We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Ranked #3 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and pleasant stay”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this property and found the location excellent and only a few minutes walk into the main street of Banff. The Inn was very clean and breakfasts were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anybody considering staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    125
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
54
268
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed one night in the Banff Boutique Inn. Our room was a king room in the coach house. It is close to the centre of Banff (5 minute drive) and also easily accessible to the hot springs and the Fairmont. The room is cosy and warm, the breakfast was delicious (home-made granola!) and the staff are friendly and welcoming. They had a special room rate, too which made it very cheap and affordable!

Great place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The location is about 7-9 mins walk to downtown, and the building is beautifully maintained. We stayed in the King w/ the private bathroom. THIS IS NOT A TRADITIONAL BED & BREAKFAST. You don't get to know the family - they were not present during our trip at all- the staff is very friendly though. You don't get to know any of the guests who are also staying, as there is not large communal breakfast. I knew before coming that the breakfast was continental, but I am thoroughly dissapointed in what was available. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate/ juice, toast/bagel, fruit, yogurt, and cereal. This was all fine the first morning or two, and after that I was tired of the blah, we are on holidays! The staff was very helpful, polite and kind. It felt more like a hotel, without the ammenities. Next time I will go to a real b&b for the experience, or I will go to a hotel for the pool/hotub & conveniences.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Great location just a short walk from the nightlife of Banff and an even shorter walk to the river. Elk were the first wildlife spotting of the weekend. Very nice room and very quiet especially considering how many people we saw at breakfast. It was nice to have my gluten free preference met. Thanks for a nice escape from the city!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank McBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, SC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Not sure I understand some of the other comments. I think of a hostel as a place where multiple people stay in a dorm-like environment. This is nothing like that. We had two different stays here, and both rooms were large, beautiful, and modern. We stayed in the king room on the main floor and had a huge room, bed, and private bathroom for an excellent rate. Later we stayed in the king room in the basement, which again had a huge room and bed. (One note: if you're very large or overweight, the shower and toilet area in this room are rather small, so you might want to pick another).

As for the location, it's an easy walk to town, and you can pick up a walking-biking trail right across the street. If you walk or bike one way for about a mile, you get to Bow River Falls. If you walk or bike the other way, you get to the Cave Basin area, which is currently closed, but the surrounding ecosystem is very interesting and you can continue biking or hiking to another waterfall. I can only conclude that those who didn't like the area are sedentary.

As for the view, I'm not sure what the person who said there is no view was expecting, but if you eat breakfast in the front room, you're looking right out the window at a giant snow-covered mountain. I certainly don't have that kind of view at home.

The rate was good, the staff was friendly to us, the manager was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed the granola and pumpkin muffins at breakfast.

Room Tip: King room in the basement is a good room but has a small bathroom. Preferred the king room on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RockHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a real jewel in Banff - beautiful, charming, very clean and spacious rooms. I loved the walk-in closet! A delightful breakfast (included!) and great service. A must stay!

Its a very short walk (5-10 minutes) into Banff, and on a quiet side street with big trees.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2011

A little like Hostel environment; very nice, warm friendly personnel. A large variety of good breakfast foods Comfortable dining and great rooms. Four of us spent 4 nights and loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
1.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.7 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,135 reviews
1.7 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
19.2 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.3 km away
Fairmont Banff Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof

Property: A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
Address: 121 Cave Avenue | Box 1870, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Banff Boutique Inn, a contemporary designer Inn; offering unique accommodation in Banff, Alberta. Whether you’re here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, A Banff Boutique Inn is the place to stay in the Rockies. We offer a healthy continental breakfast to start your day. Our breakfast includes; a selection of fresh seasonal fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, freshly baked bread, gluten free bread and cereal, homemade granola, Banff Roasting Company Fair-Trade Coffee and Banff Tea Co specialty loose-leaf teas. Our location is just a few minutes from the Bow River, offering an abundance of wildlife viewing opportunities. Just a few minutes walk to Cascade Gardens and The Cave and Basin. Private off-street parking is available behind the Inn; public transit is just around the corner. All guest rooms are uniquely decorated; include complimentary WIFI, and private en suite bathrooms. The Inn’s facilities are perfect for your rocky mountain wedding, reunion, anniversary or corporate retreat. At the Inn, we support local artists, offering our Inn as a “Locals Art Gallery”. You will find many unique pieces throughout the Inn available for purchase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Hotel Banff
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing