We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English in more ways than one - that's how a B&B should be”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 53 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
haifa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“English in more ways than one - that's how a B&B should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

If you must have downtown on your doorstep, this is not your location.
Otherwise, it is an ideal B&B, with the bed, breakfast and human interaction aspects all much above average.
Engage the hosts in lengthy conversations, or just nod to them at breakfast; cook elaborated meals, or leave early and return late, tune your stay as you like it.
Guaranteed not to disappoint.

Room Tip: The Egyptian.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
96
31
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Hosts Teri and David were welcoming and helpful. I was able to deposit my luggage early morning, go out for the day to return in the evening. So comfortable, clean and peaceful - there's a relaxed home feel about the place. Superb breakfasts from Teri - yum!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Recently stayed here for a two night stay for business meetings in Calgary. This B and B is located in northwest Calgary about 5 minutes drive from the University of Calgary and close to Dalhouse LRT.
What we liked the best:
Teri's fantastic cooking
David's warm welcome and engaging conversation
Amenities include:
Very comfortable bedroom with private bathroom, hot tub, several sitting areas for lounging and reading, complimentary sherry, assortment of teas, juice, and soda for guests.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
511 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Teri and David made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived with too much luggage and all the surplus food from a long RV tour.

Our room was comfortable with an excellent bed and good en-suite bathroom facilities.
The room and the “public” areas are nicely decorated and furnished.
There is a peaceful sitting area on the outside deck, overlooking the pretty garden.
They have a hot tub which guests may use (we did) and spacious lounge and kitchen area, including a full kitchen for guests’ use, with fridge and cupboard space.

Teri provides mouth-wateringly delicious breakfasts – home made and plentiful.
We wish we could get them shipped to England……

A laptop is available and free WiFi included.

David and Teri are delightful hosts, providing useful information and advice about places to eat and things to do in Calgary.

We were there at the time of the Calgary Stampede and it was with Teri’s advice that we had pre-booked seats for various events well in advance as soon as we had secured the B&B reservation. We are so glad we had done this, to get good seats in good locations.

There is off-street parking for one car. A bus route stops nearby and it is only a 10 minute walk downhill to the C-Train station with regular service to downtown Calgary.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is my second time back at the B&B and it was once again, a pleasure. teri and David are great hosts. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. Had my own bathroom. Didn't have to share with onyone. The whole house is clean and inviting. The location of the B&B is great. Near the university, shopping near by, grocery stores, restaurants, everything you would need is near by. I rented a car while in Calgary so getting around was no problem. There was parking on the street. Without hesitation, I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CherylinWpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

David and Teri were very welcoming and made me feel 'at home'. The bed was so comfortable I found it hard to get up in the morning, and the breakfast (strawberry waffle and eggs benedict) was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

David and Terri were lovely hosts - good food and good conversation. The outdoor hot tub right outside our room was great! The room was on the smaller side, but there were 2 other comfortable rooms for reading and lounging. Felt like home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjm1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Kensington Riverside Inn
Kensington Riverside Inn
#18 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel Calgary Airport
Grey Eagle Resort
#13 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Drive, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9 , Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
English Bed, Breakfast And Day Spa Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing