We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable place in Banff”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Goettingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable place in Banff”
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This motel is a really basic place to stay in Banff. Affordable, clean, wifi included. A little bit weird was that we had to check in at the "Inns of Banff" on the opposite side of the street. But the staff was really nice. So: nothing to complain. If you want to you could even use the jacuzzi / pool in "Inns of Banff".

  • Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maui-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    62
    16
    6
See reviews for
29
94
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorion, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We spent 4 nights at Bumpers Inn in a Standard King room. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable but if you are looking for more than just the basics, I'd suggest another hotel. The room is not very spacious and has limited storage space for clothing. Half the electrical outlets in our room did not work. Although the hotel cant really be blamed, the town cut off water to the inn on 2 of the 4 days we spent there. It was dissapointing to arrive after a long day travelling to find no hot water. On one of the days we spent there, we arrived back at the inn to find the room had not been made up. Someone had entered th room and changed a used water glass, but the beds were not made and we had damp towels to contend with. I suppose the room rate is at the bottom end of Banff's accomodation facilities but at $200/night it is not cheap, and you get no extras. There never seemed to be any staff around, and we had to walk across the street to the Inns of Banff to check in and out, and to use the pool and business centre. The Wi-Fi on the second floor of Bumpers was spotty at best, and very slow. The location of the Inn is at the far end of Banff Avenue closest to the Trans Canada, but there are nearby restaurants, and a free bus pass to use the Roam public transit. In conclusiuon the Inn was clean and quiet, but basic and not a great value for the price

Room Tip: Second floor rooms accessible only by staircases, which can be problematic if you have mobility issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allora, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Booked this hotel on the internet and when we arrived were disappointed. The room was only suitable for one bed but somehow that fitted two beds which may for a cramped room. The fittings were outdated and needs a face lift. The noise from other rooms was very loud and it would appear that there is no sound proofing in the building. Banff is expensive place to stay but this hotel is over priced.

  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel2153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The hotel is set at the end of the town. Nice surroundings and less busy, but a long walk to the town center. Rooms are spacious and quiet, but all rooms face the center patio, instead of the surrounding forests. The beds are good. All second floor rooms have a semi-private balcony and first floor rooms have walk out patio space. The office is permanently closed and is managed by the office of the hotel across the street. Some of the stuff in the office are not helpful, which is uncommon in Canadian hotels. We arrived around noon. We were told that the rooms won't be ready until 4. The stuff were not enthusiastic about storing our bags and showed us a non-functional bathroom to use.

Room Tip: Request for first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2015

a nice central location clean , agreat place to stay on a busy sight seeing schedule with access to swimming pool and also to transportation also patio easy access. rooms were cleaned daily at the same time ,friendly always willing to help

Room Tip: ground floors most convienient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A4434UJpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

When you need cheap, you end up compromising. Sometimes, it’s loud air conditioning, sometimes it’s a CRT television instead of a flat screen. Other times, it’s simple inconvenience. Bumper’s Inn is the latter. Banff is small, so even though Bumper’s is nearly on the edge of it, it’s still only minutes to downtown. That’s not really the issue. No, the issue with Bumper’s Inn is that it doesn’t have a front office. Nope, none whatsoever. So how do you check in? Well, as it turns out, Bumpers Inn was bought out by the hotel across the street. Ergo, you have to walk about a minute across a busy street to another building in order to check in and out. Yes, frustrating. Oh, and there appears to be no air-conditioning…none. But like I've said with numerous reviews regarding my recent vacation, it’s cheap. It’s really cheap. So how can we complain? The beds were comfortable. We had an admirable selection of cable channels. And there were two doors to our room. No, not like an air lock or something, one leading from the front, the other leading to a bizarre shared patio out back I doubt anybody used. It also allowed us a shortcut to our car. In fact, the only annoying aspect of Bumpers is that bizarre aspect of closing their front office. I mean would it kill them to put one person in that building? So yeah, inexpensive, comfortable if it doesn’t get too warm, and so forgettable, you’ll have trouble recalling details two months later. Yup, already forgotten. Would I go back? Probably, if it remains as cheap.

  • Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrinceGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Quiet, clean, comfy beds. Check in is across Banff Ave, which isn't convenient at all. On the outskirts. Take the free bus into town. Had to ask for an extra towel for our daughter, even though the booking was for 3.

Stayed July 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nichole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,179 reviews
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
751 reviews
0.4 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.5 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
806 reviews
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff
Bumpers Inn Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing