We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Our Honeymoon!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins for nine days in September for our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to stay! The cabins are very clean (yes, there were a few daddy long-leggers, but you're in the mountains...it's expected!), the bed was comfortable, the fireplace - very romantic! You couldn't ask for a better location - centrally located between Banff & Lake Louise. We had breakfast two of the mornings & dinner two of the evenings at the lodge. The food was superb. The cost was comparable to anything you would find in Banff. I highly recommend the "Storm-tini" drink as well as their cobbler & scones! Everyone we interacted with was very helpful & friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #4...felt a little more private....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great place to stay, about half way between Banff and Lake Louise. Cabins are cozy and comfortable. The food and service at the lodge was wonderful, even saw a bear and cubs from our breakfast table.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Storm Mountain Lodge. The cabin was cozy and the fire place was well used as a cold front moved in that week. It was so nice to come back from a day of hiking to our little cabin. We both slept well in the very comfortable bed. The location is ideal to explore Banff and Lake Louise since the lodge is in between the two destinations. Their restaurant was very good, but a bit pricey if you are on a budget. It was good quality food though. The lodge is also willing to go down on their rates if you bargain with them. We had planned to camp the next two nights, but we cancelled these plans since the cold front brought the temperatures down to freezing. Luckily no one had booked our cabin and we stayed an extra two nights at a discounted rate. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Decor was perfect for a historic cabin. The wood fire place and claw foot tub was well used!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have just returned from an excellent weekend at Storm Mountain Lodge. We began our day with a hike to Arnica Lake. It's a tough climb but the lake is very scenic and well worth it. We returned to Storm Mountain lodge and our cozy cabin. The staff had a prepared a fire for us, all we had to do was light a match. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the lodge. I had lamb chops, my husband had organic chicken. We finished the meal off with chocolate pate. We enjoyed a game of Canadian trivial pursuit in front of the fireplace in the lodge while sipping on blueberry tea and Storm Mountain coffee. The lodge is located near a secondary highway but the beautiful mountain scenery and historic setting more than makes up for the minor traffic noise. The staff was great without being overbearing. We are already making plans to return during the Christmas break.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storm_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We searched for an authentic lodge and found it here ... nicely modernized bathrooms yet the cabins aligned with a more traditional rustic style ... food was excellent. Friendly and helpful service. Good beds. Clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewgc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

For travelers looking for cabins/bungalows equal distance north to Lake Louise or south to Banff, Storm Mountain Lodge is a good choice. That was our strategy but we discovered that other considerations are more important to us.

Restaurant service was friendly; food was good but in our view overpriced so we limited our dining experience at SML to one meal. This made more sense for us anyway since we traveled from early to late each day.

We chose to book three nights since the regular $239 rate is discounted to $199/night for three consecutive nights. Cabins, as advertised, are "rustic." They're cozy enough and non-smoking but "non-smoking" doesn't mean non-smoky. Our whole cabin was permeated by fireplace smoke from previous lodgers. We didn't use the fireplace at all but actually covered it with plastic, trying to contain the odor. In retrospect, we should have asked if there was a less smoky cabin but didn't. Our clothing and belongings smelled as if we'd been camping for the remaining days of our trip.

The other big downside to our cabin was proximity to the highway. Again, maybe other cabins don't have this issue but ours was one of those closest to the highway. Hwy 93 is a major artery into the Banff area, a good thing--except if you're trying to sleep.

SML doesn't give anything away. I understand not providing fridge, laundry, wi-fi or coffee maker but details often make the difference and a complimentary cup of coffee or tea in the morning would be a nice touch and, in our view, not too much to ask.

Finally, at the end of our stay we were left wondering if the staff care about their guests' experience. Besides a perfunctory "How were the past days?" at checkout they provided no means for feedback. This, in contrast to other area establishments that eagerly solicited our written feedback--which is why we're providing it publicly rather than directly to the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have stayed at Storm Mountain twice. And both times I have really enjoyed my stay. They are true old time cabins but they have plug ins so can at least charge your cell phones. But no tv to distract you. Nice wood burning fire place, cool claw foot tub. It was beautiful. Be prepared during the summer months for bugs but that is what you get in a cabin. They are not that bad.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
32.3 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,086 reviews
29.5 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
992 reviews
31.3 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Castle Mountain Chalets
24.5 km away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
32.0 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing