We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for the upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Thanks for the upgrade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Was in Calgary for business one weekend and had been booked in here. Upon arrival, a group of young partying girls walked by and the clerk noted that they were on my floor so offered me a free upgrade to a quieter floor. Wow....the suite was very decent considering the price - very roomy - not spectacular but as an upgrade this was definitely great. Didn't use anything at the hotel but was pleased with the upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paixful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Paixful,

Happy to hear that you were both pleased with your room and the upgrade!
We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Calgary.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    279
    97
    24
    15
See reviews for
165
172
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DeForest, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed at this Best Western in the heart of Calgary.
So close to everything restaurants are walking distance,and the night life is Great
My room was very spacious, lots of room to move freely
came with a kitchenette, to my surprise.
Breakfast is served Hot or Cold not many places can say that,
is one of the best i ever seen.
From front desk to house porter ALL staff have a smile or greeting for you.
From what I've gathered this hotel is getting better and better,
renovations are in stages not to upset guest
Like i started Can it get better then this
I will be back here again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites have less traffic and Have a Great Breakfast in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jay l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Jay I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great feedback with us. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our staff.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel Lobby: needs to be refreshed and tidied up some
Check in: Not very courteous:" what is your name", no hello, "credit card please" "here is your key", that was it, no thank you, no enjoy your stay...and no smile, just looked at the computer.
Room: At first site it seems a bit barren but it is large since they upgraded me due to lack of regular rooms.
Clean except a few hairs on the bathroom floor...
Hotel location is not right downtown... a bit of a distance but there are on 17th street, not far away some neat little restos. If you have a vehicle, this is downtown enough.
Most Best Westerns I have stayed in do not have something this one has: A ver noisy elevator, you can hear each one pass... so sleeping is with ear plugs!
I would not say here again, especially since the rates were not very low. So it is not terrible but for a Best Western, not up to par.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Summerchill,

Thank you for sharing your very important comments with us. It is through feedback such as yours that we can constantly strive to improve our service to our valued guests.

We were surprised to hear your negative comments regarding the elevator, as it was recently updated and we routinely receive positive comments on how smooth, quiet and efficient our elevators are.

We have attempted to contact you to discuss, and look forward to a reply email at your earliest convenience.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
158 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Good location for downtown Calgary, great comfortable bed (highest i ever seen off the floor). Good car parking facility behind hotel. Clean and good all round place.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S35owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear S35owl,

We are so happy that you have enjoyed your experience with us!

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel is a bit further from the downtown core of than other downtown Calgary hotels, but it is a small price to pay for the spacious room with a mini kitchenette, free Wifi and free parking that you get. The room was very clean with a modern decore and the Wifi connection speed was really good compared to poorer Wifi connections I experienced in pricier hotels. The complimentary breakfast includes a good variety of choices, including hot items, and the staff were friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 806Ren_L806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear 806REN_L806,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us!

It is quite rewarding to hear that you appreciated our speedy fibre optic WIFI in addition to the facilities, staff and hot breakfast buffet.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel the first 3 weeks of January 2012 and the first and last week of February 2012. The staff was exceptional. Uzma in the breakfast room, greeted me and my co-workers every morning with a smile and a "Good Morning!" We missed her and the breakfast when we were not at the hotel. Say Hi to Uzma!
After staying at other more expensive hotels in the city, this hotel provides more for your dollar. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the kitchenettes are a plus. The suites are fantastic!!
During my last stay I had the pleasure of staying in one of the two bedroom suites. The beds are very comfortable, the suites are well equipped and it is like an apartment.
I was happy to find that not only is breakfast included in the stay, but the price also includes free wi-fi and parking.
The location is great too it is central to everything. It is only a short walk to the C-train, 17th ave, also known as the "Red Mile" and many other sites and restaurants.

This location also has laundry facilities, a fitness room and a sauna!!

The Manger of this location, whom I have had the pleasure to chat with, is great and truly cares about the guests having a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus Suites Downtown.

I for one will stay again and will be encouraging my company to book me in to this location on future business trips to Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear M S,

Thank you for your glowing review regarding our hotel. It is gratifying to hear that you have enjoyed both our facilities, service, and are very humbled by this.
Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Our room was spacious with both a desk and sofa. The hotel facilities are very good and hotel staff helpful. Breakfast is more than adequate. For a central city hotel, this provided good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. We were on the 15th floor at the end of the corridor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear AithcHW,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing