We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Bumpers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bumpers Inn
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Inn”
Reviewed 10 October 2016

While coming for a ski vacation to Banff, Bumpers Inn was the perfect place to stay! Out of all the hotels I have stayed in while travelling to Banff, Bumpers Inn provided us a romantic ski getway in their cozy quiet, clean, and quaint rooms. For the price it is a great bargain and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Cannot hear neighbors on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinFLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    65
    62
    16
    6
See reviews for
29
94
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Bumpers in during the first part of a weeklong Canadian Rockies trip. The location was excellent! Right on Banff Ave, but not so close that you were in among all the noise and people. We had rented a car, but they do offer trips on the Banff shuttle to the locations you would want to go if you did not. The hotel admittedly did not make a great first impression visually, one of the lightbulbs was out and a couple of blinds slats were broken, but there was a wonderful stand fan in the closet that provided a great deal of comfort and everything was impeccably clean! The bed was the most comfortable we had during our entire trip, and the bathroom was large and the shower pressure was perfect! I would recommend the hotel, despite it's somewhat lackluster appearance at first sigh, it was clean, comfy, ideally located, and the staff were friendly!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This was our first time in Canada and we stayed at Bumpers Inn - the room was wonderful and clean and the inn is within a little Banff town where everything is basically within walking distance. The only thing we really would've liked was having an option for breakfast at the inn but other than that, everything was great! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the bumpers inn, despite all the negative reviews. I thought it was clean, ideal and local to the town itself (within 20 minutes walk to town centre).
It is under the same business umbrella as the 'Inns in Banff' which is just opposite bumpers. There you can use their facilities including the swimming pool and free bus pass which is given on arrival.

I think it's limited as a motel as it is just the rooms, which have a microwave, fridge and tv. There is nothing else at the motel apart from a central communal outside area for people to sit.
Having saying that this added to its quiet serene and solitary nature close to the woods. I felt it's quiet ambiance added to its appeal to be alone and to feel part of the Rocky Mountains. Personally I prefer this feeling rather than a rich and expensive hotel close to the town centre onlooking a busy road..

The room itself was spacious, with great sized beds. It was clean and had high wooden cabin style ceilings, which ours also had a balcony onlooking the central communal grass/tree area.
The downsides were probably the price for the most part. I don't think the motel was worth the price we paid, however because of its close connection with the hotel across the road, you are well looked after.

Overall I enjoyed my stay, which as motels go I think it was very clean and secure.
Like I say it wasn't magnificent, it was basic and didn't have much else apart from the basics, but the basics were efficient and spotless.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This is an old run down motel. And they get over $200 a night for it.
There were pubic hairs in the bathtub. It smells old. It's stuffy in the room.
They give you a fan but you can't open windows because there's a walkway
right outside the room. Only saving grace was the bed was comfortable.
But we made sure & threw the bedspread off of the bed, weren't sure the
last time it was clean. The staff at check in across the street were very
friendly. But would Never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This place is definitely a motel. No air conditioning. Uncomfortable bed and crappy pillows. Not great service: room service didn't replace coffee or soap that had run out and the front desk seemed under-staffed. For how much the nightly rate was, I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Place is in good location. And that is all there is positive with a very friendly staff.
Came in room and found previous occupants hairs in bathroom, shower was clogged, room had probably not been cleaned. Towels had ALL to be changed. Room was never cleaned during stay.
Hotel facilities are worn out, not maintained.
All of that for a convenient 150+ CAD/night.
Not recommended at all!

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,179 reviews
1.6 km away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
751 reviews
0.4 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.5 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
806 reviews
0.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumpers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumpers Inn

Property: Bumpers Inn
Address: 250 Marmot Cres, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bumpers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for the budget conscious traveler looking for an Inn with a cozy mountain feel. Bumpers is situated in a peaceful location at the start of Banff Avenue, surrounded on two sides by forest with the majestic Cascade Mountain in the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bumpers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bumpers Hotel Banff
Bumpers Motel Banff
Bumpers Inn Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing