby to greet you to Banff. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Caribou Hotel Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge And Spa
Caribou Banff
Caribou Lodge Banff
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing