We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Way to Experience the Canadian Rockies”

Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours
Ranked #13 of 29 Tours in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some the best known scenery on Earth is concentrated in a set of parks in the Canadian Rockies.Straddling the continental divide of Alberta and BC, Canadian Rockies Alpine is well situated to discover and explore this UNESCO World Heritage site.Walks leave daily,and are led by a licensed, insured park guide.Private, multi day and custom outings are available upon request.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Way to Experience the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My husband and I arranged to spend 3 days hiking with Dave Honeyman of Canadian Rockies Alpine. He is a certified hiking guide with the Canadian National Parks and lives in Banff. We both agreed it was the highlight of our 8 day vacation. We hiked 12 miles each day - around Lake Louise and the Bee Hive, Emerald Lake, Takkakaw and Laughing Falls and up above the trees to Helen Lake where the wildflowers were at peak color. Not only was the scenery incredibly beautiful, but Dave shared the history of the railroads and the settling of Canada, information about the National Parks in Canada, flora, fauna, animals, and the challenges of managing the forests, rising tourism and their impact on the wildlife. We were fascinated by all of it - so much so that we are trying to plan another trip next year with this group.

Being from San Antonio, Texas - almost at sea level- Dave was very considerate of our adjustment to the altitude and our ability and planned the 3 days of hiking so that we wouldn't be completely sore and worn out. We bought sandwiches for lunch and each day, Dave planned the hikes to arrive at a lunch spot with a spectacular view. He also planned the hikes to avoid weather and crowds. Best advice is to start early! We had most hikes all to ourselves!

Along the way to the trailhead, we would stop to view another waterfall or other historical site. After 3 days of hiking, before we left for Jasper, he circled the highlights to see or do along the way.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Thx so much for taking time to post your memories and photos!!
Hope to see you again here next season for a backcountry lodge adventure and even more guided exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hikes with Dave”
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We did two all day hikes with Dave around Lake Morraine and Emerald Lake in June 2016. He will tailor the hike to your needs. We did 10 or 11 miles each day and the vistas were incredible. Dave knows all the trails and wildlife and plants and flowers. We packed small lunches and had incredible views while we ate at great scenic locations that Dave took us to. Saw a marmot and babies running around. Chipmunks would approach us for food, but you can't feed them.
We also came within 30' of a large brown bear, probably a grizzly, above Emerald Lake. Dave whistled and clapped his hands on the trail as we ascended and then told us to stop. He saw a large movement in the brush up ahead. A few seconds later he whispered, "There," and pointed into the forest. Thru young pines and some brush, we saw a large brown shape strolling downhill about 30 feet away, parallel to the trail. It looked 7 feet long and 4 foot at the shoulder. We were still, and then it stopped and looked at us. I did get a shot of fear then. It just made an unfriendly jerk of the head in our direction and continued stolling down the hill. It was something else to see it that close. Could have been on us in a second. Dave had his large pepper spray but... Dave said he was glad we didn't take off running. it never entered my mind, I just wanted to follow Dave's lead. Thanks Dave!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank rt808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Aloha and thx for taking time to share some of your experiences. We really did see a lot in a short period of time. Glad to hear that your accommodation worked out so well also. Sure hope to see you over this way again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hike to the top of Beehive was wonderful!”
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We had one day to spend hiking in Lake Louise and I am so glad we hired Dave Honeyman to guide us. We were a group of five adults and we spent 6-7 hours hiking to the top of Big Beehive and then making our way back down to the shores of Lake Louise. The scenery was spectacular, the hiking a challenge but fine for those ready for an intermediate level hike. Dave was just fantastic. He taught us about hiking technique and much about the flora and fauna of the area. We highly recommend his services.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank CMTRLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Thx for these kind words, it really was a fun day for me too. Hoe to see you in the Rockies again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing scenery, really knowledgeable guide”
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Dave took us out for a day hike in Banff. It was just the 3 of us and it was great to have such a personalised experience. Dave knew the best places to go and gave us some great tips for hiking in the snow, something we had not done before. He was really knowledgable about the wildlife, fauna and the National Park in general. It was a great day out, we saw some beautiful scenery and we highly recommend hiking with Dave.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Small custom groups like yours are my personal favourite, glad your time here was memorable. Please keep us in mind for the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Canadian Rockies were amazing and Dave made our holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Dave took me and my friend on a guided hike near Banff and also on a drive between Banff and the Athabasca Glacier, stopping at various places on the way. We had a fantastic two days and I cannot speak highly enough of Dave: he was incredibly knowledgeable about the local area and wildlife and showed us waterfalls and other stunning beauty spots that we would never have found by ourselves. Dave was so helpful (he arranged our glacier walk for us in advance) as well as being great company with lots of interesting tales (and, for someone who desperately wanted to see a bear, he even managed to find us three from a safe distance!)!

Dave really made our holiday to Canada and we can't wait to come back!

Jen (London)

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
One of the great things about living here in the best National Park in Canada is sharing it with visitors from abroad. Glad everything worked out the way you wanted. Hope to see you both over this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing