We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable for quiet travellers”
Review of Hotel Blackfoot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Blackfoot
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

All the facilities I needed were available and in good condition. The staff were very helpful and accommodated my bike and subsequent packaging well. Trip from Calgary airport was $41 by taxi, so a little more than a shuttle to a downtown airport. I
Overall a good experience but I'd stay closer to the city next visit.

Room Tip: Pool side was nice, but it isn't very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiwi2cycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Kiwi2cycle:

Thanks for your comments.

We consider our location on the edge of downtown as an advantage that allows us to provide free parking and a little bit easier access to the hotel. I hope you will come back for the service if not the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

So happy this hotel goes the extra mile for guests! Every detail was great--they even upgraded us to an upper floor that had homemade breads for breakfast and juices just outside your room! Service was outstanding and gracious, as were all the people we met on our trip in Canada. Loved it and will stay there again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jilljaxxSanPedro_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

jilljaxxSanPedro_CA:

Thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Let me just start with Canada is an awesome country to visit, especially around the Calgary Stampede.

I stayed at the Blackfoot Hotel in one of their executive rooms for the week I was at the Calgary Stampede visiting friends and family, as well as going to the Rodeo.

Fantastic hotel, did so much for me, made many new friends and was a nice touch when they said we are actually going to miss you. So I have their numbers, and I will be going back to Calgary very soon again, and yes, I will stay at the Blackfoot Hotel.

Amazing place, amazing people, just what the UK could be if it was not so pent up about everything. Brits could really take a leaf out of how the Canadians are, such amazing people.

Room Tip: Well I stayed in an executive suite, which was on the 6th floor out of 7 floors. Large, comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Jerry P:

Thanks for your extremely positive comments. Great to read that you enjoyed you visit to Canada, Calgary and Hotel Blackfoot. eh?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

The whole place was well kept and clean. Staff were most friendly and helpful. We stayed on our eay through Calgary and since we enjoyed our stay so much stayed there on our way back and spent an additional night as well!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Bon P:

Thanks for staying an extra day! I am glad to read that our staff were helpful. We don't always get it right, but we try to every time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Conference and very nice space! Restaurant was good. Community minded and pleased to say they donated space and rooms for our guests! Thanks so much. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The desk was very helpful and pleasant to deal with! It is not close to the airport but convenient to other areas of the city?

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank SmartAlec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

SmartAlec2:

I am happy to read that we were able to contribute to the success of your event. Thanks for the positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The hotel is under construction so I would not recommend this place if you need to sleep during the day.
Nice, basic room, small fridge but no microwave.
The bathroom door is extremely heavy to slide shut. And, it doesn't close all the way, you can see the person in the shower, so if you're staying in the hotel room with a creeper, be ware!
The whirlpool is in a tiled room all to itself, nowhere near the pool so that was a little odd.
The wifi is really bad (pages won't load) so if you rely on it for anything you're out of luck.
They advertise some green option but if you want to stay in an environmentally friendly room you have to pay more....not sure what that's about.

I recommend the Comedy Club downstairs. Conveniently fun, have a few drinks and able to walk upstairs to bed.

Room recommendation: if you need to rest in the day, ask for a room not near the jackhammering & drilling

Stayed: July 2017
Thank cala3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Cala3:

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not exactly in line with the experience we usually try to provide. There are sweeps on the bathroom door to eliminate any view into the bathroom. I will have the maintenance team check to make sure they are in good repair.

Our Wi-Fi is a robust network that has been taxed somewhat a bit with increased usage. We are exploring newer technologies to handle the increased usage.

The floors that offer the green option are on the executive floors in the hotel. The hotel offsets the carbon output of the electrical usage by buying power from Bullfrog Power. The rooms on those floors also have upgraded amenities and food & beverage options included in the rate.

I apologize for the construction noise you experienced on your visit but we are committed to keeping the hotel modern and our offering current. Unfortunately there is never a good time for construction. We are working as fast as possible to get it completed as soon as possible.

I hope you will give us another try on your next visit to Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Our experience was in the dining room only - not a hotel stay.
The buffet offers a variety of salads, some seafood/fish items and a nice selection of hot items with a variety of meats. The Yorkshire pudding served with the beef is a favorite of mine.
There is a delicious selection of desserts with my favorite of creme brulee.
The buffet includes a beverage.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank nanananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Hotel Blackfoot, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Nanananna:

I am glad you enjoyed your buffet experience at the hotel. Must admit, the crème brulee is one of my favourites too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Best Western Premier Freeport Inn & Suites
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 110 in Calgary
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,240 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blackfoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blackfoot

Address: 5940 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2H 2B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Calgary
#17 Family Hotel in Calgary
#21 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: $137 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blackfoot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renowned landmark hotel in south Calgary located just minutes from downtown, Hotel Blackfoot is an independently owned, 193 room hotel featuring the service and amenities to please business and leisure travelers alike. Recently redesigned and renovated, Hotel Blackfoot offers contemporary rooms and suites with executive floors and the most comfortable beds in town. Endless amenities including a fitness centre, a comedy club, four distinct restaurants, a pool and poolside patio. Hotel Blackfoot is always here for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Blackfoot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfoot Hotel Calgary
Hotel Blackfoot Calgary, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing