We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$666
Hotels.com
C$899
Fully refundable before Thu, Jun 6
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
C$600
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
BeenThere01
Ottawa, Canada

Lovely stay! Beautiful views!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
Stayed at this brand new hotel for 4 nights. Check-in was a breeze with very friendly staff.

We stayed in a Mountain View King Suite which we truly recommend. The view is spectacular and it’s a must this time of year especially if you want to enjoy some time on the balcony in the afternoons with the warm sun! We spent 2-3 hours on the balcony when the sun was out and it was very enjoyable. Otherwise, the other rooms face east and you get zero sun.

Room was beautiful, bed was a little hard we thought. 6 pillows on our King Bed but they are all the same. Way too thick and too hard so sleeping on them wasn’t pleasant. I’d recommend offering different pillow’s especially when there are six of them.

This hotel is located at the start of Banff avenue and is a 15min walk to the center of town but there are multiple dining options all the way up including a gas station/convenience store and A&W restaurant across the street. The Roam bus has a stop right in front of the hotel.

All in all, lovely stay and we would definitely book this hotel again!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$639
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$639
  • Agoda.com
    C$625
  • Expedia.com
    C$639
1.5 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Booking.com
C$491
  • Hotels.com
    C$509
  • Agoda.com
    C$454
  • Expedia.com
    C$509
2.3 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Fox Hotel and Suites Exterior Winter
Booking.com
C$483
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$499
  • Priceline
    C$407
  • Expedia.com
    C$499
0.6 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$899
  • Hotels.com
    C$899
  • Vio.com
    C$841
  • Priceline
    C$899
3.8 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$352
  • Priceline
    C$301
  • Vio.com
    C$298
  • Hotels.com
    C$369
2.1 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$321
C$310
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$321
  • Hotels.com
    C$321
  • Priceline
    C$310
21.1 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
C$1,046
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,073
  • Priceline
    C$536
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,073
1.1 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fairmont
C$3,649
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$3,649
  • travelup.com
    C$1,573
  • Priceline
    C$3,649
2.4 km from Hotel Canoe & Suites
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Banff
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
3
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2024

Just spent 2 days at the new Canoe, we had a nice stay. Nothing beats a brand new hotel and being literally 1 of the first people to stay in a room. The free bus passes was a nice bonus and room coffee was a different twist, took some time to get ready but hey your on a holiday why rush. The only thing that kind of through us off was not having streaming access to the brand new smart tv's, it was blocked. Only option was cable tv so we had to watch netflex on our ipad. Other then that the we had a very good stay. We stayed in C block 8th floor (kind of sounds like a prison...ha) Highly recommend a mountain view room on 8th/9thfloor. Laying in bed after a day of hiking sipping a glass of wine watching the sunset over the mountains are amazing. Cheers

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCamerons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 24, 2024

Great hotel which is brand new. We stayed with our dog.

Positives:
Very clean
Really nice staff
Provided bed etc for our dog
Restaurant downstairs was really good
Parking is excellent
Really liked the cleaning products in the bathroom

Negatives:
Heater was very noisy and kept waking us up despite using ear plugs. This really needs sorting out.

Overall if they fix the noisy heater this hotel would be faultless!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrotting714069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 24, 2024 via mobile

New clean and modern hotel. My room had a balcony overlooking the mountains and city. Also included a voucher for bus for 3 days (bus stop right across the street) and coffee to use with french press in room. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking is also included and they let me keep my car there the afternoon after I checked out to shop in town.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank S2935MDannd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 17, 2024

The hotel looks great and has fantastic facilities, plus it's in a nice location. However, there are some things that need fixing. Unfortunately, we had trouble sleeping for both nights because of the noisy fan heating system in our room. It was so bad that we had to cancel our skiing plans on the last day because we were too tired. We told the reception staff about it, but they didn't do anything about it at first. The problem was known since before, the installation in the house was not yet adjusted. Only after we followed up they offer us 75 CAD as compensation.
The hotel layout is confusing because it's made up of different buildings on different levels. There aren't enough signs to help you find your way around, especially when you're trying to get to places like the ski locker, garage, or reception area.
The ski lockers have combination locks that are tricky to use. The instructions are too long, and it's hard to see in the poorly lit space with small writing. They definitely need to improve that.
Overall, the Canoe Hotel has the potential to be a four-star place, but they need to fix these problems first. Despite its good points, these issues really let it down.

Room tip: Säkerställ buller på värmesystem i rummet
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2024 via mobile

A fabulous brand new hotel. Super friendly staff mainly English and Australian. Sudden Sally is a great breakfast restaurant offering a good choice. Rooms are clean and well equipped with all brand new amenities. Free parking is available and a regular shuttle bus runs into beautiful Banff town centre. The hotel will be even better when the spa opens this summer

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I7651PVdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews