We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotwire Booking”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spent two nights here and were happy with the hotel. A last minute trip that I booked with hotwire while en route. With hotwire we got a good rate, but checking the rates online the hotel seemed overpriced and I not sure I would have booked here at those internet rates. There were fresh baked cookies at reception when we checked in which were delicious. Our room looked to be recently renovated, was clean and comfortable. We did try to get last minute tickets to the comedy club, but it was sold out. We did not try any of the other facilities or restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cool-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

That's too bad the Laugh Shop Comedy Club was sold out! I know it's too late now, but here's an insiders tip for next time: If you ask, the club has been known to give free tickets to hotel guests on Thursday night shows.

We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay, Cool-son. The cookies are baked daily by our pastry chef, Dan. He's small, feisty and will teach you karate moves if you run into him in the lobby.

Fun fact: 99% of all cookies are eaten by 1% of Cookie Monsters.

See you soon,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

For this price range, this is as good as it gets in Calgary. Unbelievably nice employees, that give service a whole new name, even the restaurant is good (not great). Pool (outdoor), comedy club if you are in the mood, sauna and spa, workout room, business center, etc. They appear to also have good facilities for groups or conventions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor (top) are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at Blackfoot Inn for 1 night while on a business trip to Calgary. We were greeted warmly, offered help with our items, and shown to a nice room. Our room was clean, in neutral beige colours. The TV was difficult to operate as the remote wouldn't work unless close to the TV. We enjoyed the coffee and tea in the room, and the bathroom products were great as well. Overall the stay was enjoyable, good parking, clean and friendly. The meeting space was large, and this place seemed excellent for a business conference!

Room Tip: The windows can't be completely covered by the curtains, so choose a room depending on whether y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PictureThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I got the hotel from a last minute deal. I really liked it! the people at the reception/concierge were very friendly and provided good information, fruit and cookies were at the reception. The rooms with all the amenities you'd expect. If you have a car then you will find you are very close to the Chinook Center and surrounding area on one side and on the other to strip shopping malls with big supermarkets and restaurants. at the beginning I was a little bit concerned about the location and not famliar with where to go or driving around Calgary in general, but then I realized how easy it was. I didn't manage to go to the downtown but I know I could park the car somewhere close and take the train (and avoid the hassle of finding a parking spot in downtown). If you don't have a car I have seen buses around and a bus stop in front of the hotel. I would go back to this hotel next time in Calgary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

You might have doubts when you get to the hotel as the exterior of the hotel looks rather old and run down but the rooms will not disappoint. They are spacious and the beds are very comfortable We all loved the big bathroom and the work desk.

Location is 25min away from airport and 15mins away from city center. Good choice if you have a car, as parking is free and Calgary roads are easy to manage and relatively smooth flowing for a city.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and get the best rate. Just key in online in the discount code. I recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalarisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I've had to stay here a few times due to the closeness of the office.

The restaurant is a good value for breakfast and the pub was cold beer, decent food and pool table and TVs.

The comedy club has a lunch buffet that was decent as well.

The rooms were average, they've had a go at a renovation, but didn't do much to the bathroom. Beds were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrhooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed with my husband at this hotel for three nights in September and will never go there again.The fitness room was dirty and eliptical machine wasnt working and there isnt any weights.It had cobwebs and dirt on the floor.There was old towels left on the floor too.The ac didnt work in our room.We told the front desk and nothing was done about these problems.We were told after we left by the manager that there was a problem with the ac but they didnt offer us another room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#31 of 110 in Calgary
1,083 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $138 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary
Hotel Blackfoot Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing