We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer satisfaction”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Customer satisfaction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

After being interrupted multiple times throughout the night with the cheap fire alarm, not being able to differentiate between smoke and an accidentally set off fire extinguisher somewhere within the hotel. The GM and hotel staff would not offer a rebate or a coupon to those of us who are new and who are return customers. For the 3 am to 4 am ear blowing experience I will not be returning to this hotel. The rates are in my mind at least set up for these, out of their hands, accidents to warrant a gift cert or percentage off next stay. However, that was not offered. I apologize for the out of my pockets reply and write this review to those who may stay here. Don't hold your breathe for this place to have you in there hearts. All they want is your money. Once. I have over 100 people on an online community sharing page and have already put the word out. There are other places to stay in Banff. Thank goodness my children weren't in the room. The decibel level of alarm was out of this world.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else for the cost nothing special. Tiny washrooms average beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
I am very saddened and disappointed to read your review. Please allow me to clarify for other guests that may be interested in staying with us.

The fire alarm was set off in the early morning hours by vandals that pulled the trigger on a fire extinguisher. This caused the bells to sound, as they would in any properly functioning hotel fire alarm system. I do agree - the bells are loud. They are in compliance with regulations for fire, health and safety. Their purpose is to alert guests of a potential danger of fire, and for them to evacuate their room.

This did not go on for an hour as you have stated. Banff Fire & Safety can confirm that the bells sounded at various times over a 15 minute period.

I agree, this would not be something you would look forward to while staying in a hotel. I am very sorry for this inconvenience, and I do apologize for this happening during your stay.

I must say that I find it completely unfair to post "the GM and the staff did not offer a discount." This statement is simply untrue.

My card with contact information was handed out by our team the following morning. You contacted me by email, and I have had correspondence with you, whereby I offered my sincere apology, AND offered a discount on a future stay with us.

I must point out that while this situation was out of our control, the RCMP are involved to track down the culprits, and the team here dealt with the situation in a controlled and effective manner.

I am very confident in our product and the services we provide. We value our guests, and their opinions of us, and although I am very disappointed in your threats to spread false information and half truths to your online community, I will simply say, freedom of speech is yours to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    733
    235
    100
    42
See reviews for
605
995
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olds, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We love this hotel. The loft room is wonderful for our family, it doesn't feel like a hotel.
There is only one draw back to the hotel. The parking. The underground parking is great, however there are those that take advantage of this perk. We visited in 2011, and found people parking in two spaces. This visit we found the same thing happening. If we can park our 2008 Yukon XL in between the yellow lines....so can you. We got the last spot one evening and noticed there would have been more if people had parked better. A couple cars that entered after us had to leave for street parking. I really hope that the hotel does something to deter this. Perhaps a fine? Room numbers on the parkade pass, and someone checking the lot for offenders?
We will be back next year

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BearSnoresOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thanks for your review. We will often contact those that are double parked, asking them to 'move over' and make space.

I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2012. Suite rooms are very spacious with nice loft. Very friendly front desk staff. Would recommend.

Minor issues: bathrooms are a bit small. Parking spots are also narrow.

Room Tip: Away from the courtyard which is open to the pool..... since the pool is open to the air, it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymandmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elora
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed a couple days after new years with my family,nice big suite as there were five of us,short walk to downtown...It was a little pricey but hey man its banff at holiday time every canadian should do it once in their life timeCheers Chris F

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We loved the hotel. Stayed there for 3 nights for Christmas from 23-26. Had reservations and arrived late the first night and had the standard room booked. Found the standard too small and inquired the following morning about upgrading. Wow for a minimal charged we upgraded to the Superior Room which was almost 3 times the size. With the Superior Room we enjoyed having the bedroom separated from the living room and the fireplace was nice.

Heated parking was a nice touch on those cold mornings.

Minor peeve with the free breakfast - add eggs and bacon and both of us would be happy. Then again why complain as FOX is one of the few hotels offering free breakfast

Absolutely no complaints about the hotel itself. Highly recommended and will be back.

Room Tip: If you are a couple with lots of luggage and want space, skip the standard room and go with the supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickles1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The small fee we charge to upgrade is well worth it, if you are looking for added space. Our suites are roomy, well equipped and comfortable. I hope you can make the trip west again in the near future. Perhaps you will visit Banff in the summer next time? We would love to welcome you back at anytime, and Banff is always beautiful, regardless of the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel was a dream. The staff in hotel and restaraunt were all very helpful and friendly. It was very clean and looked amazing. The breakfasts were fantastic and also the meals in Chillis. We parked our car in the underground car park and as it snowed every day it was very useful. We toured around in our hire car visiting the ski resorts and Lake Louise, Johnstons Canyon to name but a few. New Years eve in Banff Ave was very cold but amazing.
The pool and sauna were great especially after a day of skiing. Fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sticknicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am extremely pleased to hear your vacation to Banff was a 'holiday of a lifetime'! And I'm especially happy to know we were a part of that. I will share your kind comments with our team. I hope we can welcome you back to the Fox Hotel & Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel was really good, fantastic restuarant and the hot pool is something of this world. Breakfast included. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iajsdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautifulbanff, Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit again soon, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.4 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.2 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Property: Fox Hotel & Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites Banff, Alberta
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing