We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Cold Lake
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We checked in here just before the Easter weekend. The hotel is very central to downtown. The parking was included, which was nice. The gentlemen at reception (Marty) was very helpful. I am a Priority Club member. We were provided with a generous late checkout (2 pm), bottled water and a snack. After driving for 7 or so hours, it was great to come to this place. The bed was very comfortable. Our room had a balcony, which you don't see too often anymore. I loved that there was a microwave in the room and even some disposable dishes! I have rated the hotel as a 3 only because I think the rates are a little high, and I noticed that the back alley by the parking lot is a little sketchy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear AmandaWild,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations and hope you had a good Easter weekend. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your rate expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27732229
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    61
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
23
39
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

You can always count on the Holiday Inn for a clean and comfortable stay. Linens were clean and room was updated with a large flat screen tv and modern decor. The black-out curtains are greatly appreciated and it wasn't too noisy, considering it is in the middle of downtown Calgary. Shower pressure wasn't the greatest. Continental breakfast was standard.

It is a non-smoking building and someone on our floor was smoking. We notified the front desk and asked to be moved to a different floor, however they denied this request (I believe the front reception staff's words were, "Well, are they smoking in YOUR room?"). I felt it was unprofessional and it was enough to turn me away from this hotel in the future.

However, it is a standard and reliable hotel chain and will certainly do for a short-term stay in Calgary.

(Stayed Feb 2010)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Versa6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Versa6565,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is in a great location downtown. Rooms very clean and very spacious.
The staff were absolutely wonderful. They were very friendly and made sure that there were no concerns with the room. Sherry Blake, Operations Manager was on site and was very welcoming when we arrived at the hotel. When looking for a place to eat they had some wonderful recommendations and helped to get us accurate yet simple directions to where we wanted to go as we were not familiar with the city. We would definately stay there again, raates were very resonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We arrived early and they let us check in immediately. Super staff and a very, very clean hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmlcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stay at this location a lot and always for business. It isn't in the centre of downtown, the building is older and the area isn't paradise. Set your expectations if you choose this hotel.

To a person the staff is top notch, always accommodating and helpful. Because of Priority Club I am often upgraded to the jacuzzi suites. I find the rooms to be well maintained and perfectly suitable for business. Calgary is an expensive city to stay in but this hotel is priced right for its age and location. You also get a decent selection for breakfast, internet (wired or wireless) and parking included.

If you like good service, a functional space and are managing an expense budget then this is a good choice in Calgary. If you want luxury, steps to shopping and room service then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Nice Bed (4th floor), clean, nice friendly staff, etc. Prie Ok

Don't stay here on a weekend !!! I am sitting here at 11:45 p.m. and there is a night club next door and poundng base on the whole building. Apparently the club managers and the city people dont care about the by-law, The hotel has tried. So again, great hotel but you better ask them if they resolved this before you try and sleep here on the weekend.

Room Tip: Apparently the street side is quieter. Noise still penetrates over loud tv and forced air heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qzwxecrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I had no expectations arriving at this hotel. The reviews led me to believe this place could be awful or great. And there is nothing wrong with this place per se. It's clean, decently appointed and offers free parking (huge plus for downtown Calgary). My father and I shared a room with two queen beds and for two nights, it was fine for us. I'm big on things being clean, and this place was - right down to the washroom.

However, it's clearly not in the same ballpark as other hotels in downtown Calgary. Firstly, it's a little out of the way of the rest of downtown Calgary, however it is pretty close to a c train. The breakfast, while free, was barely adequate. Scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. I don't eat egg or sausage, so I was left with toast and a cinnamon bun. There was a pancake machine there, but it looked like it hadn't been touched, so I stayed away. Also, they didn't replace the shampoo or conditioner (which were excellent quality) and I had to ask for more.

A nice touch which we didn't take advantage of was the in room microwave and fridge. My boyfriends father stays here for 5 nights at a time when he's in Calgary consulting and enjoys these amenities.

So it's the little things that keep this out of the league of other downtown Calgary hotels. However, I would very likely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for extra shampoo and conditioners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ExecSuite
#75 of 109 in Calgary
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing