We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox suites nails it year in and year out”
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stay at Fox suites for 1 night every year on our way back to Calgary. It offers great value for money. Rooms are not massive but functional and have everything you need. They win a 5 star on housekeeping and upkeep. This place has high traffic but rooms and especially the bathrooms are impeccably maintained. Great amenities.
Only thing they can improve on is the breakfast offering which is basic.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We rented two suites at the fox for a ten man stag and ski trip. The rooms were very nice with lots of sleeping area. The area in the rooms are kinda small but the rooms were mainly for sleeping. Very nice hot tub downstairs and a nice rock view inside with an open roof. Have to walk outside to get to hot tub or restaurant:lobby. Nice place in the heart of downtown.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Our week at the Fox was good, very helpful service, fun hot pool, accommodation design was a bit quirky with one ensuite bedroom and one other bathroom where basin was open to lounge so less privacy. Breakfast was included though very basic; fruit, boiled eggs, pastries and waffles. Fitness room also though small and no treadmill. Great hot water, heating, car park, lockers for ski equipment. Overall worked very well for us and great early bird deal too.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here when it first opened and had enjoyed the hotel. It's been about 5-6 years since. This week I brought my girls here for a visit to Banff. While the staff was lovely, the room large with a beautiful view, the location perfect, I still found myself very disappointed. The furniture was dirty and seriously banged up, the windows dirty. The couch in the room was stained with grease and grime from over use and we put a blanket over it to sit down. It is a busy hotel and I doubt the rooms get the deep clean they need often.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My daughter and I stayed here back in 2013 and it was amazing, lovely service at the front desk. The rooms are a tad small but no big deal, we were only there to sleep as we were visiting family while there. Very comfortable beds and rooms were warm. The spa was amazing too, my 5 year old loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raems_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, our first trip to Banff. I had a really good promotional rate for the hotel so I cannot complain about price. Location is great, we saw ski hill shuttles and buses stopping often right outside hotel. The room we had was small, just a basic room. You can hear anyone talking outside near your room, it was abit loud in the morning with families getting ready for the slopes. The hot tub/grotto area was nice, very clean. We used the laundry facilities they were good, clean.
The breakfast was fine, continental. Staff at front desk and restaurant were all very nice. If your looking for something basic 3star style then this is a good hotel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nancie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Based on the rating of this hotel we were expecting a bit more than what we experienced. Our room was awesome-king bed and living room w dinette area w a gas fireplace. The bathroom was beyond tiny-you had to straddle the toliet to close the door and the tub mat was so small it felt unsafe stepping into the tub. Definitely need a larger mat in the tub. We were on a courner unit facing the street and had a private balcony. The fireplace flame was low and we addressed this with the front desk who told us staff would look at it and adjust-this was never done throughout our stay. The hot pool area is very unique and was quite enjoyable-save for the people who clearly ignormed the obvious signage on the door-stating NO ALCOHOL in the pool area. Several people were observed openly drinking and empty beverage cans were left on the pool deck. When addressed with front desk staff-they commented that they had cameras in the facility. The people we observed drinking had already left - the next day when checking out the staff commented on our experience and offered a small discount on our account. We later received an email offering a more substantial discount by management which we appreciated. However given the fact that there is clear signage both on leaflets in the rooms and when checking in plus on the door to the hot pools - there clearly needs to be more enforcement of the rules. i am not sure if families would appreciate their children being around people that are drinking and ruining the enjoyment of the facility for other patrons. It certainly wasnt what we were expecting given all the notices to the contrary. The lounge staff were wonderful-they even remembered our drink order from a previous visit. We enjoyed appetizers and drinks after a full day of touring. The breakfast was ok-lots of carbs-baking offered. instead of a big bowl of yogurt it might be better to offer small individual flavors portions instead. 3 waffle machines for the entire hotel but given the space for breakfast service not sure there could be more but like other reviewers the que for the machines tended to be a bit longer than anticipated. If needing a quick pre ski breakfast go early! We had a better experience and enjoyed breakfast elsewhere the next day. I dont normally post negative reviews but felt the hotel staff seemed to ignore or simply overlook our concerns as if we were just a nuisance. Clearly from other reviewers having similar issues they have failed to address legitimate concerns. For the price of your stay and the hype over the facilities one would think that customer comfort and satisfaction would be a top priority.

Room Tip: 2nd floor king suite-sleeps 3-4 with sofa bed. small kitchen area-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank divainkaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxGM, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Hi,
Thank You for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so sorry that you were disturbed by other guests while trying to enjoy our beautiful Grotto hot pool. You are correct when you say there are many signs indicating that alcohol is not permitted in the hot pool area. I apologise that we weren't patrolling the area more often. I will strive to ensure that we have our staff keep a closer eye in this area, so that all our guests may enjoy it. I certainly don't want you to think that your, or any of our guests, comfort and absolute satisfaction isn't our main priority and I am glad to hear that you were warmly welcomed by the lounge staff. Our complimentary continental buffet can get very busy at times when many people are trying to get up and enjoy the slopes. We are continually striving to find the right mix of offerings to please the greatest number of people, we've added oatmeal with craisens and other delicious toppings this year!
I'm happy you liked the beautiful King Suite, it is such a lovely room, I'll look into larger bath mats for the bathroom area.
Thanks again for sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you back to Banff in the near future.
Cathy Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,097 reviews
0.7 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
0.5 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,481 reviews
0.2 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range: $135 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites Banff, Alberta
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing