We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A different view of Lake Louise and the Fairmont Chateau.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola

Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola
Book In Advance
US$25.55*
and up
Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise for fourteen glorious minutes, in an open chair or a fully enclosed gondola, to one of the world's great views! From the top, at 2088m (6850ft).The end of the lift and gondola ride is only the start of the adventure. At the top of the lift and gondola Interpretive Programs are available daily, including indoor presentations and themed guided walks.Stop by and enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast, lunch, or dinner prepared fresh, and served daily in the Lodge of the Ten Peaks!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Lakewood, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A different view of Lake Louise and the Fairmont Chateau.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is definitely worth your time to take the gondola ride. When you arrive at the top be sure to have your camera handy for some great photos of Fairmont Chateau and Lake Louise from a distance. Watch for bears as you're likely to see them.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    299
    92
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views & Perhaps a Grizzly Bear Sighting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is a very scenic excursion with an opportunity for a glimpse of a wild Grizzly Bear. Although there are almost daily sightings of Grizzlies in the summertime, we did not see one, but were more than happy to enjoy the magnificent views. We were with friends who chose to ride up in a gondola & we followed next in an open lift chair. The choice is a nice option. At the top, you can get off, walk a short distance further uphill or take a complimentary ride to see more fabulous views and visit an information centre with attached coffee shop. You can ride back to catch the next lift seat back down the mountain. It is professionaly run, with pleasant staff, & is a competitive price. There is a large restaurant & gift shop at the base. An enjoyable outing on a sunny day.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chanterelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

The sightseeing Gondola only uses the first part of the winter ski slope runs to a point that is not especially high up and does not really offer especially good views.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good views, may be a thrill ride for some”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

On first visit to the area in September, my wife and I rode the gondola. We did decide to use a closed car rather than an open lift chair, being aware of some tendency to vertigo. Although this was right for us, would recommend use of the open chairs to anyone who feels quite happy with this, as it would undoubtedly add to the experience. The ride up or down takes more or less 15 minutes and, although it offers some good views, it can seem a little tame and even monotonous eventually.

Views from the top are magnificent, although we felt inhibited from doing much of a hike owing to bear warnings which were posted. Also, this being outside the high summer season the dining room was not available, so there was little to keep us long at the top, except for the exhibits in the Interpretive Centre which we thought very informative and well presented. Unfortunately, we didn't see any of the wildlife although it seems bear sightings are quite common.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“gondola ride Lake Louise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We took this ride up the mountain and it was wonderful!
It was a perfect sunny day , not too cold and the views were marvellous.
We saw 3 bears , and they were moving about among some trees and a clearing. We found it very thrilling. I must say I was terrified on the chair when we were coming down , but it was still a great experience and we all loved it. Certainly we got great value for the money.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gillianedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing