We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time at a B & B was perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Ranked #3 of 54 Calgary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westlock, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time at a B & B was perfect!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

What a fabulous B&B this is! We felt like we were staying with friends! The rooms were comfortable and sound proof, and the living area felt so relaxing. And the breakfast...superb! I have already shared our B&B with friends! I know we will stay there again! Thanks David and Teri :)

Room Tip: The one room has a patio doors to the hot tub...which was fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
96
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This B&B was BY FAR the best value in comfort, variety and price than the other B&Bs I stayed at this trip, (Simone's B&B, Montreal) and (Cabbageville, Toronto). The home is spacious, super clean, and full of nice touches such as complimentary sherry, soft drinks, juices and a cupboard full of all kinds of tea, cider, hot chocolate and instant coffees, plus a variety of morning newspapers with breakfast. The kitchen was available to guests at all times for preparing meals and storing food in the refrigerator. I also liked the floor and hall lights that came on automatically when I left my room during the night. The rooms have luggage stands and complimentary fluffy robes and slippers for accessing the hot tub, who could ask for more comfort for the price? Indeed, there is more....Teri makes a delicious, healthy gourmet breakfast, a different menu every day, and both she and David were very accommodating and helpful; there's even a complimentary laptop to use, and the signal is strong. The B&B may seem a little out of the way, but it's in a quiet, safe area in NW Calgary, and only a 15 minute walk to the C train, which will take you to the city centre in 15 min. If you don't feel like walking, there are at least two buses which will take you to the C train station. For my trip to the airport, I left the house at 11:05am and arrived at the check-in counter at the airport at 12:45. This would be a great place for an extended stay, as the rooms are spacious and the hosts make you feel welcome to use the living and rec rooms. I need to be back in Calgary in September, and will definitely choose this B&B, thank you Teri and David, for a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose the Egyptian room for easier access to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xena888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Having stayed in a couple of hotels when in Calgary on business, I wanted a more "home-like" atmosphere. So I stayed with David and Teri at the English Bed and Breakfast. Fantastic!

David and Teri are lovely hosts and the accommodation is great, I really enjoy the freedom of feeling more like I'm staying at home, rather than in a stuffy hotel room. The breakfasts are also fantastic and the value is incredible.

I will be staying with David and Teri every time I visit Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

After several bad and overpriced experiences with other hotels, I thought I will never find my expected place to stay in Calgary!!

I stayed at English Bed and breakfast for one night ( wished was more).Teri & David were above my expectation and I believe 5 stars is far below what they should get!!

The Hotel was super clean , super tidy, super healthy, super in every thing!! The breakfast was backed to me in a friendly way that made me have no worries at all. Definitely,I will go and stay there again!! Thanks Teri & David....

Room Tip: I liked the Egyptian room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doctordog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weardale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We needed to stay 2 days in Calgary before a holiday on the Rocky Mountaineer. After a lot of searching we decided on the first place I had researched, which was Teri and David's B&B. Everything was excellent, the room, patio, HOT tub,massage, hosts, hospitality, the freedom of the ground floor and oh I nearly forgot the BREAKFAST!!! and cakes. Two chill out days before a very hectic but fantastic tour. A very sincere thank you and we hope one day we will return.

Room Tip: The Egyptian room leads straight onto the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvesterdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the English Bed and Breakfast for one night. David and Teri were great hosts and made our stay very enjoyable!!! The hot tub was very relaxing and it was right outside our bedroom!!! We will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I recently stayed 2 nights at Terri and David's B&B and felt thoroughly at home. I was looking for a bit of a retreat while golfing in a tournament and this B&B offered exactly what I was looking for as well as being in a location that was easy to find and easy to access other parts of Calgary. I enjoyed the hot tub outside my room to relax my pent up muscles after a day on the Links and a sumptuous breakfast by Terri. Their backyard garden is delightful!

Room Tip: I liked the "Egyptian room" as it was close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
673 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#3 of 109 in Calgary
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 5544 Dalhousie Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3A 1P9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discounts on stays five nights or longer. The Queen size beds are the best on the market. For your privacy and enjoyment there is a TV with cable and DVD/VCR in your bedroom. Gourmet breakfast served 7:00 -8:30 AM. Create a more relaxing time by taking advantage of the Day Spa. As part of your stay a fresh bathrobe, towel and slippers are waiting for you after a dip in the Hot Tub. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping and light rail transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your English Bed, Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bed, Breakfast And Day Spa Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing