We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
639
149
59
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
639
149
59
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moraine lake rock pile king cabin evening talks sentinel pass log fire hiking guide day trippers ten peaks complimentary bottle of wine canadian rockies picture window two nights canoe rentals included in the room rate our honeymoon very special place
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 866 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2017

The cabin itself was just so beautiful and the welcome gift we received was outstanding (we were celebrating our honeymoon and boy did they spoil us). The views of the breathtaking Moraine Lake from the verandah is goosebumps worthy too. The staff on the entire property were so wonderful that is it hard to fault anything they did. Jazz, our hiking guide was exceptional and very knowledgeable, which we appreciated. We dined at the restaurant both nights and the quality of the food was exceptional with zero to fault + the local selection of wine made me happy. The only negative is on our part... we needed to have stayed more than two nights. The lake is just so beautiful and having 24/7 access to it from the luxury of your cabin is worth the price tag in itself. This is definitely my happy place and we will return in the near future (hopefully). Well played Moraine Lake Lodge, you truly made our stay so memorable. Thank-you!
PS, we booked the gourmet getaway package which included the king cabin, a three course meal both nights inclusive of tips and I could not recommend this enough. Exceptional value for money given the location, beauty and perfection of the whole experience.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RPK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

The rooms in the lodge were slightly smaller than we would have liked as there was only good supported seating for one person, the rest of the seating was just a cushion on a bench, which wasn't helpful after a long day out walking. But the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was good. It was a bit short on storage too. With no tv or internet or phone this is not a place to be if you don't like the great outdoors! We absolutely loved the dinners in the evening. The chef is amazing. Breakfast was not so good as the eggs looked as if they'd been there a while and no lunch was on offer, so we had to eat something from the café, which was pretty boring and unimaginative. It's also quite expensive. The whole place is taken over during daylight hours by hordes of cars and buses, so a lot of cars get parked along the road. They had attendants on the main road to keep cars out when it got too busy. This is a major tourist destination, and the whole thing gets to be a bit Disney like. To stay there, we would say one night, maybe two at the most, and definitely have dinner. The smoke from local fires got so bad whilst we were there that you couldn't see across the lake at one point. We came back with bad coughs, but that's not the fault of the Lodge. A great tourist attraction, but not a long stay destination due to the crowds of people.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank upperayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

This lodge is located in one of the world's most beautiful locations. We had a King cabin and the room was beautiful with a fireplace and a stunning view. The only thing we missed a bit was more room to place all your luggage and a small fridge.

We did some incredible hikes and went canoeing on the lake (free for guests), the views are absolutely stunning everywhere. Staff is very friendly as well.

The breakfast budget was OK but I would have expected more for that price, same for dinner which is quite pricy but unfortunately never gave a WoW feeling (quite small portions as well). Staff in the restaurant seemed a bit inexperienced.

Overall we had a great stay and the locations is absolutely worth it (WoW, WoW, WoW) but it is a bit a shame that the lodge is not a bit farther away from all the crowds that visit lake Moraine for a day or a couple of hours. But then again I can understand why everybody wants to visit this stunning place.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Amazing lodge, friendliest staff. Only negative is getting through parking lot. Moraine Lake gets tons of tourists because it is so beautiful the parking lot they use is in from of the lodge so it is a big of a hassle if you have to travel through it. Good reason to not leave the lodge! Canoeing was free and wonderful. Great breakfasts too.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

This was the most beautiful, remote place we stayed. Our room looked out across the lake. Our room fireplace was already loaded with wood and matches to start it. A balcony was the perfect place to sit and watch the canoes and hikers pass by below. There is no TV, no phone and limited cell service for a reason -- it would distract from the remoteness and serenity surrounding the lodge. Canoes are free for guests to use when ever they want. The lodge restaurant was excellent and a full breakfast is included. The staff memorized our names and knew which activities we were interested in. The staff made arrangements for us to go on a glacier tour, purchased tickets and provided us with a box lunch to take along. I found the service to be exceptional. It's a bit expensive but worth it because there's no other place like it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews