We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Suffolk
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Warm and genuine welcome from the front desk staff. Check in was quick and the guy on the desk was very helpful. Because I am an IHG member, my room requests were on file and although this is a non-smoking hotel, I was given a room with a balcony - fab!

The room - large and spacious, with a sitting area and kitchenette - in good decorative order with a very big, comfy bed. Good blackout blinds, huge flat screen, fridge and microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was a very good size, shower over the half tub, lots of towels. Only downside was no in room safe.

Location - within downtown and a short ride on the free tram from just behind the hotel. Easy to get everywhere. There's a big supermarket three blocks away.

Nice touches - complimentary continental breakfast with cooked options as well - great coffee! Not very eco friendly as all the plates cutlery etc were disposable.

Overall this was a great place to stay at a really good rate and better than I expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    52
    34
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
34
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was here for an overnight business trip and it satisfied all of my needs. It isn't luxurious but was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was lacking and could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Liked the location, free parking and free Internet.

Somewhat noisy due to construction work, and we went a full day without water (meaning no showers or restroom activities...) without being offered any refund for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your past stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered however we did ensure to call all arriving guests to advise that the City of Calgary was shutting off the water at no option to the hotel. We did this so guests could choose to stay at an alternate location as we had already discounted our rates that weekend. I hope that you will advise me if you are ever returning to Calgary as we would like to have you stay again with us to make it right for you. Many thanks, Sherry Blake, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My hubby and I stayed here for one night in August 2011. Check in was very friendly and prompt. Our room was very large and very clean. The bathroom was clean and had a great shower. We loved the addition of the microwave and fridge (even though we didn't use it - but will remember next time we travel with our kids). The location is awesome and being so close to the LRT is wonderful.
The breakfast is great too. Lots of options and seating. Always replenished and good food.
We never went to the pool or fitness room, however, we saw the hotel's plans to upgrade that area soon.
I would return for sure and wouldn't hesitate to recomment it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlei76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was my first trip to Calgary. i liked the hotel very much, the breakfast was great and it was great to find a hotel with free guest parking. Not much in the area in the evenings so if u don't have a car...get a rental. The staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustaali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Just spent 3 night here for the Calgary Stampede. Very comfortable suite, spacious and despite being next to the lift quiet (Suite 903) Special mention to Sherie Blake - Operations Manager - just what every good hotel should have. Accommodating and very efficient, nothing too much trouble) Great location, the Transit train is just around the block. Breakfast is okay, the only downside being a small area of tables. You may not get a seat. This is a nice Hotel!

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade, they can only say no!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teejaybeeBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

This hotel was fine, rooms were clean, tidy and well presented. There was only a very small area for breakfast however you could take it back to the room if you preferred. There did not seem to be much to do in the centre of Calgary, mostly office blocks and there is a considerable amount of building work going on at present. The hotel was OK for a single nights stay but I would not want to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgang598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#81 of 109 in Calgary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing