We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Strange Ride” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Drive

Tunnel Mountain Drive
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.61*
and up
Banff City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #13 of 75 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
659 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Strange Ride”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Wife and I were hoping to drive through Tunnel Mountain BUT there is no tunnel through the mountain. It is just the name of the road. Views of nature are good but was disappointed because expected something different (more exciting). For some this could be a nice afternoon drive.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    185
    59
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Got to be done if you're in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Great views of the town on a clear sunny day. Easy to find.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank smars12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lots of animals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We saw a lot of deer that would come right up to the car. I think the people in the hotels around there feed them on a regular basis. We were in Banff for 4 days and this is the only place we saw wildlife.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simplescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“snow capped mountain vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The spectacular views, the beauty and the fresh air.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan154985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Gorgeous drive and a nice quick hike to a magnificent view point.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Amazing views that are very close to the town. The hike up the trail just off the small parking lot was easy and the view was awesome. We even saw a wedding at the first view deck.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mslawik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tunnel Mountain Drive also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tunnel Mountain Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing