We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cabins in the woods": Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
331 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“"Cabins in the woods": Perfect”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Storm Mountain Lodge offers the perfect romantic getaway location - charming, perfect cabins surrounded by Banff's majesty, isolated yet close enough to both ski hills and the town-site. We stayed in a cabin-for-two for two nights. There is no cooking allowed and no modern-life conveniences (coffee maker, hairdryer, Internet, phone, etc) but who wants them? Cellphone reception was good. The cabin itself was very comfy and welcoming, roomy enough for two but with no extra room. The rustic cabins have been equipped with a wall-heater which throws sufficient heat and complements the fireplace. Wood and kindling is supplied and the fire was laid for us when we arrived! Very nice. The bathroom had its own small wall-heater, much needed, as it was cool. The old-fashioned claw-foot tub is comfy, and there is a shower rigging, but water pressure is low, understandably - out in the bush. It takes a while to fill the tub! The washbasin is located in the main room, perhaps a little inconvenient. Bed was comfy, lots of pillows, towels were fresh and plentiful, windows opened, there were ample lamps and lights. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient all through the reservation process. Staying at Storm Mountain provides wonderful ambiance and a total retreat. Just walking through its paths and looking up at the stars is magical. One of Banff's jewels!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    60
    13
    16
    11
See reviews for
37
199
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We spent Christmas at this very special place this year. The service, meals and atmosphere were outstanding and made our holiday so special. Thanks to the owners for sharing their little piece of heaven with us during the holiday season. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugtheduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millet, Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We didn't stay there (yet) but we did stop for lunch, and as you step through the door into the dining hall building, that unmistakable aroma of a stately old log building that has been heated for decades with a wood stove is wonderful. The ambiance of the place is simply superb, and we found the quality of the food to be an appropriate match. James W. Alberta

Room Tip: The little log cabins are tiny...perhaps no bigger than some hotel rooms, but they are cute and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We live in Canmore and sometimes love to just get away from it all. This is our 10th trip and every single time we get the same result. Absolute bliss and relaxation. It's rustic, it's not a fancy 5 star hotel. It's understated elegance, fine fining but above all the ambience is what u make it. If you want marble bathrooms and gold leaf wallpaper then don't go. If you want to step back in time, turn the cell phone off, relax and enjoy good food, good wine and get lost staring into a real fire then this place is for you. A true gem in the 21st century. Watch out for local specials as well....amazing value.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rasher1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My partner and I wanted to get out of the bustle of the city, into the mountains and a private cabin all to ourselves. We didn't want to be in a populated area such as Banff but more off to the side, where we would see less people and be able to enjoy nature on our own. We found the perfect place at the Storm Mountain Cabins.
We picked a historical cabin and were met with history in an updated and very comfy, cozy atmosphere.
We kept warm with the in-suite heater but enjoyed the ambiance of the roaring fire, as we snuggled in our queen sized log bed with down filled quilt and plush down pillows.
This was not a cabin of 5 star luxury but a place for those yearning for a step back in time when men were men and women loved them. This is a place for romance, snuggling by an open fire and enjoying the rejuvenation and relaxation that only nature and privacy can bring.

We enjoyed a top caliber gourmet dinner in the ambiance of the old log cabin lodge, complete with the sound of a roaring fire in the hearth and the smell of the leather sofas tickling our nostrils.

I will be recommending this place over and over again, when I am asked for a place in the mountains that one can get away to, for a private romantic weekend.
This is now our new favorite weekend get away - calling it "our cabin in the mountains".

Room Tip: There are historic log cabins and newer wood slat cabins - of which I did not see inside. But we enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Storm mountain lodge is excellent in all aspects. Lovely log cabins, gorgeous main lodge. Brilliant staff. Yes no wifi, tv's etc but that's the point. We loved our two nights here and wished we had stayed for our last two nights rather than moving onto the sole less Fairmont Banff Springs. Can't wait to come back to the Rockies so we can stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is really a review of two parts! The restaurant was excellent both for dinner and breakfast (albeit a bit pricey), the communal restaurant / lounge building was very nice and the staff efficient and helpful. So 5*
The cabin itself, however, was a disappointment. Fairly basic in some ways. Narrow (4'6") bed (albeit comfortable), fairly primitive bathroom. The big 'USP' seemed to be the wood burning stove - which we didn't need in August - and the 'backwoods feel' - but the cabins (contrary to the impression on the website) are right next to the main highway! So 3* for this bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
32.3 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,001 reviews
31.0 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
5.8 km away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
353 reviews
23.8 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
32.3 km away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Property: Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins
Address: Banff National Park | Box 3249, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Mountain Lodge was constructed in 1922 as one of eight Bungalow Camps built by Canadian Pacific Railway to promote tourism in the Rocky Mountains. Our Banff Park cabins and lodge offer guests exceptional accommodations and cuisine amidst the majestic Canadian Rockies. Whether its a romantic getaway, weekend retreat, family vacation or a Canadian Rockies wedding, Storm Mountain Lodge provides an ideal setting. Guests will experience delicious Canadian cuisine prepared with a dedication to organic ingredients and naturally raised Alberta meat and wild fish pared with Canada's finest selection of wine. All of our breads, desserts and breakfast pastries are baked daily on site. The Historic Log Cabins provide guests with amenities such as wood-burning fireplaces, antique soaker tubs and offer a cozy place to relax! Stay at our Banff lodge and make the most of your Canadian Rockies vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Storm Mountain Lodge And Cabins
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Banff
Storm Mountain Banff
Storm Mountain Lodge & Cabins Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing