We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Canadian Getaway”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This was our first time in Canada and we stayed at Bumpers Inn - the room was wonderful and clean and the inn is within a little Banff town where everything is basically within walking distance. The only thing we really would've liked was having an option for breakfast at the inn but other than that, everything was great! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the bumpers inn, despite all the negative reviews. I thought it was clean, ideal and local to the town itself (within 20 minutes walk to town centre).
It is under the same business umbrella as the 'Inns in Banff' which is just opposite bumpers. There you can use their facilities including the swimming pool and free bus pass which is given on arrival.

I think it's limited as a motel as it is just the rooms, which have a microwave, fridge and tv. There is nothing else at the motel apart from a central communal outside area for people to sit.
Having saying that this added to its quiet serene and solitary nature close to the woods. I felt it's quiet ambiance added to its appeal to be alone and to feel part of the Rocky Mountains. Personally I prefer this feeling rather than a rich and expensive hotel close to the town centre onlooking a busy road..

The room itself was spacious, with great sized beds. It was clean and had high wooden cabin style ceilings, which ours also had a balcony onlooking the central communal grass/tree area.
The downsides were probably the price for the most part. I don't think the motel was worth the price we paid, however because of its close connection with the hotel across the road, you are well looked after.

Overall I enjoyed my stay, which as motels go I think it was very clean and secure.
Like I say it wasn't magnificent, it was basic and didn't have much else apart from the basics, but the basics were efficient and spotless.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew_Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is an old run down motel. And they get over $200 a night for it.
There were pubic hairs in the bathtub. It smells old. It's stuffy in the room.
They give you a fan but you can't open windows because there's a walkway
right outside the room. Only saving grace was the bed was comfortable.
But we made sure & threw the bedspread off of the bed, weren't sure the
last time it was clean. The staff at check in across the street were very
friendly. But would Never stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This place is definitely a motel. No air conditioning. Uncomfortable bed and crappy pillows. Not great service: room service didn't replace coffee or soap that had run out and the front desk seemed under-staffed. For how much the nightly rate was, I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Place is in good location. And that is all there is positive with a very friendly staff.
Came in room and found previous occupants hairs in bathroom, shower was clogged, room had probably not been cleaned. Towels had ALL to be changed. Room was never cleaned during stay.
Hotel facilities are worn out, not maintained.
All of that for a convenient 150+ CAD/night.
Not recommended at all!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Uncomfortable bed & pillows, a stifling hot room (even with the windows open & fan going - there is no aircon), stains on the bathroom floor (looked like either blood or nail polish), a flimsy door lock (someone entered while we were out) and an extremely long wait to check in and check out (with rude staff) cancelled out any apparent "bargain" in staying at the Bumpers Inn. Next time will pay more and stay at a different Banff hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ladame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for amenities (i.e. air conditioning, iron, ironing board) this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean hotel and a place to lay your head to rest, then you'll be fine. Lite on amenities and flare, but a good place to just sleep and get ready for the day ahead.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mmoreland99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#31 of 33 in Banff
1,222 reviews
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
801 reviews
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
1.2 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: $87 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff
Bumpers Inn Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing