We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“10th visit!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We live in Canmore and sometimes love to just get away from it all. This is our 10th trip and every single time we get the same result. Absolute bliss and relaxation. It's rustic, it's not a fancy 5 star hotel. It's understated elegance, fine fining but above all the ambience is what u make it. If you want marble bathrooms and gold leaf wallpaper then don't go. If you want to step back in time, turn the cell phone off, relax and enjoy good food, good wine and get lost staring into a real fire then this place is for you. A true gem in the 21st century. Watch out for local specials as well....amazing value.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rasher1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    64
    15
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
216
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My partner and I wanted to get out of the bustle of the city, into the mountains and a private cabin all to ourselves. We didn't want to be in a populated area such as Banff but more off to the side, where we would see less people and be able to enjoy nature on our own. We found the perfect place at the Storm Mountain Cabins.
We picked a historical cabin and were met with history in an updated and very comfy, cozy atmosphere.
We kept warm with the in-suite heater but enjoyed the ambiance of the roaring fire, as we snuggled in our queen sized log bed with down filled quilt and plush down pillows.
This was not a cabin of 5 star luxury but a place for those yearning for a step back in time when men were men and women loved them. This is a place for romance, snuggling by an open fire and enjoying the rejuvenation and relaxation that only nature and privacy can bring.

We enjoyed a top caliber gourmet dinner in the ambiance of the old log cabin lodge, complete with the sound of a roaring fire in the hearth and the smell of the leather sofas tickling our nostrils.

I will be recommending this place over and over again, when I am asked for a place in the mountains that one can get away to, for a private romantic weekend.
This is now our new favorite weekend get away - calling it "our cabin in the mountains".

Room Tip: There are historic log cabins and newer wood slat cabins - of which I did not see inside. But we enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Storm mountain lodge is excellent in all aspects. Lovely log cabins, gorgeous main lodge. Brilliant staff. Yes no wifi, tv's etc but that's the point. We loved our two nights here and wished we had stayed for our last two nights rather than moving onto the sole less Fairmont Banff Springs. Can't wait to come back to the Rockies so we can stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is really a review of two parts! The restaurant was excellent both for dinner and breakfast (albeit a bit pricey), the communal restaurant / lounge building was very nice and the staff efficient and helpful. So 5*
The cabin itself, however, was a disappointment. Fairly basic in some ways. Narrow (4'6") bed (albeit comfortable), fairly primitive bathroom. The big 'USP' seemed to be the wood burning stove - which we didn't need in August - and the 'backwoods feel' - but the cabins (contrary to the impression on the website) are right next to the main highway! So 3* for this bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We just returned from spending a couple of weeks in Banff and Jasper. We stayed at several spots ranging from the giant Banff Springs Hotel to little Num-Ti-Jah. Storm Mountain was our favorite. The 1920's log cabin was perfect. It was clean, rustic, and warm. The food in the lodge was excellent ( I recommend the Bison tenderloin) and the staff friendly. You will not find phones, TV, or wireless here, but why would you come to this out-of-the-way little set of cabins and expect "electronics"? Located halfway between and Banff and Lake Louise, it was convenient for hiking and seeing both spots. I would return in a flash.

Room Tip: Cabin #3 is the most isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MendocinoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed at Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins for nine days in September for our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to stay! The cabins are very clean (yes, there were a few daddy long-leggers, but you're in the mountains...it's expected!), the bed was comfortable, the fireplace - very romantic! You couldn't ask for a better location - centrally located between Banff & Lake Louise. We had breakfast two of the mornings & dinner two of the evenings at the lodge. The food was superb. The cost was comparable to anything you would find in Banff. I highly recommend the "Storm-tini" drink as well as their cobbler & scones! Everyone we interacted with was very helpful & friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin #4...felt a little more private....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great place to stay, about half way between Banff and Lake Louise. Cabins are cozy and comfortable. The food and service at the lodge was wonderful, even saw a bear and cubs from our breakfast table.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
32.3 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,051 reviews
31.0 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
5.8 km away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
32.3 km away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
32.0 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Property: Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing