We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I had no expectations arriving at this hotel. The reviews led me to believe this place could be awful or great. And there is nothing wrong with this place per se. It's clean, decently appointed and offers free parking (huge plus for downtown Calgary). My father and I shared a room with two queen beds and for two nights, it was fine for us. I'm big on things being clean, and this place was - right down to the washroom.

However, it's clearly not in the same ballpark as other hotels in downtown Calgary. Firstly, it's a little out of the way of the rest of downtown Calgary, however it is pretty close to a c train. The breakfast, while free, was barely adequate. Scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. I don't eat egg or sausage, so I was left with toast and a cinnamon bun. There was a pancake machine there, but it looked like it hadn't been touched, so I stayed away. Also, they didn't replace the shampoo or conditioner (which were excellent quality) and I had to ask for more.

A nice touch which we didn't take advantage of was the in room microwave and fridge. My boyfriends father stays here for 5 nights at a time when he's in Calgary consulting and enjoys these amenities.

So it's the little things that keep this out of the league of other downtown Calgary hotels. However, I would very likely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for extra shampoo and conditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

This downtown facility was completely misrepresented by its management. The staff tried to be helpful but the rooms were old and badly in need of renovation. Beds sagged and carpet was very worn and dirty. Price clearly reflected the downtown location but nothing else lived up to their sales pitch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Downtown location, free parking onsite. Nice suites, great staff. Located right on the free C-Train line. Not a great neighbourhood. - 6/10

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Warm and genuine welcome from the front desk staff. Check in was quick and the guy on the desk was very helpful. Because I am an IHG member, my room requests were on file and although this is a non-smoking hotel, I was given a room with a balcony - fab!

The room - large and spacious, with a sitting area and kitchenette - in good decorative order with a very big, comfy bed. Good blackout blinds, huge flat screen, fridge and microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was a very good size, shower over the half tub, lots of towels. Only downside was no in room safe.

Location - within downtown and a short ride on the free tram from just behind the hotel. Easy to get everywhere. There's a big supermarket three blocks away.

Nice touches - complimentary continental breakfast with cooked options as well - great coffee! Not very eco friendly as all the plates cutlery etc were disposable.

Overall this was a great place to stay at a really good rate and better than I expected.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I was here for an overnight business trip and it satisfied all of my needs. It isn't luxurious but was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was lacking and could be improved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurenkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Liked the location, free parking and free Internet.

Somewhat noisy due to construction work, and we went a full day without water (meaning no showers or restroom activities...) without being offered any refund for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your past stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered however we did ensure to call all arriving guests to advise that the City of Calgary was shutting off the water at no option to the hotel. We did this so guests could choose to stay at an alternate location as we had already discounted our rates that weekend. I hope that you will advise me if you are ever returning to Calgary as we would like to have you stay again with us to make it right for you. Many thanks, Sherry Blake, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My hubby and I stayed here for one night in August 2011. Check in was very friendly and prompt. Our room was very large and very clean. The bathroom was clean and had a great shower. We loved the addition of the microwave and fridge (even though we didn't use it - but will remember next time we travel with our kids). The location is awesome and being so close to the LRT is wonderful.
The breakfast is great too. Lots of options and seating. Always replenished and good food.
We never went to the pool or fitness room, however, we saw the hotel's plans to upgrade that area soon.
I would return for sure and wouldn't hesitate to recomment it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlei76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: $111 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing