We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-01
FindHotel
US$240
US$226
View deal
SAVE US$14
Hotels.comUS$240
eDreamsUS$240
TravelocityUS$240
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,352)
Filter reviews
2,352 results
Traveller rating
438
596
514
390
414
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
596
514
390
414
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the rooftop hot tub rustic hotel its charm few minutes walk walking distance to lake louise hiking trails caribou mountains chateau fireplace rockies elk snow winter ski scenery hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,352 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Chateau and after first night disappointing dinner we have made reservations at the Deer Lodge. Simple it is a walking distance like 5 min if that, and also stopped by to check on the place on the way back to the hotel. It seems ok and they had us convinced.
It was a good place I wouldn’t call it superb restaurant, food was decent and service was excellent.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KRIS7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin D, Guest Services / Front Office at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Greetings,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Kindly,
The Deer Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2020

No one at front dining area. We grabbed a menu from stack of printed materials, where chastised for getting menu. Maybe if staff were avail we wouldn't have made the mistake.
reluctant to seat us without reservation, even though restaurant was empty.
Server was quick to rush us as soon as sat down. Came 3 times in 5 minutes to take order...not professional.
Menu was lacking in choice, especially for the area/guests you are trying to attract. Kitchen must be run by cooks not a chef. Very poor combinations, without a substitute selection. Salmon with coleslaw, warm potato salad and tartar sauce?!
Web site says their was an extensive wine list...pages. I asked and was given a very short wine menu, maybe 8 selections. All very run to your local store to buy, at very inflated price. And bottle price was exactly the glass price...no discount for the bottle. After the bland main course, and wine selection ( I had a beer...1, wife had a glass of wine...1) we couldn't bring ourselves to try dessert. Couldn't leave fast enough. We did hear other guests that did arrive also complaining about the menu and poor attempt.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin D, Guest Services / Front Office at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Greetings,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear about your experience and hope to win back your favour in the future.
Kindly,
The Deer Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2020

If you are looking for modern with all the amenities and a TV, move along. If you are looking for something charming with character in the mountains then this hotel is for you. I read the reviews before booking and so I had an idea of what our experience would be like. We stayed in the "historical wing" in a room with 2 twin beds. We loved this little room as it was small and felt a little "cruise ship" like. The bathroom soap/lotion/haircare etc were L'Occitane. There are more modern wings if you don't want something this small. I cannot express on how much we loved our experience here. The lady at the front desk was so nice and helpful. The restaurant was AMAZING for both dinner and breakfast. The proximity to the lake is so convenient. We will definitely be back to this charming place.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin D, Guest Services / Front Office at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and can't wait to host you again soon!
Kindly,
The Deer Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2020

The only positive thing I can say about this place is the great location.
Other than that, it is like you walk in a place that wasn't updated since the 1960... Don't get fooled by the rustic lodge look of the restaurant..
We could not adjust the water temperature when taking a shower, We could not adjust the room temperature, it was constantly to hot.. You can hear the other guest from the other rooms...
Now not sound all that negative... If we would have payed more then 150$ cnd per night I would cried...
If you have a car look somewhere else... 5 min drive to the village and plenty of decent places

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank georgepal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin D, Guest Services / Front Office at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Greetings,
We are disappointed to hear about your experience. We will be sure to pass your concerns along to our team. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to have the opportunity to 'wow' you again in the future.
Kindly,
The Deer Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2020

Deer Lodge is conveniently located if you're looking for a central place from which to hike and/or sight-see. While it needs the upcoming improvements (very dark and quite gloomy inside), it was great to stay at a place that has some history.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterh0bs0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitlin D, Guest Services / Front Office at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Greetings,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Kindly,
The Deer Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews