We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“won't recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Spruce Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spruce Grove Inn
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“won't recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

we booked this hotel with "supposedly" have "complimentary breakfast, that was it say's when we were looking at it online, they said "complimentary breakfast", the truth is, they'll just give you a $7.00 voucher. the outdoor pool was shared between Voyager and Spruce.. dirty hotel, but but if you actually care less, then i guess it's worth your money. have to go to the next hotel to get breakfast, which of course was a crappy one. The service was slow, i kinda expected that, because they're accommodating 2 hotels, waited more that half hour for our order and didn't come, so we ended up cancelling it. Just go the Mcdonald's, faster and not going to waste your time. oh yeah, it's not really that close to the downtown area. it's still far if you walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mekeni512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We very much thank you for your comments and observations as all are very helpful for the Hotel and its Team's goal of always striving to improve and develop.
With regard to the "Complimentary Breakfast" you are absolutely correct in saying that the Hotel gives Guests (who are on the "Complimentary Breakfast" rate) a $7 voucher, this is to offer Guests much more choice instead of limiting them to "One".
The $7 voucher entitles a Guest to a Free Continental Breakfast (includes - Juice, Beverage, Pastries, Muffins, Scones, Fresh Fruit Salad, Fresh Whole Fruit, Yogut and of course as much as you want) but also the voucher can be used by a Guest towards any other available Breakfast choice - such as the Hot Buffet, Steak & Eggs, Omlettes etc.
The choice - i.e. using the Voucher - was in response to many Guest requests of not being limited to Continental Breakfast only.
Again the Hotel very much thanks you for your observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    57
    99
    59
    62
See reviews for
61
126
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Room with two double beds was fine. Very clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast is quite basic but there are so many lovely coffee shops and cafes in Banff this isnt a problem. Free parking and wi-fi. 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town but it is a picturesque and enjoyable stroll. Pool and facilities didnt look very inviting so we didnt use them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargeatLarge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We thought that this hotel included a pool and restaurant.
These are actually in the hotel next door (Voyager) which has a worse reputation and the Sprice Grove clients are treated worse by sending them upstairs to a room that feels like a school canteen and very unfriendly. There wasn't a guest elevator at the Voyager for my wife who has problems with stairs and had to walk through the kitchen to get to the kitchen elevator. We didn't even try the pool which again was in the Voyager next door. Out of all the hotels we stayed at in Canada, this was by far the worst. Having said that, the rooms were Ok although houskeeping were very slow at cleaning, only turning up at 4pm on our second day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteJFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The Spruce Grove inn is an ok hotel. It is a bit dated (like many of the hotels in the park) but has many of the amenities that are needed (but no safe or minibar). We received breakfast as part of the room but it was a very limited continental buffet selection, bizarrely held in a second floor conference room in an adjoining hotel (that had no lift). The food itself was ok but compromised pre bought items including packet croissants which were at best dry.
It is located towards the end of town but with lots of free parking everywhere this wasn't an issue.
The staff were friendly even though there didn't seem to be many if them which meant a 20 minute wait to check out.
On the plus side there was free wifi & underground parking.
We would stay there again but only because of the gorgeous location.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabbag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

A few minutes walk to town centre ,but very nice room very spacious.A plus for this hotel is continental breakfast is included which is a refreshing change in these parts.good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosee Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

My 3 friends and I decided to go to Banff for May Long 2011 and we had a blast! The hotel is quite a ways from downtown, but we got lots of exercise walking everyday! The breakfast wasn't anything special, but we weren't there for the food. The room was huge! Didn't expect that at all, and the service was excellent. In case anyone reads this who was there for May Long as well, we had a digital camera go missing. It's a black Casio in a black camera case. Don't really care about the camera, but having the pictures back would be awesome! If you know of anything please email erinnd_17@yahoo.ca. I would definitely recommend the Spruce Grove Inn if you are looking for a nice, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: We booked on booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

The Spruce has a lovely suite at the back of the hotel, which is very spacious. We had a balcony and an enormous jaccuzzi beside the bedroom. Towels galore as well (which seemed to contradict their Project Planet policy a bit I thought), however it's always nice to have a dry towel!

No problems with the internet and the staff were all very nice. The hike into town was just a tiny bit long for total convenience in the cold - but I did get to see an enormous seven point buck grazing in the park as I walked pass which made my day!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char_goes_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffVoyagerInn, Guest Services Manager at Spruce Grove Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our loft units are a favorite with our regular guests looking to upgrade for a special occasion.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#30 of 32 in Banff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.3 km away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.1 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 km away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.7 km away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Grove Inn

Property: Spruce Grove Inn
Address: 545 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spruce Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Grove Hotel Banff
Spruce Grove Banff
Spruce Grove Inn Banff, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing