We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,340)
Filter reviews
2,340 results
Traveller rating
1,056
840
284
111
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,056
840
284
111
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschili's restauranthot tubmake your own waffleswaffle makercontinental breakfastbedroom suiteyogurtcave basinliving areasmall kitchenhard boiled eggsstandard roomunderground parkingsitting rooman upgradefree busbus pass
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,340 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Room is clean and cozy. Location is about 10 mins walk from main street (Banff ave). I visited in early August and it was little warm. I got a standard room and apparently they dont have ac but you can open the window and evening is cooler so it's alright. Hotel also includes simple breakfast that has great waffle, fruits and eggs.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank JJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fox Hotel in Banff. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our suite was very clean, overlooked the mainstreet and a mountain. We chose a room with a balcony and really enjoyed being on it during a rain storm. The only problem with the hotel is that each room has an outside entryway and in spots there is no roof over the walkways. it would not be good during bad weather. However, the hotel is charming, and has a connected restaurant for easy access to dinner. The room rate includes breakfast which was very good.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the suite, The bedroom had a door. Our third floor room gave us a great view and was accessible by elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017

On walking into the Fox its has a lovely cosy feel about it and friendly helpful staff to greet you. The rooms are on the small side a little dark and don't have air con, there was a tower fan that we felt was enough as we spent very little time in the room. We stayed 2 nights and its location about 15 minutes walk into the town was fine. Used the cave pool but was more like a hot tub but was enough for us to relax in after a busy day. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice kids enjoyed make your own waffles. Ate in Chills one night but just had small snacks, what we did have was very nice. Can image its a great place to stay in the winter felt its more geared up for skiers who would be out most of the day. But still enjoyed our stay. After reading reviews on here we got here early to park and didn't move car until leaving,

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The hotel is ok for couples. If you are travelling with kids not so great. We booked a one bedroom "suite" for 2 adults and our 2 kids. The idea of a suite was to have a place where we could enjoy some adult time after the kids were asleep. What we got was a main level with a hide a bed and a kitchen. Down some steep stairs was a room with 2 double beds and the bathroom. Being 2 beds down the only way we were getting any privacy was to put the kids in the bedroom and take the hide a bed for ourselves. As we found out there was no door on the bedroom and as we also found out the first night, you can hear a mouse fart from anywhere in the room. We did look at a different room with a king size bed in the bedroom and a hide abed for the kids however the bathroom was located in the bedroom so imagine the shock if a kid had to use the bathroom and found mom and dad enjoying adult time. The rooms were nice but have become a bit shabby and run down. Our room was dark and dingy. Oh yes and the toilet in our room would not stop running every 30 seconds and since noise travelled like it was in a vacuum... we had to turn the water off until we could get maintenance in the morning. They did fix the toilet but on the second flush the handle fell off and I decided it was easier to just fix it myself. On the first day I did call the manager to complain and left a voicemail. She did get back to me the next day - after we had already checked out of course and left a voicemail. One last note - we have a compact suv - a ford escape, a small car but with a rooftop carrier. We could not fit in the parkade but street parking behind the hotel was not too bad. All in all this was my last stay at The Fox, we had been 2x before and enjoyed it but at a final tally of $698.44 for 2 nights of sleeping on a lumpy hide a bed - it was waaaaaayyyy too much.

Room Tip: Just don't stay
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheCaptain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2017

The rooms are accessed from the outdoors like a motel.
Room was small but adequate. The room was a bit noise since we were near the exhaust unit on the top floor.
The staff was friendly and accommodating
The coffee pot in the room would not drain properly
The complimentary breakfast was good.
Parking was free

Room Tip: In the summer, seek a room away from the western side to avoid the western sun. Rooms are not air conditioned.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews