We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 2 weeks guided by Dave....”

Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours
Ranked #13 of 29 Tours in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some the best known scenery on Earth is concentrated in a set of parks in the Canadian Rockies.Straddling the continental divide of Alberta and BC, Canadian Rockies Alpine is well situated to discover and explore this UNESCO World Heritage site.Walks leave daily,and are led by a licensed, insured park guide.Private, multi day and custom outings are available upon request.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous 2 weeks guided by Dave....”
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Just returned from Canada having spent 2 weeks on an HF Holiday in the Rockies. Dave H guided our group throughout, and it quickly became evident that his local knowledge and vast experience was key to making this holiday one of the best ever! Despite the varying abilities of our (somewhat grey-haired!) group, Dave tailored each day to suit everyone. We always managed a great day out ,even if the weather wasn't always kind!! His professionalism and humour is such that we will seek him out again.....

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Thank you folks for the kind words and I'm glad to see you made it home unscathed by the looks of it. It was especially nice to get you up a couple of our famous walk up trekking peaks and to achieve not only a summit with you (Indian Ridge) in Jasper but also with your wife and yourself as well (Mount Fairview) during our days in Lake Louise.
We really did have a wonderful tour with lots of unique experiences and a really great group. Hope to host you over this way again soon. Until then ... happy trails!!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a Guide, you've found one!”
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I met Dave when I was on a trip to the Canadian Rockies with HF Holidays. He is sensitive, thoughtful and tactful as well as being very knowledgeable about the mountains, lakes, flora and fauna. He gave me some useful mountain walking tips as I am not quite as fit as I should be. He made our trip very memorable and enjoyable, so look no further if you want a few outings tailor made to your needs and capabilities.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Alicearmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 26 September 2016
Thank you for the thumbs up Alicearmy! We really did a have a great two week holiday and sure did see a lot. With a dusting of snow in the peaks and the fall colours, I'm sure you will have lots of pics to remember your time here. The grizzly bears on the last day while having lunch in Kananaskis was a special treat.
All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great guide to lead you through the Canadian Rockies”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We visited the Rockies in late August. We wanted to do some hiking on our own but we also wanted to have an experienced guide to show us the places that tourist typically don't get to. We found Dave online and I must say we are so pleased with our experience.
Dave promptly responded to my emails and worked with us on the dates based on where we would be staying. He was able to maximize our time out on the trails. All in all we spent a total of two days with an excellent guide who was easy to talk with. We leaned so much about the region and Dave also gave us great suggestions on things to do and see when we were not with him. He even gave us great suggestions on where to dine. We were able to cover so much ground and get a true appreciation for the Rocky Mountains . It was a wonderful experience. we highly recommend Dave if you are looking for someone to guide you through the Rockies.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Ha-ha, well there you go, glad you made it back to Pennsylvania ok. Thx Kathleen for taking the time to capture a few memories of your time here in our mountain parks. The two of you really did accomplish a lot. All the best and thanks for the Yoho (awesome) response!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Excellent Guide”
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Our family (with 2 teenage kids) had a day hiking around Lake Louise with Dave. It was brilliant! We could totally relax knowing we were in excellent hands. Dave's local expert knowledge is invaluable. He knew just what to do to avoid the crowds and minimise the pain! He kept our two teens engaged and interested for 5 hours which is saying something!! Having Dave to lead us meant we could relax and enjoy the hike on a beautiful sunny day. Just wished we had longer so we could have done more! Dave will happily tailor the hike to suit your needs. He was relaxed, knowledgable and organised. 5 Stars all the way!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 12 August 2016
Thank you for the review. Everything did work out very well, especially given the throngs in the valley below. Hope to see you again sometime soon for a multi day outing with your family. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Could't have asked for a better guide !”
Reviewed 17 July 2016

My wife and I, with our two teenage boys (aged 13 and 15) booked Dave for a full day hike based around Lake Louise. We started early and Dave led us to Lake Agnes, then up to the Big Beehive and back through a picturesque glacial valley before the final stretch along Lake Louise itself. We are not particularly experienced hikers and Dave tailored our trip and pace perfectly. His knowledge of the terrain, geography and history of the area was outstanding and he was also a pleasure to spend time with. We would recommend him wholeheartedly and will certainly book him again if we are lucky enough to come back.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank AdamH-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours, responded to this review, 19 July 2016
Yes, that really was a memorable day. Nothing like beating the crowds and having lunch on a mountain top. It was especially pleasurable for me to share this experience with not only yourselves but with your boys. Lucky guys!! Thx again for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Canadian Rockies Alpine Hiking Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing