We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-10
Booking.com
US$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-10
Algotels
US$64
View deal
Hotels.comUS$66
TravelocityUS$66
ZenHotels.comUS$68
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
62
110
57
28
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
110
57
28
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews c train pancake machine hard boiled eggs breakfast room front desk staff rooms are comfortable mini fridge cereal kitchenette treadmill properties sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 301 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Good location for easy access into the city using the C train. Shops and small restaurants within walking distance.
Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast is provided. It's adequate but no hot food except for oatmeal.
The hotel claims to be 'green' with notices about reusing towels and bedding in the room, so we were surprised to find that the dishes,plates , cups and cutlery provided in the breakfast area were all disposable. Being polystyrene, these are not biodegradable items, so feel this isn't very 'green'. Surely it would be kinder to the environment to install a dishwasher and provide proper plates,etc. Also not pleasant to eat off and expensive.
Coffee making facilities in the room. Microwave and fridge but this isn't much use as there where no plates, dishes or cutlery provided.
Pool is small and we found it quite cold. Whirlpool was hot but pathetic in so much as it hardly bubbled. Exercise equipment was ok but water fountain was outside of room which meant going in and out to get a drink, having to use room card for access each time.
Staff appeared friendly and helpful.
Free car parking for guests and free internet use.
During our stay it was quite noisy as there were several family with children who appeared to be attributed some sort of sporting event and children were running up and down corridors at times creating noise outside of rooms and above rooms.
The breakfast area is small, in the reception area and was quite busy at times, with not enough tables.It was also cold as the reception is accessed through automatic doors and when people were going in and at, it made the breakfast room feel cold.
Overall it's ok for a budget hotel.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPQ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thank you for sharing your feedback as it helps us improve services to all our guests. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to show you an even better stay the next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

We choose to stay in Econolodge inn & suites during the month of January because our stay was quite long . But the hotel service was really worst . Hotel General manager & front desk manager behavior was really inflexible and very rude towards guest . I gave birth to baby and my baby was only 4 days old hotel General manager was insist me to go out of the room during house keeping people were coming to clean the room . When I told her this is very rude attitude that my baby is so small and out side temperature is very cold it's not safe for him she argue with me to much . I became too much angry with her . Then she told that u leave the hotel . Finally in only half day we booked another hotel and next morning we shifted to another hotel early in the morning and due to longer stay we were having lots of things and suit cases we packed up till half of the night with 4 days small baby . Worst hotel I have ever seen I my life . We visited lots of hotel but never experience like this type of service so far room were concerned very dirty , old furniture and old and dirty bed covers toilets very very cozy and dirty . Where as In Canada humanity is more then other things but the general manager Zeenat no have any humanity in her .

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank huneza a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Thank you for your comments. Please allow us to clarify as there seems to be some confusion as to why you did not enjoy your 2 month stay with us. We strive to give the best service possible and when requests are made by guests we do our best to fulfill them while adhering to our Brand Standards, Alberta Health Standards and Alberta Workplace Safety Standards. In this particular case several requests were made throughout your stay; some we were able to accommodate and some we were not. We want our guests to be happy and many times during your stay we checked in with you to ensure you were happy, in fact, your continued extension of your stay tells us you were satisfied with the service and accommodations you were receiving. Only after receiving a request that we could not accommodate because it compromised the safety and security of our staff did you become angry and threatened the General Manager. The hotel does not tolerate this kind of behaviour (especially in Canada) and you were asked to leave the premises. Our guests’ satisfaction is important; but not at the expense of staff’s safety and security. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2017

We had to go to Calgary suddenly as my Dad was having health issues. We booked in for a 2 - 3 day stay. As usual in health care there were many delays in our Dad's surgery. The front staff at the EconoLodge Inn and Suites University went over and above to accommodate us on a daily basis. Our stay was extended to over 1 week, which the front desk staff allowed us to renew our stay on a daily basis on the compassionate rates!! Different family were coming and going, and the caring of the desk staff was much appreciated. The woman running the continental breakfast kept us fed, entertained and laughing in the mornings with her Maritime accent and stories. The rooms at the Inn were very clean and updated, and the service was impeccable! We would highly recommend a stay here for anyone coming to Calgary for a couple of days or and extended holiday.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful comments we take pride in our hotel and the great service our staff gives. We're so glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and showed you the best stay possible under the circumstances. We hope your next visit is more pleasant than the last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

Check in fast and smooth.. they made a call to the room to see if we were satisfied with it.. very clean..the only thing I could complain about was the pool was closed for renovation but they said we could access and use the Hampton Inn next door but it was so cold outside we opted to use the free WiFi and stay put. Would definitely recommend and stay again when needed.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope to have the chance to serve your accommodation needs the next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Management needs serious counseling on public relations. Most unpleasant experience. Need to rate it less than one star.

physically, the property compares well,,, with a Baja Mexico property far from civilization. Many better choices for the same money all around town.

Poor management and lacking property make a one-two punch that can't be beat.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank truedick7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not like your experience with us. Please be advised that the reason you found us unsafe and that we had poor management is because we asked you to leave the premises due to illegal activities that the hotel does not tolerate. Our attentive staff noticed this and for the safety and security of all our guests remedied the situation immediately. We are proud of the safety and security measures our property has instituted in conjunction with the Calgary Police Service in an effort to make Motel Village a safe area for all guests. Thank you again and we hope you find more suitable accommodations the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews