We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and it was fine. Quite a walk into downtown Banff but the room was good with fridge and microwave. 2 big beds , very comfortable the tired exterior belies the comfort of the rooms. Good Wifi, cheap, 3.10 dollars for the length of your stay .added bonus was a visit from a female elk, the animal type not a weird American cult figure.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

I feel guilty rating this 2 stars since the staff were so helpful, but..

The room was a problem.
- First and foremost, there was no air conditioning, no fan. We were so hot in our room that we couldn't sleep two nights running.
- Walls were very thin, we could hear our neighbors talking in their rooms.
- Our windows faced into a courtyard/lounge area, so we couldn't leave our curtains open most of the time.
- The lack of plugs meant I had to unplug the alarm clock to charge my camera.

Ok. Upsides:
- microwave and fridge
- wifi is free, works well
- friendly, helpful staff
- inexpensive for Banff

Also, Bumpers Inn is well away from the center of downtown Banff. That didn't bother us as we aren't into shopping or nightlife...but if you are, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHalvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I read lots of reviews before selecting this place. It is pretty much what the other reviews say, so I knew what I was getting into. I therefore cannot complain that I wasn't warned.

Banff is very expensive and I did not wish to lay down too much money for a room we would not be spending much time in, so we went the budget route. 'Budget' is a relative term. We paid around $150/night, which is not a budget room anywhere else, but qualifies as such in Banff, where nice rooms easily run from $300 to over $1,000/night.

The property is not dirty or poorly maintained. I was just surprised at the simplicity and lack of ammenities for the price.

If you are sensitive to heat, DO NOT stay here during the summer months. The rooms only have windows opening on the central courtyard, while only offering the front door on the opposite side of the room. Since the property sits next to a mosquito-infested forest, you don't dare leave the door open except to run in or out and slam it back shut. There is therefore no ability to obtain cross-draft ventilation. There is no A/C. So, on a warm evening, you're going to sweat as you lay down to sleep. We were warm our first night, but then it cooled off for the second night and was not too bad.

The people who run the place are very friendly and accomodating, so no complaints there. I think they have done the best they can do with the property in its existing condition.

Everything in the room was clean and maintained. Our room had a microwave and refrigerator that both worked fine.

The rules about keeping quiet hours are strict and appreciated, as you will need to keep your windows to the courtyard open at night to be able to sleep in the summer.

There is no breakfast offered, no pool, no fitness center, no business center.

The property is on the far end of town away from most of the shopping and other attractions. This can be good or bad, depending on your preferences.

The Bumpers restaurant right next door was very good. I'll write a separate review about that place.

Bottom line, Bumpers Inn is fine if you need to travel on a budget and don't mind being a bit warm on a summer night. But if you can spend more, you would be well advised to do so.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the street side, it may avoid some of the problems with mosquitoes when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaMike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed 2 night here in a different room each time and had a pleasant experience both times. The rooms were basic, but they had that cottage type feel to it, as well as all the necessities (microwave, coffee, big screen tv, etc.). We went in late spring so we got a pretty good deal. For the price we paid (85+ tax) I would have to say that we got our money's worth compared to other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthew e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Definitely budget accommodation. Nothing fancy about the place, but not much to complain about either. What I liked: Large room with a very high ceiling (probably only 2nd floor rooms have this), equipped with fridge and microwave, clean, comfortable, large new flat screen TV, quiet location, and little noise from neighbouring rooms. I also liked that each room has a door leading either to a balcony or ground level in the inner court yard. The large spruce trees in the middle of the court yard host a family of red squirrels, whose antics can amuse one for hours - please keep the squirrels! Location is at the end of the hotel strip in Banff, but only 10 minutes to walk downtown along Banff avenue. Price for 5 nights was probably less than one night at the Banff Springs and other hotels. What could be better: rooms too hot - every though weather was cold and I had two windows wide open I couldn't quite get the room to cool off at night. Also, internet service went out at least twice in the four evenings I was there, and the front desk staff seemed powerless to do anything about it. Why is that hotels find it so hard to maintain constant wireless internet while most of us maintain our home wireless networks with few if any interruptions?!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MtSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We book a Queen Room for a simple 2 nights stay. The room is basic but if you want a cheap place to sleep then it is a good choice.

* check-in time is before 11pm. You have to make a call and get the key from a safe box if you arrive after 11pm.
* wifi is not free. it charges $3, one time charge though.
* location is good. enough parking space.
* staff is friendly.
* room is basic with a mini fridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Bumpers Inn was a very good choice for our overnight stay in Banff. It is at the far end of hotel row, which meant it was very quiet. We walked into "downtown" to stretch our legs, which took all of 10 minutes. The room was large with windows that opened into a central courtyard. King sized bed. Clean and well kept. I didn't notice that there were no bath towels until I was getting out of the shower (just an oversight on the part of the cleaning staff, I'm sure) and $15 was taken off our bill when I mentioned that at checkout. I would recommend Bumpers Inn for pleasant and reasonably priced accommodation in Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#31 of 33 in Banff
1,222 reviews
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
1.2 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $87 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff
Bumpers Inn Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing