We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view, rustic rooms”
Review of Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed one night, very glad we did as the experiance was wonderful. The view is unbeliveable, the restaurant was great, and we loved the remoteness of the lodge. HOWEVER, the walls are very thin, and we could hear every step of the people above us, neither of us were able to sleep at all. If I was to go again, I would definitly get a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G8tors5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

This old girl is set in about the most beautiful spot on earth. All by itself on Bow Lake, the location is stunning. The lodge itself is a historic red roofed 3 story building that is full of charm and interesting furnishings/decor. Don't expect the rooms to be anything to rave about. The walls are thin, the bathrooms a bit dated, but all is clean. You will find mostly fellow hikers inhabit this lodge. Despite the flaws, we loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful. We awoke to the first snowfall of the fall and the place was beautiful. We found the food in the restaurant to be pretty good. Be sure and sign up for dinner...the closest restaurant is MANY miles away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MendocinoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The minute we walked in the door of Num-Ti-Jah we knew we were in a special place. First impressions are lasting and we were swept away by what we saw and experienced. The beautiful nostalgic architecture, a friendly fire in the hearth and very pleasant staff who offered to carry our large case up the stairs. But we Aussies think we are tough and had not considered that we were about 6,500 feet higher than what we were acclimatised to. By the time we got to the top of the stairs we were puffing like a 400m runner at a track meet. We recovered and found our room to be spacious, well appointed, comfortable and with an excellent outlook. Being at Num-Ti-Jah is like going back to the early 1900's in outback Canada, but with a truly great service delivery. Meals were of a very high standard and priced similarily to capital city restaurants, but when you consider that at Num-Ti-Jah they have to billet their staff, provide their own power and heating etc, this is very understandable. We give thanks to the pioneer, Jimmy Simpson and his family who built and established Num-Ti-Jah whilst living in a humble cabin adjacent to the main lodge. All in all we had a great stay, highlighted by sitting in the truly magnificent main room, snuggly watching early fall snow outside the window. All staff were very passionate about Num-Ti-Jah and its heritage. Would we go back? Yes,as we Aussie's would say "At the Drop of a Hat". Loved the place and people.`

Room Tip: Try for first floor with lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a great old lodge in a grand mountain setting on Bow Lake, where we stayed in early September. My husband & I were warmly greeted to this historical lodge, where we had a large room that overlooked the lake and a marvellous view of the mountains. The room was rather plain & dated, the bathroom had worn fixtures and a tap that kept running continuously, not just a drip. The eiderdown was great. The reception & common areas are in keeping with such a rustic lodge with attractive historical mounted heads of various mountain animals. Guests have access to lovely lounge areas & free coffee, tea & tisanes at all hours, and a great map table with detailed topographical maps to study. The dining room is attractive, with friendly & attentive staff. They could dress a little less frumpily though. We enjoyed the most delicious & well prepared wild mushroom & asparagus risotto that evening. Delicious warm croissants were part of the simple continental breakfast. A hike for a couple of hours along the lake & forest was very enjoyable. When we asked to take a glass of wine outside to sit & watch the sunset, we were told that the National Parks rules would not allow them to provide this...a bit Victorian, we think. Num-Ti-Jah also has a very large gift shop with great clothes, native arts & an extensive book collection on nature & the history of the Rockies. This is a grand rustic mountain lodge in a grand setting!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake, not just for the fantastic view, but apparently away from the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanterelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

It's a tough call. The setting on Bow Lake is amazing. We took an early morning hike to the falls and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The common spaces in the lodge are charmingly quirky. We had mixed results at dinner. My beef was great, but my partner's salmon was tasteless. The room, alas, really needs some upgrades. This is not a cookie cutter hotel. The layout of the rooms are odd, and the bathrooms are pretty low rent. (Painted particle board walls? Really?) You come away wishing they would spend just a little money improving the lighting and fixtures in the rooms.
All that said, I’m glad we stayed there. Outside of the Fairmont hotels, Banff doesn’t have a ton of places that have the historic authenticity that this place has. It’s the real deal. Do I wish that it pandered a bit more to modern tastes? Sure. But this place was established when it took 2 days by horse to arrive from Lake Louise. It was never a luxury hotel and it sure ain’t one now. But the old gals got a lot of character and you don’t find that everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This place is all atmosphere, and deserving of accolades. Simply, the price is too high. But the room was spacious, except for the tight bathroom. Nice meals, and the common areas are very nice. REcommend the Bow Lake hike to the falls, very pleasant. But the room and the meals border on outrageously priced...the price one pays for solitude, I suppose. Me? I'd look for cheaper accomodations. With disposable income, this would be a top choice. Staff is friendly as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slim577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent one night here while on a Backroads bike trip in the Canadian Rockies. The setting is stunning -- on the shores of Bow Lake, surrounded by the soaring peaks of the Canadian Rockies. Rooms are simple and plumbing can be finicky, but the common rooms are cozy, in a rustic, woodsy sort of way. There are animal busts and stuffed wildlife decorating the walls (Num-Ti-Jah is a former hunting lodge). Food at the Dining Room is ok, but nothing special. No elevator, so not an option for disabled. You are completely off the grid: no cell phone service and no internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lzbth57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Louise
34.6 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
34.1 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,761 reviews
33.8 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,105 reviews
45.9 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
899 reviews
27.0 km away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Num-Ti-Jah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Num-Ti-Jah Lodge

Address: Mile 22 Icefields Parkway | P.O. Box 39, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range: $376 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Num-Ti-Jah Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge overlooks one of the most dramatic scenes in the Canadian Rockies. Out of Bow Lake the mountains rise steep and rugged. The blue ice of Crowfoot Glacier hangs suspended over the turquoise water. To the west, the craggy peaks of the Great Divide tower over Bow Glacier.Num-Ti-Jah Lodge is located 40 kilometres north of Lake Louise on Highway 93 in Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada. We are a three hour drive from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Num-Ti-Jah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Num-Ti-Jah Hotel Lake Louise
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge Lake Louise, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing