We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Baker Creek Mountain Resort(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
US$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,229
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kootenay Park Lodge(Kootenay National Park)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Juniper Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moraine Lake Lodge(Lake Louise)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
94
98
65
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
98
65
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbow lakewalls are thinvenison medallionscanadian rockiesicefields parkwaydining room isrooms are basicno elevatorspent one night herehot breakfastlog cabinrecommend staying hereincredible viewsstayed longersimpsonhikejasper
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 335 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This old girl is set in about the most beautiful spot on earth. All by itself on Bow Lake, the location is stunning. The lodge itself is a historic red roofed 3 story building that is full of charm and interesting furnishings/decor. Don't expect the rooms to be anything to rave about. The walls are thin, the bathrooms a bit dated, but all is clean. You will find mostly fellow hikers inhabit this lodge. Despite the flaws, we loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful. We awoke to the first snowfall of the fall and the place was beautiful. We found the food in the restaurant to be pretty good. Be sure and sign up for dinner...the closest restaurant is MANY miles away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MendocinoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The minute we walked in the door of Num-Ti-Jah we knew we were in a special place. First impressions are lasting and we were swept away by what we saw and experienced. The beautiful nostalgic architecture, a friendly fire in the hearth and very pleasant staff who offered to carry our large case up the stairs. But we Aussies think we are tough and had not considered that we were about 6,500 feet higher than what we were acclimatised to. By the time we got to the top of the stairs we were puffing like a 400m runner at a track meet. We recovered and found our room to be spacious, well appointed, comfortable and with an excellent outlook. Being at Num-Ti-Jah is like going back to the early 1900's in outback Canada, but with a truly great service delivery. Meals were of a very high standard and priced similarily to capital city restaurants, but when you consider that at Num-Ti-Jah they have to billet their staff, provide their own power and heating etc, this is very understandable. We give thanks to the pioneer, Jimmy Simpson and his family who built and established Num-Ti-Jah whilst living in a humble cabin adjacent to the main lodge. All in all we had a great stay, highlighted by sitting in the truly magnificent main room, snuggly watching early fall snow outside the window. All staff were very passionate about Num-Ti-Jah and its heritage. Would we go back? Yes,as we Aussie's would say "At the Drop of a Hat". Loved the place and people.`

Room Tip: Try for first floor with lakeview room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a great old lodge in a grand mountain setting on Bow Lake, where we stayed in early September. My husband & I were warmly greeted to this historical lodge, where we had a large room that overlooked the lake and a marvellous view of the mountains. The room was rather plain & dated, the bathroom had worn fixtures and a tap that kept running continuously, not just a drip. The eiderdown was great. The reception & common areas are in keeping with such a rustic lodge with attractive historical mounted heads of various mountain animals. Guests have access to lovely lounge areas & free coffee, tea & tisanes at all hours, and a great map table with detailed topographical maps to study. The dining room is attractive, with friendly & attentive staff. They could dress a little less frumpily though. We enjoyed the most delicious & well prepared wild mushroom & asparagus risotto that evening. Delicious warm croissants were part of the simple continental breakfast. A hike for a couple of hours along the lake & forest was very enjoyable. When we asked to take a glass of wine outside to sit & watch the sunset, we were told that the National Parks rules would not allow them to provide this...a bit Victorian, we think. Num-Ti-Jah also has a very large gift shop with great clothes, native arts & an extensive book collection on nature & the history of the Rockies. This is a grand rustic mountain lodge in a grand setting!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake, not just for the fantastic view, but apparently away from the electrical generators' sounds.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanterelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It's a tough call. The setting on Bow Lake is amazing. We took an early morning hike to the falls and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The common spaces in the lodge are charmingly quirky. We had mixed results at dinner. My beef was great, but my partner's salmon was tasteless. The room, alas, really needs some upgrades. This is not a cookie cutter hotel. The layout of the rooms are odd, and the bathrooms are pretty low rent. (Painted particle board walls? Really?) You come away wishing they would spend just a little money improving the lighting and fixtures in the rooms.
All that said, I’m glad we stayed there. Outside of the Fairmont hotels, Banff doesn’t have a ton of places that have the historic authenticity that this place has. It’s the real deal. Do I wish that it pandered a bit more to modern tastes? Sure. But this place was established when it took 2 days by horse to arrive from Lake Louise. It was never a luxury hotel and it sure ain’t one now. But the old gals got a lot of character and you don’t find that everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This place is all atmosphere, and deserving of accolades. Simply, the price is too high. But the room was spacious, except for the tight bathroom. Nice meals, and the common areas are very nice. REcommend the Bow Lake hike to the falls, very pleasant. But the room and the meals border on outrageously priced...the price one pays for solitude, I suppose. Me? I'd look for cheaper accomodations. With disposable income, this would be a top choice. Staff is friendly as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slim577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews