We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bernard R
Whangarei, New Zealand

Classy and Stylish

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 14, 2019
The location is good serving downtown attractions with plenty of places to eat within a short walk. Checkin was slick and efficient and staff friendly and approachable. There is a nice feel to the place with a high end feel without pretentiousness. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review
Responded May 15, 2019
Dear BernardR792,

Thank you for the generous review of Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We are glad you liked our convenient location, comfortable accommodations, and excellent service. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Richard Main
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
guest room
C$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$204
  • Expedia.com
    C$204
0.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Sheraton Cavalier Calgary Hotel - Oasis Water Park
C$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$199
  • Priceline
    C$199
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
5.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$134
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$134
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$129
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
5.7 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$184
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Algotels
    C$167
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
8.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
C$177
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
    C$177
  • Algotels
    C$162
  • Priceline
    C$177
8.9 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$214
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
  • Vio.com
    C$193
10.1 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$435
C$350
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$350
  • Hotels.com
    C$350
  • travelup.com
    C$358
0.6 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
C$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Agoda.com
    C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
0.8 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$130
  • Priceline
    C$154
  • Agoda.com
    C$123
  • Acclaim Hotel
    C$139
12.0 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Desk
C$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    C$185
  • Vio.com
    C$176
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
1.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Calgary
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
611
752
192
60
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
611
752
192
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bow river fire station central location room was spacious very nice hotel mini fridge business trip front desk staff floor downtown lobby stampede rockies avenue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Had an enjoyable stay here, found the staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, bathroom was also a good size and clean, no bathtub but a very large shower area. Room has coffee and tea making facilities and a mini fridge. Where it went a little down hill for me was the lobby area, perhaps just me but it looked like work in progress ! Frondtdest looked temporary and just didn't look right. I found the bar and retauranrt area just not inviting and with ni atmosphere so tented to go out to eat anf drink. I also found the staff "uniform " in the bar and resaurant of Levi's and blue shirts a little plastic. Also didn't like that you had to have a room key with you to use the common area bathroom, not convenient if you don't know or if you have visitors who don't know. Not sure if there is a reason or a problem in Calgary Anyhow as I said probably just me and that's my opinion and don't let this stop you from visiting this nice hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eerzaweepieanbovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2019

Dear eerzaweepieanbovril,

It was our pleasure welcoming you to Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our dedicated team of associates and our well-appointed accommodations. Our modern rooms and suites feature plush bedding, ample desks and many provide beautiful views of the city skyline. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and have taken note of your suggestions. Thank you for your business, and we look forward to hosting you back.

Richard Main,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I have to give this place 5-stars and I'll tell you why. First off, my newly wedded wife and I stayed here the day of our wedding in Calgary. We didn't get in until late afternoon. Then we had to head out to our reception and back later in the evening.

The front reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They waived our parking fee because it was a special occasion for us. Then we had an incident when my wife was taking something out of the vehicle that her bustle broke. We needed the dress for the next day because we had a reception in Edmonton. So Sophia whom I believe is probably one of the managers there. She said she would be able to fix it. So they came up to our room, took the dress away, and not even 30 minutes later came back with the dress repaired. We also had Sharlene (Sorry if I spelt it wrong) that assisted us in this ordeal. Once we ordered some food we were surprised the kitchen had given us some treats along with it at no cost. My wife also had asked if there is somewhere where they could store the bouquet for the night. Sophia was able to take it to a fridge for storage. The team also provided us with some stain removers as the dress was stained from walking around in grass/dirt.

Just when we thought things couldn't get any better our room was also upgraded when we checked in to a corner suite. No noise could be heard, it was an amazing view and a great location. The room was extremely clean.

The next day, while checking out, everyone greeted us with a smile. When I mean everyone literally everyone from staff, cleaners, to guests. We got held up at checkout because the one of the managers from the kitchen/bar had goodie bags for us. I forget his name but extremely friendly guy and helpful. Packed us both goodie bags of Bubly, bars, yogurt, fruits, candy, etc... for our long road trip to Edmonton.

Overall, I would highly recommend this location and the staff there. If you want a great place to stay, they've got it. If you want a great place to eat in, they also got it. The service is superb, I can't say and remember the last time. That I had service + quality like this at any hotels that I've stayed at.

I really want to thank the team from the bottom of my heart at the Delta Hotel Downtown. On what an amazing experience they provided my wife and I. We walked away not feeling like a customer, or just another guest. But family. So thank you! For all that you did, and how above and beyond you guys went for us to make our special day even more special. I can't even put into words how both of us felt on that day.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shteevephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear Shteevephan,

Thank you for choosing to spend your wedding night at Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We have an exceptional team whose top priority is making sure every guest is comfortable and satisfied, and we are glad we exceeded your expectation. Your kind compliments will surely be shared with them. We are grateful for detailed feedback and we look forward to seeing you and your wife again soon.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

In centre. Easy walk to downhill. Staff friendly. Excellent large room. Huge beds. A bit of noice from traffic at night. Not too disturbing. Rooms need a safe a definitive negative. reasonable eating nearby

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nbwinn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Delta_YYCBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review the Delta Calgary Downtown by Marriott. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Main, General Mangaer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

We are here for two days after a train ride. They showed us for one night only which is one reason for four stars and not five. It took 20 minutes to straighten it out and they could not apologize enough.

The rooms are good size, clean with a nice bathroom. Air seems fine and there is a mini fridge. There is no mini safe which is my only knock on the room.

The shower is a rain fall and handheld shower head which I like. The rainfall head was loose and spraying up on the ceiling a lot so I hand tightened it.

Other than the check in delay service is very good. With an in room mini safe and a smooth check in I would rate it a 5 star for the price.

Four blocks from the Calgary Tower and one block from the start of China Town. Also close to the rail system that can get you to the zoo in minutes. Plenty of restaurants in the area of Stephens street which is closed to traffic.

View from our room

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Dear emcman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you had an overall great stay, and that our accessible location with comfortable accommodations and stunning views from your room enhanced your visit. We are grateful for your feedback and invite you to stay with us again for another exceptional stay at Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2019

The Delta Bow Valley has just been renovated. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and the heating/air conditioning is superb. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The location is excellent and it my favourite hotel in Calgary.

Room tip: The river view is great.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear emcarter,

Thank you for the generous rating of Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We love that we could make you feel at home with our modern, comfortable accommodations and excellent service, right in the heart of central Calgary! We look forward to your return visit.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews