We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide to lead you through the Canadian Rockies”

Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours
Ranked #13 of 29 Tours in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some the best known scenery on Earth is concentrated in a set of parks in the Canadian Rockies.Straddling the continental divide of Alberta and BC, Canadian Rockies Alpine is well situated to discover and explore this UNESCO World Heritage site.Walks leave daily,and are led by a licensed, insured park guide.Private, multi day and custom outings are available upon request.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great guide to lead you through the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We visited the Rockies in late August. We wanted to do some hiking on our own but we also wanted to have an experienced guide to show us the places that tourist typically don't get to. We found Dave online and I must say we are so pleased with our experience.
Dave promptly responded to my emails and worked with us on the dates based on where we would be staying. He was able to maximize our time out on the trails. All in all we spent a total of two days with an excellent guide who was easy to talk with. We leaned so much about the region and Dave also gave us great suggestions on things to do and see when we were not with him. He even gave us great suggestions on where to dine. We were able to cover so much ground and get a true appreciation for the Rocky Mountains . It was a wonderful experience. we highly recommend Dave if you are looking for someone to guide you through the Rockies.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Ha-ha, well there you go, glad you made it back to Pennsylvania ok. Thx Kathleen for taking the time to capture a few memories of your time here in our mountain parks. The two of you really did accomplish a lot. All the best and thanks for the Yoho (awesome) response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duesseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Excellent Guide”
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Our family (with 2 teenage kids) had a day hiking around Lake Louise with Dave. It was brilliant! We could totally relax knowing we were in excellent hands. Dave's local expert knowledge is invaluable. He knew just what to do to avoid the crowds and minimise the pain! He kept our two teens engaged and interested for 5 hours which is saying something!! Having Dave to lead us meant we could relax and enjoy the hike on a beautiful sunny day. Just wished we had longer so we could have done more! Dave will happily tailor the hike to suit your needs. He was relaxed, knowledgable and organised. 5 Stars all the way!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 12 August 2016
Thank you for the review. Everything did work out very well, especially given the throngs in the valley below. Hope to see you again sometime soon for a multi day outing with your family. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Could't have asked for a better guide !”
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My wife and I, with our two teenage boys (aged 13 and 15) booked Dave for a full day hike based around Lake Louise. We started early and Dave led us to Lake Agnes, then up to the Big Beehive and back through a picturesque glacial valley before the final stretch along Lake Louise itself. We are not particularly experienced hikers and Dave tailored our trip and pace perfectly. His knowledge of the terrain, geography and history of the area was outstanding and he was also a pleasure to spend time with. We would recommend him wholeheartedly and will certainly book him again if we are lucky enough to come back.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank AdamH-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Yes, that really was a memorable day. Nothing like beating the crowds and having lunch on a mountain top. It was especially pleasurable for me to share this experience with not only yourselves but with your boys. Lucky guys!! Thx again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Way to Experience the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My husband and I arranged to spend 3 days hiking with Dave Honeyman of Canadian Rockies Alpine. He is a certified hiking guide with the Canadian National Parks and lives in Banff. We both agreed it was the highlight of our 8 day vacation. We hiked 12 miles each day - around Lake Louise and the Bee Hive, Emerald Lake, Takkakaw and Laughing Falls and up above the trees to Helen Lake where the wildflowers were at peak color. Not only was the scenery incredibly beautiful, but Dave shared the history of the railroads and the settling of Canada, information about the National Parks in Canada, flora, fauna, animals, and the challenges of managing the forests, rising tourism and their impact on the wildlife. We were fascinated by all of it - so much so that we are trying to plan another trip next year with this group.

Being from San Antonio, Texas - almost at sea level- Dave was very considerate of our adjustment to the altitude and our ability and planned the 3 days of hiking so that we wouldn't be completely sore and worn out. We bought sandwiches for lunch and each day, Dave planned the hikes to arrive at a lunch spot with a spectacular view. He also planned the hikes to avoid weather and crowds. Best advice is to start early! We had most hikes all to ourselves!

Along the way to the trailhead, we would stop to view another waterfall or other historical site. After 3 days of hiking, before we left for Jasper, he circled the highlights to see or do along the way.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Thx so much for taking time to post your memories and photos!!
Hope to see you again here next season for a backcountry lodge adventure and even more guided exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hikes with Dave”
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We did two all day hikes with Dave around Lake Morraine and Emerald Lake in June 2016. He will tailor the hike to your needs. We did 10 or 11 miles each day and the vistas were incredible. Dave knows all the trails and wildlife and plants and flowers. We packed small lunches and had incredible views while we ate at great scenic locations that Dave took us to. Saw a marmot and babies running around. Chipmunks would approach us for food, but you can't feed them.
We also came within 30' of a large brown bear, probably a grizzly, above Emerald Lake. Dave whistled and clapped his hands on the trail as we ascended and then told us to stop. He saw a large movement in the brush up ahead. A few seconds later he whispered, "There," and pointed into the forest. Thru young pines and some brush, we saw a large brown shape strolling downhill about 30 feet away, parallel to the trail. It looked 7 feet long and 4 foot at the shoulder. We were still, and then it stopped and looked at us. I did get a shot of fear then. It just made an unfriendly jerk of the head in our direction and continued stolling down the hill. It was something else to see it that close. Could have been on us in a second. Dave had his large pepper spray but... Dave said he was glad we didn't take off running. it never entered my mind, I just wanted to follow Dave's lead. Thanks Dave!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank rt808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 July 2016
Aloha and thx for taking time to share some of your experiences. We really did see a lot in a short period of time. Glad to hear that your accommodation worked out so well also. Sure hope to see you over this way again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing