We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with a GREAT view”
Review of Whitehorn Bistro

Whitehorn Bistro
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Located at 6700' (2042m) the Whitehorn Bistro proudly offers a contemporary menu with alpine featured items and local products. Each of our fine offerings can be enjoyed inside the dining room, or out on the patio which boasts one of the most incredible panoramic mountain views anywhere. Open summer and winter.
Restaurant details
Description: Located at 6700' (2042m) the Whitehorn Bistro proudly offers a contemporary menu with alpine featured items and local products. Each of our fine offerings can be enjoyed inside the dining room, or out on the patio which boasts one of the most incredible panoramic mountain views anywhere. Open summer and winter.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

If you want to have a delicious meal halfway up a mountain with a breathtaking view this is the place for you. Take the gondola halfway up the mountain and take an easy walk 5 minutes to the restaurant. Great seating outside with an amazing view out towards Lake Louise. Great chance to see wildlife while riding up/down.
Food choices are excellent and I highly recommend the lettuce wraps or Seafood chowder. Then wash it down with a delicious Blueberry tea or butter Rum hot drink.
Once you're done and if you feel like taking a nice walk you can go up the mountain on one of the trails. But mind you, its located outside the safe zone and you're on your own. When we were there an electrical fence surrounded the restaurant area as there is a lot of wildlife in the area. Even saw a deer directly below us on the ride down.
Highly recommended for all ages.
Also, great service while we visited. Can't wait to go back

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arkas954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2017

We visited this restaurant because of the beautiful view over lake Louise valley but we were extremely disappointed with the service we received. We walked into the restaurant and waited over 15 minutes to be seated (even though the restaurant was half empty and we could see over 10 free tables!) during these 15 minutes we were told by 6 different staff memebers 'someone will be with you in a minute' as they spent time talking amounts themselves and playing on their phones.

Once seated we were placed at the back of the terrace, we ordered drinks and a table became free at the front of the balcony, we asked if we could move to this table and were told NO as it was part of a different food service and would ruin the kitchens - slightly baffled we stayed where we were not able to enjoy the view as another couple were seated at the table. We ordered a cheese fondue and watched as the couple on the table at the front ordered exactly the same meal proving it wasn't a 'different food service.' We have no idea why we weren't allowed to move seats.

The food was good but due to how we were treated by staff I am giving this resultant a 1 star!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Athena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We were visiting Lake Louise for two days and the gondola ride was a must . The weather was awful rain & more rain . Whitehorn Bistro was the sunshine . A warm welcome helpful staff & fantastic food . I had the fish of the day which was trout with potatoes & salad in a great sauce , my hubby had a sirloin steak with wedges & a sauce . Both very tasty & cooked to perfection . A non alcoholic mint Majito, hubby an ale . Perfect .

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vfwoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017

It was a sunny autumn day when we went there. We sat on the patio.Overall, the food and service were excellent. We have ordered seafood chowder, cheese palette(I believe), grill cheese sandwich from the kids menu and a few other things. Personally, I enjoyed the kids one and the cheese palette the most. It would have been a romantic place and moment if I came with my husband only :-P

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monrabdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Whitehorn bistro. We planned a small (8) people civil ceremony. Adrian helped make it special and private. He and his team were very accommodating and professional.

Views are amazing, food is spectacular and service is on point.

Our favourite spot in the mountains

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Puja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehorn Bistro also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Whitehorn Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing