We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere.”

Vero Bistro Moderne
Reserve with OpenTable
Vero Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4,028 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Sunnyside
Cross street: Kensington Road
Description: With an atmosphere that breathes relaxed elegance, Vero Bistro presents a menu that defines inspired Italian Fusion Cuisine. Vero's Chef Jenny believes strongly in the importance of fresh, healthy food while supporting the local community and strives to create flavourful inspired cuisine using quality ingredients sourced from a variety of trusted local producers, Remarkable starters and plates designed for sharing are offered along side hearty entrees, such as the house made pasta, grass fed beef, seafood, lamb, chicken and duck, with many gluten-free options available. Featured small plates include, Meatball 'Bolognese', Signature Sweet Potato Gnocchi with wild boar bacon and gorgonzola, as well as more substantial offerings, such as the Grass Fed New York Steak w truffle parmesan frites, traditional agnolotti with bone marrow barbera reduction "The Seafood Platter". No Menu Tuesdays $45/guest Steak & Frites on Wednesdays 3 courses $45/guest Brunch Sat & Sun 10 AM-2 PM
Reviewed April 13, 2018

The food was amazing. From the salad (best I've ever had) to the steak and frites (perfectly cooked, tender and juicy) and the perfect dessert (not too rich but so flavorful). I also had an americano and it was honestly the best cup of coffee I have ever had. Smooth and no bitterness at all.

Date of visit: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2018

We visited Vero Bistro Moderne for the first time and were very impressed with unrushed service, menu selections and overall warm and intimate atmosphere. Staff is very attentive and helpful and the food is outstanding. I appreciated that they kept the music at a decent volume level. It's definitely worth a visit for a celebration or special occasion. Reserve early!

Date of visit: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank pennygamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic Italian cuisine in Kensington. Me and my cousin went to vero for a celebration. The lamb racks with gnocchi & black truffles was incredible and so was every course. The Tuscan seafood stew was so tasty, very fresh seafood in a saffron tomato broth.
We had cotton candy wrapped with foie gras amuse bouche ‘amazing!’ It was so creative. Very good wine selection. Thanks for the warmest hospitality from the vero team.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gina3833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

This place was amazing!!! Just went by trip advisor and thought to check it out! Sure glad we did! Service was impeccable, food was amazing and fresh.

Wednesday night's are a set menu night, choice was limited but food quality was superb.

Food was flavorful and very well made.
Will go back again if in the area. Parking is limited though.

Wine selection was nice and very high quality wines available.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MissCassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

We went to the wine pairing last night and the food and wine were really good but my wife and I didn't realize that we would be sharing a table with a random couple. Our fancy date night wasn't quite what we were hoping it would be but the food and wine were really good. It was weird that our two table were pushed together rather than just having us sit by ourselves. We will be going back but will either request a separate table so we can have an actual date night or just bring friends along.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Andrew_Lauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verobistro, Manager at Vero Bistro Moderne, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi Andrew,
Thanks very much for reviewing your experience last night, first of all I'm glad you enjoyed the food and wine, it was a really great event and proud to do an event with Mark Bata of Bonvida wines and the incredible wines he imports, it was fun to do an event representing the wine and food of Piemonte, Italy.
I understand that you were grouped with another couple, and most times this is how these special events go as there are larger numbers of people coming at the same time and sometimes you just have to sit with guests. In the future you can request to sit a separate table if we have availability.
Thanks for attending last night and hope to see you at our next special event, one coming soon is the 'Wines of Burgundy' with Burgundian cuisine.
Sincerely,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vero Bistro Moderne also viewed

 

Been to Vero Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing