We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
90
160
69
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
160
69
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews student residence olympic oval minute walk continental breakfast one bedroom suite smaller room yogurt per day free wifi doing business attending a conference parking garage small kitchen mini fridge flat screen tv sitting area downtown
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 386 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

I booked a room off a third party booking site. The information was very scarce - it just said a double room. No info and no pictures. So I went to the hotel's main website and look at the room types they had and assumed that their base room was what I would be getting. So I booked the room off the third party reservation website as it was a good price.

Big mistake.

This hotel apparent books out unused dorm rooms through third party websites. I don't know if the scant description is the fault of the hotel or the third party website? But they don't even list these dorm rooms on the main hotel website?

What I got was a lock-off student dormitory room. This means it was a single bed and nothing else. The room locked off from another area where there was a shared bathroom and a shared kitchenette - shared with the other lock off bedroom in the same unit!!!???

Uncomfortable all around - from needing to use the bathroom in the dead of night and wondering who might be in there....to the utilitarian furniture, poor bedding (horrible little pillows) and the mattress with the big sloped indentation in the middle.

Don't book off a third party website. Maybe that is how the hotel fills these rooms...somewhat deceptive? They don't list these types of rooms on the main hotel website but on third party websites with no info or pictures. Then when someone wants more info on the rooms and goes to the actual hotel website they are easily confused into thinking that the rooms offered on the hotel website will be the same as offered on the third party website.

The front desk was obviously used to this situation as they were quick to disclaim responsibility or knowledge.

Also - this is right on the UofC campus and is actually hard to find as there is not much for signage. You have to pay for parking in the regular university parkade which was annoying.

At first I felt ashamed that I booked something on a website that had no description but the more I thought about it...maybe this is part of their marketing plan?

Room tip: Make sure you are not getting a room with facilitates shared with another room!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank I_Roam_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

Though the rooms were clean, they were very small. Also... strangely it seemed as though they forgot to finish the ceiling. Parking was a ways away and had a $10 a night charge. I would say this hotel is comparable to a low end hotel but was as pricey as a moderate hotel. I would not stay again for the cost alone.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank benjietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

A great stay at the Hotel Alma during a recent visit of the University of Calgary. Had a room on the 7th floor that was well equipped with a large comfy bed, good quality linen, large TV, microwave, fridge, coffee machine, bathtub and shower. Suite was absolutely spotless. And to top it off, a view of the Rockies in the distance! Check in was quick and very courteously handled by Erika, who also helped out getting connected to the wifi (directions in the room don't quite work if you have an Apple product). All of the staff encountered were pleasant and cheerful. Just a really nice stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KingstonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlma, General Manager at Hotel Alma & Seasonal Residence at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear KingstonTravellers,
Thank you for the amazing review and rating us 5/5, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and caught a glimpse of the Rockies from the 7th Floor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards, and thanks again.
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The front desk staff was very helpful at check-in and check-out. They have a bag check at the front desk to store bags before your departure. The rooms were very small (converted dorm rooms) but had everything you need - an armoire, desk queen bed, good sized bathroom with tub/shower. The armoire is all that is available for hanging clothes; it is a little short, even for hanging suit jackets, so anything longer would be a problem. There is nowhere to hang outer wear separately (some hooks on the wall inside the door or on the side of the armoire would be a good improvement).

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlma, General Manager at Hotel Alma & Seasonal Residence at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Hello Kevin S,
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Alma and rating us 4/5.
Yes, our rooms are on the smaller size as they were designed with the environment in mind, and as per the University's sustainability commitment to ensure that the hotel has minimal carbon footprint.
I appreciate your comment about our front office team, this recognition means a lot.
We will definitely look into options for storing outer wear in guestrooms, thank you for that feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Regards,
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in September.
The rooms are clean and tidy, staff are very helpful.
The only things we felt would have improved our stay would be if some crockery and utensils were supplied, it was great to have a microwave but we didn't come equipped with our own crockery so we're unable to make good use of those facilities. It is lovely to have a coffee machine with two cups though, that was nice.
The only other thing was the bed was very uncomfortable, a very basic steel frame with thin mattress.
Otherwise it is great value for money and helped us on our short stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rebeccaL6345HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamAlma, General Manager at Hotel Alma & Seasonal Residence at the University of Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Hello Rebecca C,
Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience at Hotel Alma & Seasonal Residence at the University of Calgary.

When your travels bring you back to Calgary, I would suggest you consider one of our "hotel-style" guestrooms with traditional beds and upgraded amenities. In our Hotel Alma, we feature Eurostyle Standard Rooms and spacious One Bedroom Suites with king beds.

Thank you again for sharing your positive feedback, and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Magdalena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews