We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Viv13
Perth, Australia

Excellent hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 6, 2019
We stayed on a Saturday night, en route to the Rockies. The hotel was very busy, but staff were consistently excellent - helpful, polite and friendly.

The hotel is located near China town and the Bow River. Its a pleasant walk to Stephens Street with its multitude of restaurants and bars. The exterior of the hotel is not pretty - dark brown brick. But internally, decor is fresh, modern, and of a high standard. We accepted an offer to pay $25 each for breakfast, which included a room upgrade ( King size room, water views, 22nd floor - good decision!!)

Bed extremely comfortable. Bathroom had a waterfall shower. Windows also open if you like fresh air. Room was very quiet, despite the hotel being full of people attending a music festival. The views were spectacular.

We used the well equipped and spacious Fitness centre. The yoga room has mats, fitness balls, and resistance bands. Everything was spotless. Didn't use the indoor pool.

Breakfast is a la carte. Your $25 will get a main course ( most including toast), a side order ie tomatoes, mushroom, and endless coffee/tea. Quality is excellent.
There is the usual Starbucks attached to the hotel.
If you like Chinese food, I recommend the 'Great Taste" restaurant 5 mins walk from the hotel - authentic, interesting menu with generous portions, and great value.
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Delta_YYCBV, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Aug 9, 2019
Thank you for being our guest at Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We are pleased that we could provide you with a gratifying stay and we appreciate your generous comments. Evaluations like these inspire and motivate our team to continue delivering exceptional service. We hope you will choose us every time your travels bring you to Calgary! Richard Main, General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
guest room
C$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$229
  • Hotels.com
    C$204
  • Expedia.com
    C$204
0.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Sheraton Cavalier Calgary Hotel - Oasis Water Park
C$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    C$199
  • Priceline
    C$199
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
5.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$134
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$134
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$129
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
5.7 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$212
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Algotels
    C$167
  • Vio.com
    C$186
8.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
C$177
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
    C$177
  • Algotels
    C$162
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
8.9 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$193
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$214
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
  • Hotels.com
    C$188
10.1 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$435
C$350
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    C$350
  • Hotels.com
    C$350
  • Fairmont
    C$350
0.6 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Pool
Restaurant
C$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$209
  • Agoda.com
    C$179
  • Expedia.com
    C$186
0.8 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$134
  • Priceline
    C$154
  • Agoda.com
    C$129
  • Expedia.com
    C$154
12.0 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Desk
C$185
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    C$185
  • Vio.com
    C$176
  • Expedia.com
    C$185
1.5 km from Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Calgary
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
611
752
192
60
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
611
752
192
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bow river fire station central location room was spacious very nice hotel mini fridge business trip front desk staff floor downtown lobby stampede rockies avenue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2019

This is a typically, well run Marriott hotel. However, you need to know that it caters to tourists (we were on a tour) and as such, it is almost always crowded. The staff is friendly, efficient and helpful; and the hotel is well located in order to walk through most of downtown Calgary.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear Robert P,

Thank you for your glowing review of the Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We are thrilled you were impressed by our courteous service, while our convenient downtown location was perfect for your needs. Thank you again for taking time out of your busy day to recognize our efforts. We hope to be your hotel of choice if another visit to our area is in your plans.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2019

We enjoyed our stay here. Our room was nicely appointed, a decent size and looked out on the river. Housekeeping was fine and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby and entire first floor were decorated for the Stamped and that created a festive atmosphere. Our breakfasts were standard buffet for tour group travelers - nothing spectacular and nothing terrible either but some variety would have been welcome.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank njgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Dear njgramps,

Thank you for the generous rating of Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We love that we could make you feel at home with our modern, comfortable accommodations and amiable service, right in the heart of central Calgary! We have taken note of your feedback regarding our breakfast options and will use it for future enhancements. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2019

This was our first hotel of our "Journry Through the Clouds" Rocky Mountaineer tour.On arrival the staff handed us a letter from our tour operater detailing the pick up time next morning and baggage arrangements it also referred to our itinerary for the rest of the tour.We had not been given this by our travel agent the staff on the desk very kindly contacted Rocky Mountaineer who emailed them the details which they kindly printed off for us.Once again nothing was a problem for the staff and they did all they could to assist us.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank eveshamsignaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Dear eveshamsignaller,

Thank you for being our guest at Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We are pleased that we could provide you with a gratifying stay and we appreciate your generous comments. Evaluations like these inspire and motivate our team to continue delivering exceptional service. Thank you for making us a part of your travel plans and we hope you will choose us every time your travels bring you to Calgary!

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Had three nights at the Delta Downtown which proved to be a good and well located hotel. Generally we were not impressed with the front desk or the restaurant which we on,y used for breakfast one morning as we had a group buffet arranged.
First night we wandered into Chinatown nearby and had a good meal and other nights we ate in town.
Our primary reason for being in Calgary was to visit the Stampede and we had two days there so little time to spend in the hotel.
Our room was clean & comfortable with good views over the City & the Calgary Tower. We walked to the Stampede but second day we caught the tram which was very easy and only a couple of stops.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rojen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Dear Rojen6,

Thank you for the generous rating of Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We love that we could make you feel at home with our modern, comfortable accommodations and excellent location, right in the heart of central Calgary! We hope you will come back to see us soon.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2019

Walking distance to the Calgary Tower where we met the tour guide for free walking tours. We were able to check-in in the morning since the room was ready. Since we were in a Gate 1 tour group, we had a designated area to eat; food was delicious and plenty of choices. Room was clean; bed was comfortable; quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pumpsnow1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Calgary Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Dear pumpsnow1523,

Thank you for your terrific review of Delta Hotels Calgary Downtown. We love that we could make you feel at home with our modern, comfortable accommodations and excellent service, right in the heart of central Calgary! We are also happy you were able to take advantage of our delicious food offerings. Thank you again for recommending us to future guests! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Richard Main
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews