We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann
Georgia

Beautiful new hotel with good amenities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 24, 2024via mobile
New clean and modern hotel. My room had a balcony overlooking the mountains and city. Also included a voucher for bus for 3 days (bus stop right across the street) and coffee to use with french press in room. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is also included and they let me keep my car there the afternoon after I checked out to shop in town.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$730
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$730
1.5 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Banff Caribou Lodge Winter
C$625
C$564
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$564
0.4 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
AFrameExteriorSummerDusk mPNXJNk
C$399
C$384
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$549
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$549
2.3 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$619
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$619
0.2 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
C$481
C$470
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$470
21.1 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Fairmont
    C$1,349
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Pool
Restaurant
The Fox Hotel and Suites Exterior Winter
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$621
  • Expedia.com
    C$649
0.6 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$442
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$999
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Banff
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
13
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
13
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2024

The hotel looks great and has fantastic facilities, plus it's in a nice location. However, there are some things that need fixing. Unfortunately, we had trouble sleeping for both nights because of the noisy fan heating system in our room. It was so bad that we had to cancel our skiing plans on the last day because we were too tired. We told the reception staff about it, but they didn't do anything about it at first. The problem was known since before, the installation in the house was not yet adjusted. Only after we followed up they offer us 75 CAD as compensation.
The hotel layout is confusing because it's made up of different buildings on different levels. There aren't enough signs to help you find your way around, especially when you're trying to get to places like the ski locker, garage, or reception area.
The ski lockers have combination locks that are tricky to use. The instructions are too long, and it's hard to see in the poorly lit space with small writing. They definitely need to improve that.
Overall, the Canoe Hotel has the potential to be a four-star place, but they need to fix these problems first. Despite its good points, these issues really let it down.

Room tip: Säkerställ buller på värmesystem i rummet
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024 via mobile

A fabulous brand new hotel. Super friendly staff mainly English and Australian. Sudden Sally is a great breakfast restaurant offering a good choice. Rooms are clean and well equipped with all brand new amenities. Free parking is available and a regular shuttle bus runs into beautiful Banff town centre. The hotel will be even better when the spa opens this summer

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I7651PVdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 9, 2024 via mobile

A really nice hotel on the quiet side of town. The rooms are big, the food is divine, and people are friendly. The beds were very comfortable, they had nice soap/shampoo and the room stayed warm. We loved that all the buildings were connected by a passageway so it was easy to get to the lobby. Buses/shuttles were close and getting to town was a 10-15min walk. The ski place they recommended delivered our gear to the hotel.

We would stay here in a heartbeat again. Bravo on a beautiful hotel!

Room tip: The pool wasn’t ready yet but should open soon. Parking and food are both easy.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lstuckmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2024

What a gorgeous new hotel! Absolutely squeaky clean, beautifully decorated and a wonderful Rocky Mt ambience.
We arrived quite late after being involved in a massive traffic pile-up on the highway from Calgary. There was only one receptionist working, because her colleagues had also been affected by the terrible roads - but she was efficient and pleasant to everyone. We were in C block which is the furtherest back from the road and there was plenty of covered parking for those rooms. We were offered a paid upgrade to a view room but as the weather was going to be pretty grim we decided to stick with the one we had which faced the forest and a view of D block under construction (which was quite interesting really, lol) I have seen the views of Banff many times, but if you are new to the place - a view room might be worth it.
The hotel is trying to save on waste, so you are handed a little bag with your tea and coffee requirements and there is a kettle and pour-over coffee pot in the room.
The room we had which was a Superior King was huge and perfect. Lovely walk in shower in the bathroom and a small kitchenette area with (tiny) fridge, microwave and sink. As well as the King bed there was a small table and two chairs and a sleeper couch. The fireplace was a delight on such a cold weekend. There is a massive balcony with two chairs, but it was covered in a foot of snow while we were there. I can't say too many good things about the hotel room - it was one of the best I have stayed in for years.
I ate breakfast at Sudden Sally on one day while my husband was busy at his conference at another hotel. It was delicious, and this is a good place to say that all the staff at Hotel Canoe are very pleasant and engaging.
The major downside of the otherwise perfect hotel is its distance from the downtown core of Banff. While it is pleasant to be surrounded by trees and nature it is a long walk (probably about 25 minutes) to the start of the downtown. The hotel gives you bus passes which is a nice perk and we used them occasionally - although it was very cold to be hanging around waiting for a bus to come along on this visit.
The "hot pools" are not yet open.
Overall - a wonderful addition to the hotels in Banff. We hope to return when the weather is a little better.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PigaPiga60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 10, 2024

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The view from our room was amazing, nothing in the way in viewing the mountains. Front Desk was efficient and very friendly on both instances of interacting with them.

The coffee and hot chocolate we got upon check in was fantastic.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bgmwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews